We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great buy. . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99202 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037 (Formerly Key Largo Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Sawyer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great buy. . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Old and worn out but neat and clean, clean sheets, clean towels and no bugs. Breakfast items include muffins, fruit, juice and coffee. No smoking, no pets. Friendly staff. If all you need is a place to stay, this is the place. A great jumping off point to the Keys. A great buy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    47
    27
    59
See reviews for
27
61
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This motel is clean and well appointed and a good convenient stop on the way to key west. It is good value and has a welcome non smoking policy. It has a much more individual character than a chain motel and the management were very helpful on where to eat in town. enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a small "mom and pop" establishment reminiscent of an earlier era in The Keys. Though you don't walk in and go Wow! over the decor, the rooms are clean and contain hair dryers, soap, shampoo, coffee and a brewer. And the wifi works in the room. There is a pool and an ice machine on the premises, as well as a bar room where one can buy alcoholic drinks and the coffee pot is always on. In the morning a small complimentary breakfast is provided featuring pastries and fruit. Because the motel is located alongside Highway 1 you never really escape the noise of the traffic. This is most noticeable at night. And the bright light right outside our doorway allowed too much light to seep through the window blinds for me to have a great night's sleep. However, the central location of this motel (just a few miles from the northern beginning of Key Largo, on the bike path and within walking distance of several good restaurants) and the friendly attitudes of the staff more than made up for its inconveniences. For a small fee we were allowed to leave our cars in their parking lot for the week while we rode our bicycles to Key West and back. Upon our return we were allowed to use their poolside shower room to wash off the road grime and change into clean, street clothes. The best feature of all was the exceptionally reasonable room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a corner to get away from the hall lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This could be your first landing point to explore the keys, but there's much more down all the road to Key West. The staff are nice and the building is old but not in bad conditions. The breakfast is pretty basic. It's just on the main road, so quite noisy even late in the evening. It's a rather cheap accomodation for the area, but what you get is aligned with the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I'll start with the positive....The staff was beyond nice and accommodating. They went above and beyond for our requests. They even allowed us to put our ice packs in their freezer since the rooms didn't have a mini fridge. On the upside, the beds were very comfortable .....I have a bad back and it's always my first complaint. On the downside, the bed is not. Queen, more like a double/full. It would have been nice if they would have made the bed with the blanket in addition to the top sheet. I've stayed in all classes of hotels (Days Inn to the Ritz) and as far as I know industry standard is fitted sheet, top sheet, blanket, comforter.) The blanket is available on top of the coat rack.

The hotel rooms need to be completely gutted.....there was either mold or a large stain on the carpet....the walls need more than a coat of paint (minor repairs were filled with some sort of filler and painted over...no attempt to sand it down to make it flush with existing wall) The best was the shower....major cracks on the window sill....water has definitely run through the cracks...I can just imagine what kind of mold is growing there! In the tub itself, there was previous guest's hair stuck to the wall. On a funny note, the light fixture above the door to the bathroom looked out of place....it looked like a vanity light. The TV is your basic TV from the 90's...no flat screens here! Cable was basic.

Again, the staff totally made our stay pleasant. Would I stay there again, probably not but it worked as a quick overnight stop on our way back home.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keylargoinn, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We do offer no frills, however, our facilities are clean, comfortable, spacious, safe and fully functional with free Wifi and a cozy full liquor bar on site. We provide free breakfast, no frills, but bakery fresh pastries, hot coffee and tea, three types of juices and fresh fruit. Our prices are the best in the area and our staff is available around the clock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Check in was easy. Bar was very reasonable.
Staff was nice.
Rooms were bare minimum byut comfortable.
It was fine
Chris and George was wonderful.
They were very a, D and made my wife happy
We had a great stay
George has been awesome and also the fresh grouper

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Well ,,, it's better than its been . But crappy breakfast ... Although it is free. The rooms are old and not that clean ... The manager was nice but... This is a low budget place and that is what to expect here... No frills and low budget .. Need I say more

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 99202 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037 (Formerly Key Largo Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.