We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Harbor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Harbor Lodge to your Saves list
Bay Harbor Lodge
97702 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sunrise, Florida
1 review
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

One of the best vacations spots I have ever been to! The trip was a pleasure from the moment I spoke to the staff over the phone to the moment I checked out. The room was exceptionally clean and cozy. It was extremely peaceful and quiet, the perfect place to do some meditating, writing, drawing and reading. I did some fishing from the private pier and cooked some burgers in the mini kitchen in my room. There were excellent places to eat right around the lodge, I must recommend Mrs. Mac's Kitchen. The sunrise and sunsets were beautiful. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous and the homemade scones were delicious! I love this place and I definitely will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    78
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
62
194
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Absolutely beautiful! The area is quiet, perfect for relaxation. The Office staff and housekeeping were courteous and accommodating, Room/ bathroom very clean, bedding and towels were fresh, and extra pillows and blankets stocked on the closet shelf were useful. The continental breakfast is delightful: an array of homemade fresh scones, packed with a selection of combined fruits, chocolate and nuts, a thoughtful gesture. My son was excited to paddle on the kayaks available for guest while we soaked in the sun. Absolutely perfect for family vacation. We plan to return in November, Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I booked this and being two 25 year olds we didn't really know what to expect. But WOW we were impressed, it is in paradise! When we arrived we had John greet us and show us too our room (he was just lovely, extremely friendly). The room had everything we needed and was very clean. There are free kayaks to use which is brilliant as so many places charge a fortune for an hour. We went in the kayaks around the bay and saw some manatees close up, it was the highlight of the holiday. On a night a lot of people go down to the beach area which is lovely and peaceful and has a lovely sunset around 8 o'clock. In the morning there are free homemade cookies and tea/coffee for people. The room was fully equipped with a microwave and cutlery and BBQs around the lodges for people to use. This is a place for everyone. There are so many activities available to do in Key Largo that you don't have to stay on site. All the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful for explaining things to do in the area! Staying at Bay Harbor Lodge made our holiday extremely enjoyable and we will be returning!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you are young and full of energy, looking for adventure and noise (so called music now), this is not the place for you. This is the place to escape from things mentioned above. Take your fishing road, they have a nice pier from where you can fish or you can take one of their kayak for free to burn some energy. Tips: you can see manatees or even small sharks at dawn! the efficiencies are clean and the ones with kitchen are loaded with everything you need.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Key West. It is a great destination itself. The beach/dock area was peaceful. The landscaping was so tropical and beautiful. We stayed in cottage 9 and it was perfect and very clean. The staff was friendly and a great example of customer service. And the homemade scones and coffee were very flavorful and started the day off right.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of August. I had high expectations since this was our first vacation without children in many years. Bay Harbor Lodge exceeded all of our expectations. We stayed in cottage #3 with is just a few steps from the beach. We had our own patio with a table & umbrella which had an amazing view of the beach & Florida Bay. When we wanted to cool off, we could sit in the living room with the same view. The cottage was clean and comfortable. The furniture was modern and in great shape. The bed was super comfortable! The kitchenette had all the supplies we needed to cook a few meals.

The grounds are well maintained and covered with all kinds of tropical plants, flowers, a palm trees. There are more than enough chairs to soak up the sun. They offer free use of their kayaks and paddle boats. One of the highlights of our trip was going out on the kayak our first morning seeing a dolphin swimming nearby! If you're not familiar with the keys, do not expect a sandy beach. There is a lot of plant life in the water and it is shallow quite a ways out. I did do some snorkeling and saw a great variety of fish. I was hoping to see a manatee, but no such luck. They do have a climate controlled salt water pool on the property which is nice.

The staff was friendly and made sure to accommodate every request we had. The homemade scones each morning were delicious! My only complaint was that they had only had milk and non-dairy powdered creamer for the coffee.....I'm a half & half kind of guy. But hey....that is my only complaint :)

Overall, we had an amazing vacation and are looking forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: Cottages 1 & 3 are right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondhead
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Bay Harbor Lodge is nice with beautiful views. If you are looking for a quiet spot, this is the place for you. It's not fancy, but it had everything we needed. My kids loved the pool and enjoyed the kayaks provided. The scones they set out each morning are fantastic (not hard and dry). I think I tried every flavor. One night a manatee and her calf even came into the little lagoon.

My family of four stayed for three nights at Bay Harbor Lodge in cottage #7. In looking at the website, I thought that #7 would best fit my family's needs since it had a king size bed in the bedroom and a pullout sofa in the living room. While the cottage was nice, we would've been better off in a different room as we hardly had room to move around especially when the sofabed was pulled out. Be sure to pay attention to the layout of each room. I think our cottage would've been better for two people instead of four.

Room Tip: Be sure and pay attention to the room layout. Some layouts will be better than others for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Harbor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Harbor Lodge

Address: 97702 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bay Harbor Lodge, a cozy bay front resort situated on 2.5 acres of lush tropical foliage. Whether you are planning a relaxing get-a-way or an action packed vacation, our amenities and location put the Florida Keys at your fingertips. With 15 rooms, there is never a crowd and customer service is never a problem. Coconut Bay Resort is our sister neighboring hotel with 6 additional rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Harbor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Harbor Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Harbor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.