We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umm... yeah... resort is too strong a word” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cove Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Cove Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   99360 Overseas Hwy, MM 99.5, P.O. Box 99, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Umm... yeah... resort is too strong a word”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here one night on a girls trip through the Keys this past week.
We are very easy going when we travel and take the good with the bad and get something positive out of anything. Seriously.. there was nothing positive here with the exception of the warm weather and the outdoor band we were listening to on Feb 22nd from the bar/restaurant next door.

We knew this was an older typical Keys kind of place - we weren't looking for opulence or top of the line, but we didn't expect:

our beach cottage to be just a room with double and twin bed - walls were dingy, the window air conditioner was a 747 airplane in my ear all night and we HAD to have it on all night to keep the moldy musty smell at bay. The bathroom was SCARY. Not big enough for barely one person and the door didn't close all the way.. probably due to the humidity.
The tile was stained and cracked and the grout was black and the shower was something I saw once in a horror movie. Rust stains everywhere. The shower curtain was old and musty and stained as well. It was a very conscious effort not to have your body touch it while showering.
It seemed like the bathroom was added on to the room as an afterthought. Right next to our bathroom was a public bathroom - so it was a bit un nerving to hear people just on the other side of the wall at all hours of the night.
The beds were lumpy.. the pillows were the flattest I have ever seen.

Their continental breakfast was coffee and OJ but the peice de resistance were the muffins and patries that were more than likely bought at the local gas station weeks ago off the shelf. You know the kind.. the 2 for 99 cent deal no name cellophane wrapped artery cloggers.

We paid $140 for one night. It isn't worth half that.

Now, I am not a person that demands creature comforts and I rarely complain as you get what you pay for.
I expected it to be clean, comfortable and not have a 1970's window airconditioner keep me up all night. I expected the bathroom not to give me nightmares.

Now, there were other 'cottages' here of course and I don't know what they were like so it could be that we got the short end of the stick.. but I doubt it.

This was our first trip to the Keys, so caveat emptor.. spend the extra money to get a clean room elsewhere.
Save yourself the headache.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose Deep Six. That is the pink 'cottage' we had. Stay away from it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    87
    34
    26
    19
See reviews for
43
101
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our room was near the beach, clean, and convenient walking distance to local restaurants and great live entertainment. The included beach access, kayaks and fishing from the pier were all enjoyable. The rental included a microwave and refrigerator, but coffee was only available with "breakfast" which was packaged Danish, OJ and coffee from 8:30 AM to 10:30 Am which was a little late for us.

Room Tip: Our room was near the beach, clean, and convenient walking distance to local restaurants and great l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here on the way to Key West had a great time, It's by no means the Ritz but it is rustic and welcoming. The views are stunning from the waterside. The staff are friendly all rooms have fridge & microwave and some of the larger ones have cooking facilities. They great thing about this place is every room is different so plenty of choice for everyone. There is a great bar next door that has live music. There is a bar across the road that is near the dive centre called Sharkeys which sold great food and had a brilliant choice of craft beers. Tried key lime pie and the key lime freeze at Mrs Macs great choice of food at a good price. Enjoyed it so much we came back for a second night after visiting key west.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This place is just GREAT. No, it's not the Ritz. I stayed in both an RV and an Airstream trailer. I loved it. In regular life I admit to being a bit high maintenance.. I like really nice things...but this place is just idyllic for hanging out and relaxing in Key Largo! I had everything I needed including cooking options and the BEST location on the Gulf. You can wade through the super clear waters and enjoy all of the various fish and other ocean life. There are several tiki huts and plenty of beach chairs, plus a large dock. There are kayaks available. It's quiet, relaxing and wonderful! There are tiki hut areas for bartending, grilling and hanging out and some goofy cement animal statues spread around. It's a kitchy, GREAT place. You can walk right over to the restaurants and bars right next door - with live entertainment. I will certainly be back... for longer next time!

Room Tip: There are several options ranging from RVs to cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We reserved in advance and took the manager's advice, selecting the Pelican Room. It was ideal. Though Sunset Cove is right on Highway 1, the Pelican Room is just a few yards from the water, and we enjoyed quiet neighbors. The room had a full size refrigerator, microwave, and TV with a DVD player. There is plenty of waterfront with two nice Tiki huts and a dock, where my sweetheart was delighted to see a manatee swim by close enough to touch. We tried a number of Key Largo restaurants nearby and would recommend Ballyhoos; we liked it better than the Pilot House (terrible service), Mrs. Mac's, and the Fish House Encore. One drawback: the kayak leaked. We discovered this too late and ended up swimming back to shore with the kayak in tow. We lost a camera to the water.

Room Tip: Ask for the Pelican Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed one night, went down to key west, too crowded down there, came back up to key largo and so glad they had a room for us again. Got a kayak and had a ball. We had a room with water view. I will recommend, if you are Hilton person you might not like the rustic feel but fine for us.

Room Tip: Suite 9, water front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notre Dame, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Manager was both worldly and friendly. He actually checked with another local hotel to see if he could find me a better rate and presented both rates, giving me a rundown of the differences in the two properties! Was also able to offer a great deal of helpful and valuable local information!

Definitely not the Ritz Carlton, but for what it is, and what you pay, it's a great atmosphere and excellent value!

Room Tip: Even if you get a room by the road, with windows and doors closed, noise is not noticeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Beach Resort

Address: 99360 Overseas Hwy, MM 99.5, P.O. Box 99, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Cove Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Beach Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cove Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.