We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great condo overlooking Atlantic Ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina

Save Saved
You added Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   97501 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037 (Formerly Mariner's Club Key Largo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great condo overlooking Atlantic Ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

What a marvelous view of the Atlantic Ocean, we have many Pina Colada at sunset watching the boats go by and the birds fly. The cond was had quality finish, large bedrooms and baths and the grounds were secure and quiet. We were there 'off season" for the Keys, but everthing in Key Largo was open, diving was good and nightlife fun.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor of Building 3 overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, we had a great unit. The buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    74
    30
    24
    36
See reviews for
145
72
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have stayed at Mariner's Resort twice and have made plans to visit again this fall. The entire resort is clean, secure, extremely peaceful, convenient t location, the interior of the units are well appointed, and most of all very comfortable beds! I am looking forward to another stay!

Room Tip: I have not been disappointed with any of the units, they are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our family of 5 (2 teens and a tween) rented a 2BR condo unit at Mariner's Resort for a week. There were actually 3 bedrooms (a den had been converted), a large balcony, a washer/dryer unit, a full modern kitchen and more than enough room for everyone to relax and enjoy themselves. We swam in both pools every day and often walked next door to the Island Grill for their catch-of-the-day and live music. We stayed in an ocean front condo with a terrific view -- and had breakfast on the balcony every morning. The staff was friendly and helpful -- with great suggestions for things to do. The location was ideal -- centrally located. We drove to Miami Beach and South Beach one day, and down to Marathon Key the next for a snorkeling trip. Three members of our group got their scuba certification at John Pennicamp State Park (about 10 minutes away), and the Diver's Direct shop (about 5 minutes away) had anything/everything we needed for the dives. Finally, we discovered a great Cuban restaurant next to the local Starbucks -- authentic and delicious. The only thing missing from the Mariner's Resort is a beach, but I'd recommend this property highly.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent 4 nights and 3 days at the Mariners and it was a wonderful experience - the property
is well taken care of and the security guards were friendly and the club house and gym were well kept. We visited other resorts in Key Largo during our stay, including the Hilton Resort, and we would still pick Mariners over all the others for its peaceful quiet, Oceanside location and the homey feel of its condos/townhouses.

The reasons why I give it 4 stars instead of 5 stars:

1) Our townhouse had cockroaches and bugs which I don't mind but which freaks my partner out
and I just feel that for the price we paid, expecting the property to be bug-free is not unreasonable.
2) The process of getting information about Mariners after one books one's reservation online, is slow and awkward. And somewhat stressful, to be frank. I had to call the office a few times to ask when they would be sending the information about my unit and the person I spoke with on the phone repeatedly had to keep asking his 'supervisor' about simple questions I was asking about Mariners.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice little place, everything worked, great location. The appliances are bit old and could use new ones, but overall great place to relax! The price was more than what we wanted to pay, but it was a last minute vacation, so it wasn't too bad. Great pool and hot tub!! Also, having the marina on site is great! Next time, we might just come on a boat and make it a really great trip. The pool was super clean, well taken care of, the buildings on the outside are in great shape.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I was afraid after reading some of the reviews and warned my husband that we shouldn't check in until 4pm as mentioned in our emails. We got into the resort, and did not really need to check in as the condo was ready and key in a lock box on the door. We were on the first floor in a building in front of the marina #113. The first thing that struck me was the smell of something "dead" turns out we were near the big garbage bin and it must have had old fish guts, by the next morning the stink was gone. The condo was clean, and very spacious. The kitchen was great and the master bathroom was amazing.
We had the best view right out to the marina. There is a restaurant right on the other side of the resort fence, and when we were there they had live music each night. It was great, we could sit on the back porch, watch the moon rise, watch the boats and the ocean and listen to the music. We did eat there one night, the food was great as was the service.
The condo was comfortable, but by no means "new", there were many signs of wear throughout-broken knobs, stains on carpets, broken closet door, etc. It wasn't as bad as some here are reviewing, keep in mind these are condos that belong to families that come here for vacation, and are rented out to tourists. This is not a tourist "resort/hotel" You will not have your room cleaned etc every day unless you pay.
We had no problems walking around and checking the area out. We even were able to bbq outdoors-they had a cute area set up next to one of the pools near the marina that had covered picnic tables and a bbq.
Oh-word of warning, if you are on the first floor units-especially those that open up to the marina, the tile is slippery. It rained while we were there. After the rain my husband went out for a walk and slipped on the steps and hit the ground HARD.
Over-all this is not a "fancy" place, but it is very nice, quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Some of the supplies promised were not delivered until I made a phone call. And then I had to call back to get a hair dryer. The AC was not cooling so after the second day I called and the AC man came out and after investigating said the unit had to be replaced. By 10:00 that night it had not been replaced and we had to uproot to another unit. I can't promise I would stay here again.

Room Tip: get a room closer to the pool and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina

Also Known As:
Mariner`s Resort Villas & Marina Hotel
Mariner`s Resort Villas And Marina
Mariner`s Resort Villas & Marina Hotel Key Largo
Mariners Hotel Key Largo
Mariners Club Key Largo
Mariners Hotel Marina
Address: 97501 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037 (Formerly Mariner's Club Key Largo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina is a gated oceanfront resort featuring luxurious villas that surround a stunning marina with direct access to the Atlantic Ocean. The Resort offers 2 swimming pools, resort activities, tennis courts, a calming Jacuzzi grotto and Adventure Concierge to arrange activities including diving, boating and. Mandalay Bay Restaurant offers extraordinary dining on local, fresh cuisine. Enjoy a vacation experience as unique and relaxing as the resort's island location. Relax and Enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.