We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina

Save Saved
You added Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   527 Caribbean Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This one was difficult to review because it was so unusual. I'll start with the positives. The hotel is in a nice location right on the water. The grounds have some beautiful tropical plants and seem to be well maintained. The wifi worked pretty well as did the air conditioning. The room was clean and really BIG! The cleaning staff was very helpful. They even let me use their cart to transport my luggage when the other luggage carts were being used. The balcony was nice and even though the hotel was full, it was quiet at night. The Murphy beds were very unique!
The negatives were that the rooms need to be updated. Everything in them seemed to be from the 1970's. I could accept that, as everything was functional, but the big negative for me was the slight smell of smoke in everything. We had a non-smoking room, but the smoke smell was there. That is the only reason that I probably would not stay at this hotel again--I am allergic to smoke. People who don't mind that smoke smell would probably like this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    113
    84
    53
    31
See reviews for
86
122
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you're looking for a relaxing vacation where you can get a good nights sleep you can forget about this place. If you're anywhere near Sharkeys Bar right next to the resort it's impossible. Teenage kids at 2 or 3 A.M. screaming at the top of their lungs carrying on like no one else matters. No one in the bar or hotel does anything to stop it. Apparently there's no security or management around to care or get it under control. It gets to the point where you want to throw patio furniture off the balcony and knock these idiots out with a table. I will not go back to this place ever again.

Room Tip: Not at this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The front desk people were great. Our room was clean, the view spectacular!
The resort is a little hard to find, but worth it. I would recommend the Marina Del Mar to anyone needing a place to stay in Key Largo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Upon our arrival we were quoted one rate & charge nearly double. Room did not have any carpet, floor was cold & slippery. Ants were in bathroom. Crabby front desk.clerk. Poor toilet facilities (had to flush multiple times). Torn screens, poor parking spots, poor lighting. Would not stay or suggest to anyone, EVER.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn or Marriot are better choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just finished a 3 day dive and stay package. I found the room
very clean and service was good. At times there is a cranky
front desk person but for the most part they are friendly. The
king bed was comfortable and linens fresh and soft.

I would recommend this hotel for divers as it right next to
ocean divers. Even got an upgrade since they were not
busy. I didn't even ask, it was automatic. I am a repeat
customer though.

But if you want a good breakfast go to Sharkeys next door.
Not much to offer but basic continental at the hotel

Room Tip: I like the 2nd floor marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Purchased a divers package that included diving with Ocean Divers and accommodations at Marina Del Mar. The hotel itself is an older hotel, yet the room was clean, the location perfect for diving in the Key Largo area because it's on the water. It was also a perfect (right next door) to Ocean Divers - so for the package deal it made sense. Hotel staff was very friendly, very helpful. Find them both at mile marker 100 in Key Largo.

Note: The beds were 'full' not real queen size.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
largo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stay here so we could be close to local dive companies. The room was clean , with everything we needed to enjoy our dive. The pool on the the other hand was not as good as we are used to. Do not go to Coconuts, if you stay here, go to one of the other many places to eat. All in all the Resort its self (our room) was just what we needed. We stayed on the 4th floor, corner room, king size bed, patio, great view over looking the marina. They also had a place to put our boat, that was safe to leave. We trailered our boat with us, and wanted to be able to unhook and know it was going to be there in the A.M.. It was, with everything right in place. They have a boat ramp, but as it turned out we did not use it , stayed on dive comp. boats. We will go back to this Resort .

Room Tip: Get a corner room overlooking the marina the are guieter and out of the way of people coming and goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina

Address: 527 Caribbean Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.