We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuff Diving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spiegel Grove

Spiegel Grove
Key Largo, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 61 things to do in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Scuba diving, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Retired 510-foot naval ship intentionally sunk to create an artificial reef for underwater diving enthusiasts.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tuff Diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We dove the Grove x2, and both times the current was very strong. Great dive - limited to advaned (and experienced) divers. The sealife is great there, but with the deck at about 95 ft, you have limited time down.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    41
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Double Dip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This trip was a great end to a short dive vacation to Key Largo. Due to the absolute great conditions on this day we made the boat decision to double dip the wreck (not a common option). Went with Rainbow Reef and appreciated the service and care they provide their customers.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Awesome dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Dove with HMS Minnow, Capt Jeff Jarvis. 100 foot visibility. No current . Few divers as we were first on the wreck that morning

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Goliath Groupers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

One of the best deep dives (120') I've completed. We saw the two resident Goliath Groupers that must have been 400-500 pounds. You need 4-5 dives to completely cover this huge wreck.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent dive for more experianced divers. More life than I would have suspected considering depth and time on the bottom

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiegel Grove also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Spiegel Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiegel Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.