We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves Its Purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina

Save Saved
You added Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   527 Caribbean Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Serves Its Purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As a single guy traveling with my little dog buddy, this place was all I could ask for. The property understandably works to attract a lot of the diving crowd and, as such, some of the lower-priced rooms are probably a little more dormitory-like. I booked a king room overlooking the marina (#223 to be specific) and it was nice and clean with a microwave and one of those medium-sized refrigerators. I was there Tuesday-Friday in mid-June and parking was not a problem at that time, but the hotel was not full. There is a continental breakfast available, but me and the dog always walked over to the Key Largo Conch House for the early meal. Sharkey's, the dive bar next door, had very friendly service, decent beachy entertainment, pretty darned good food and a nice beer selection, notably a good IPA (Hop Gun) from Funky Buddha and a pale ale (Invasion) from Cigar City. Fishing and dive boats all right there. It may not be "uptown" but it's pretty down to earth.

Room Tip: I can recommend room 223.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    118
    82
    55
    35
See reviews for
82
120
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Although this resort appears beautiful in the pictures, it is old, outdated and faded. The parking situation is terrible - not enough spaces for hotel guests. The Keys are a party place yes, but at 2 am the noise from next door (paper thin walls) and from outside on the shared balcony, was disturbing. Cars raced up and down the street most of the night. There is little to no visible security on the premises. The room was passable, but for the money - not worth it. No microwave and an old beat up room fridge that ran noisily all the time. The kid that checked me in obviously needed a lesson in good customer service. He seemed quite bored and less than enthused. (Although I did encounter a young woman behind the desk several days later a bit more friendly and willing to help.) There is an abandoned restaurant next door which really was very creepy. The parking lot you might be forced to use is several blocks away from some of the hotel units and you must walk to the hotel via an old boarded walkway which transverses the abandoned restaurant. Overall, if I had to give this a score from 1-10 I'd give it a 2.5. only because for the most part the room was clean. Hope this helps someone avoid a really disappointing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I personally don't understand how anyone could like this hotel. BEWARE - The "double room" means 2 DOUBLE BEDs, not 2 separate rooms as it entails. Seems like False Advertising to me.

To start off it's parking area is TINY. Maybe 20 spots, and if you get there later in the night, there is nowhere to park. Don't even think about going out for dinner, because your spot will not be there when you get back.

Second, the beds are the worst beds I have ever slept on in a hotel. I have stayed at some "questionable" places, and these beds were worse. So hard, and uncomfortable. I have never had back problems, and yet the first night I slept there, my back hurt for hours after waking up.

The view could be nice, but there is a thick wall of palm trees separating you from the docks on the second floor. Paid the extra money for a "marina" view, and could barely see the boats as they went by.

Lastly, the area is lovely, but dead. In the middle of summer, there wasn't anyone around. It was almost like a ghost town, but I definitely see why.

Again, I have no idea why this hotel has all of the good reviews. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: "Double Room" means 2 double beds No point in getting Marina View VERY hard beds Small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were a group of 5 that got together for some diving with Ocean Divers, which is very conveniently located right next door. We rented a suite which had two bedrooms, one with a double bed and one with two twins. There was also a fold out couch and a Murphy bed, kitchen and two baths. When you split the price between 5 people it is really a good value and we really did not feel crowded. The maid was great about bringing us extra linens.
The pool was well maintained and clean with a large concrete pad and lots of lounge chairs. I have stayed here before and had a similar positive experience. I know they run a lot of specials with Ocean Divers so it would be helpful to ask ahead for this discount if you plan to do some diving. Being on the marina, they are very convenient to diving, fishing, etc. Overall very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

What an amazing find! We booked this island find from a website only 30 minutes prior to arrival. This was a great way to start off our vacation. The view is perfect. The pool is terrific. We went snorkeling and on a sunset cruise for additional charges. The breakfast was complimentary. A perfect way to end the evening with a swim. Loved!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I am satisfied with my stay at this hotel. The staff was always helpful, and friendly. The building was dated but kept up. Great location, and view of the marina. If you have a boat, you literally can dock 30' from your room! My only complaint was my mattress was absolutely wore out. I had a great time there but didn't sleep well. I would stay there again, but wouldn't accept that mattress!

Room Tip: When you book ask for a room on the Marina side not the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our marina view room was great and the staff was very nice. The hot tub is weird with a violent jet that shoots straight up. Also the say there is a tiki bar on the premises and there is not. You have to walk to the Holiday Inn for that. We were misinformed by the desk clerk that the tiki bar opened at 11 am but the bartender was emphatic that they never open until 11:30 (she also had a very caustic personality and did nothing but complain about tourists). Also even though they own the property they have let "Coconuts" deteriorate to ghetto like conditions. The awning is coming down and rotting since the last tenant vacated a year and a half ago. When we asked the manager he just shrugged and said nobody does anything with it. He apparently doesn't care either. It is really an eyesore that could be taken down in less than 2 hours.
Loved the room and view but it was very overpriced considering the half-hearted upkeep of the property.
I would only stay here again if the prices were right.

Room Tip: Marina view is your best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina

Address: 527 Caribbean Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.