We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuff Diving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spiegel Grove

Spiegel Grove
Key Largo, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Attractions in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Ships, Reefs, Sights & Landmarks, Nature & Parks
Activities: Scuba diving, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Retired 510-foot naval ship intentionally sunk to create an artificial reef for underwater diving enthusiasts.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tuff Diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We dove the Grove x2, and both times the current was very strong. Great dive - limited to advaned (and experienced) divers. The sealife is great there, but with the deck at about 95 ft, you have limited time down.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    37
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Double Dip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This trip was a great end to a short dive vacation to Key Largo. Due to the absolute great conditions on this day we made the boat decision to double dip the wreck (not a common option). Went with Rainbow Reef and appreciated the service and care they provide their customers.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Awesome dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Dove with HMS Minnow, Capt Jeff Jarvis. 100 foot visibility. No current . Few divers as we were first on the wreck that morning

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Goliath Groupers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

One of the best deep dives (120') I've completed. We saw the two resident Goliath Groupers that must have been 400-500 pounds. You need 4-5 dives to completely cover this huge wreck.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent dive for more experianced divers. More life than I would have suspected considering depth and time on the bottom

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiegel Grove also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Spiegel Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiegel Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.