We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the group tent site if you can.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds
Save
You added John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds to your Saves list
102601 Rte 1, Key Largo, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
228 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
“Get the group tent site if you can.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Clean, convenient and very much like camping in a parking lot unless you get the group site. Tucked away, green, picnic tables, fire pit, beach and short trails nearby. Near the highway so you'll hear some road noise. The group site offers one of the better tent camping choices in the keys. Not as good as Long Key, Bahia Honda, or Dry Tortugas National Park, but OK.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
30
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

The campsites are TINY, there is very little foliage between the campsites, and the gravel is vicious. If they were going to rock all the campsites, they could have at least used smaller pea gravel instead of the sharp, rocky crap that POKED A HOLE IN OUR AIR MATTRESS THROUGH THE TENT FLOOR. We had to wear flip flops inside the tent and/or use our sleeping bags as padding to walk on. It's THAT bad. We have bruises on our legs from sitting on the rocks. Ridiculous. There are two group tent areas that were not used the entire time we were there, and they refused to let us move there where the ground was grass/dirt/more humane gravel. If you're in an RV, fine. You'll love it. Now I know why we were one of only 2-3 tent campsites out of 47. It looks more like tailgating than camping. Since the water was rough there were no snorkel or glass bottom boat excursions being booked. Not the parks fault, better to err on the side of caution. The staff was friendly, even when they're being uncooperative. The restrooms, showers, and grounds are all extremely clean. Very dog friendly. The raccoons are abundant and refuse to take "no" for an answer. In the span of time that it took to hike down to the restroom, one of those little masked flea bags managed to steal a bag of cornmeal. They stole my daughter's flip flop and dragged it 15 feet into the woods. The camp has nice equipment for sale and rent, and is located near lots of other stores and restaurants - including an XXX adult store just across the street. Be prepared to explain to your little ones that just because it says "Toys on Sale!" on a banner out front doesn't mean we will be shopping THERE.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We made a reservation and then showed up 2 hours before our scheduled trip on the Encounter. The crew was really friendly and professional - they went through the safety talk quickly but thoroughly. Our trip saw barracudas, sting rays, and puffer fish. 2.5 hours felt like just the right amount of time - we came back when we felt ready to stop and they rang the bell 5-10 minutes later. The boat is really nice, clean with cold drinking water provided and upper deck to take in the view.

Corrective mask rentals are available for those who wear glasses for $5 - the same price as regular mask rentals. They also have snorkels (I recommend at least a semi-dry since the water was choppy on our trip) for purchase and fins for rental.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I booked a plot for one nights camping. Due to a delayed flight i arrived after dark. Fortunately i had phoned ahead for the security code to get into the park outside of business hours.

From that point on, nothing went well.

The code i was given was wrong. It was only that i managed to flag down the final employee leaving that i was able to get in. I wish i hadn't been able to.

I booked the plot to camp in a tent, but that simply wasn't possible. The plot was a completely hard, with nowhere suitable to pitch a tent. I spent half an hour trying to come up with something, but i couldn't get any pegs into the ground. By that stage it was ridiculously late, so i thought i would cut my losses and sleep in my car. I quickly established it was far too humid to do that. My only option left was to sleep on the floor in the shower block. It was as horrific as it sounds.

Even if i had managed to pitch a tent, things wouldn't have been much better. My pitch (13) was next to some sort of small swamp. It meant that there were mosquitos and flies everywhere. The pitch itself was ridiculously close to that of my neighbours and if able to pitch a tent i would have ended up sleeping right next to the sewage pipe from their RV.

I'm sure if you are in an RV, this place is fine. IT IS SIMPLY NOT SUITABLE FOR TENTS. It's an outrage that they advertise it as such.

I left before the office had opened in the morning, and after no response when i tried to phone i sent a series of e-mails and filled out forms online to voice my complaints... I'm still waiting for a response and a refund.

Do yourself a favour. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

If you are in the upper keys and are looking for a place to camp this is a good choice. However the camp spots are a little close to each other. As far as the snorkeling, if you take the tour out its great, if not you'll be wadding in mangroves and grasses and not much else. To truly appreciate this park, you'll have to do some legwork, but it can be great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a great state park, the snorkeling is amazing, especially if you go to the statue of Christ reef. Beautiful and natural surroundings. Perfect location to explore other areas of the keys. Canoeing is also fantastic.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle-Hulme - UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Best day of the holiday, so far. Booked for snorkelling, the day before. 6 of us went - cost approx $280 inc Mask and Fin hire and Snorkel purchase. Had to arrive for 12:15 for a 13:45 trip. Got their early, rented the snorkelling gear and snorkelled off canon beach. Lots of submerged canons from a Spanish shipwreck about 100m off shore - a good opportunity to brush up on our snorkelling skills Then at 13:45 off for the boat trip to the Coral Reef, about 3miles off shore. Sea was very clam and perfectly clear. Got about 1.25hrs of snorkelling at the reef - this was plenty - was exhausted afterwards. Saw lots of amazing fish at the reef. Truly amazing day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#3 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,308 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 18 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
7.8 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
1.3 mi away
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#5 of 18 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds

Address: 102601 Rte 1, Key Largo, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.