We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Vacation Dreams Are Made Of” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Save
You added Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden to your Saves list
97802 Overseas Highway, MM 98, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #1 of 19 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Galesburg, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Vacation Dreams Are Made Of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you are looking for a completely relaxing, stress-free vacation, then Kona Kai is the resort for you! We stayed in the Lychee suite and it was beautiful! We loved having a full kitchen, living area and private patio with table and chairs, lounge chairs and a charcoal grill! The pool and jacuzzi are beautiful and the bontanical garden is simply breathtaking! The grounds are always immactulate! We loved the complementary kayaks and spent several days exploring the water and abundant wildlife! The front desk is manned by Tracey and Denise and they do a wonderful job of making sure everything is simply perfect! We were married at Kona Kai during our stay and the wedding was beautiful and exactly as we had dreamed it would be! Tracey and Denise did everything and anything to make sure our special day was memorable and amazing!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    33
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
20
234
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is the perfect getaway for couples, very quaint with beautiful surroundings and everything you need for a romantic and relaxing time. We went on a snorkeling trip which was fine, but actually I wished we had just spent the whole time at the resort soaking in the atmosphere! This is the "happy place" you take yourself to in your head when you get stressed out!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The landscape of this resort is gorgeous - beautiful plants and beach area. The pool is heated and the hot tub is divine. It's a really beautiful setting. The staff are also super friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us. They helped arrange massages for us for our anniversary and were really lovely. Our room - Mango - was very spacious, colorful and clean. The little touches made it very comfortable. We found that the Keys can be overpriced sometimes for what you get, but it was not the case here. Although a bit expensive, it is SO worth it!

Room Tip: Mango was lovely, near the pool and beach. No water view but just step outside, all good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly with recycling, their use of goods; it's in a botanic garden!
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This charming inn is only outdone by its the stellar staff who provide outstanding concierge service. Tracy and Denise are not only lovely but did everything and anything to make great suggestions for activities, secure (and rebook) reservations and all other arrangements to make our vacation get-away carefree and relaxing just as it should be. The inn is small and intimate and utterly relaxing.

Green Features: they are conscientious about recycling and very environmentally friendly
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Isle, Vermont
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a small group of rooms across 4 small one story buildings. If all hotels used as much care in thinking through their space, travel would be much more delightful. The parking lot (aesthetically pleasing) and tennis court set the buildings back from the road. The "compound" uses planting areas for a botanical garden with individual plants professionally labeled. There is a walkway/ breakwater on the shore and a pool. Our room was small but very well appointed and carefully thought out. Tracy at the front desk was tremendously friendly and helpful, as were all the staff we encountered. This will be our "go to" place in the Keys. There is no restaurant on site but coffee makers and fridges in the rooms. The small gallery in the main office has a small exhibit of 3-4 first rate artists.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Thank you, thank you to the Kona Kai “family” for another wonderful stay! Coming back again was just as memorable as the first time. The fond memories from last year made us anticipate this year’s stay all the more. Superb service and amenities -- all with such a personal touch. Upon returning home, co-workers commented on the “glow” I had. I could see they were trying to process how it could be that I had just turned 50 and might be experiencing that “glow”! It was due in large part to the intimacy, quaint luxury, and the beauty of the gardens and natural surrounding at Kona Kai. I experienced an inward and outward rejuvenation …reflecting the serene atmosphere; fun in the sun and sand; starry, moonlit nights on the pier; lit pathways through the gardens (even occasional Santa lit pathways!… as Christmas was approaching); complimentary wine at sunsets; and private, beautifully decorated, comfortable accommodations! Thanks again for the memories! The interactions with the staff and the other guests were delightful. It truly is like a family and feels like “coming home”…to paradise!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This immaculately kept garden-resort is a marvel of design -- not an inch of waste space, either in the rooms or in the garden; and as a result Kona Kai seems larger than it really is. You are not paying overhead for a restaurant or a bar, a serious plus; food has to be found off-site. If you are arriving in Florida by plane and driving on to the Keys, it might be a good idea to stop off at a decent grocery store in Miami to stock up on fruit and pastries: the rooms have fridges to accommodate a modest food supply and it means you don't have to wander a mile or two down the road for breakfast or lunch. The staff gave us excellent advice on where to go for dinner.

Room Tip: A room with a patio attached, however small, gives rather more latitude for dining.
See more room tips
Green Features: The environment is key to the experience. The highlight was, as advertised, the ethnobotanist's lecture on the vegetation; we found it intensely interesting, and would join it again next time we come.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-KonaKai-Resort, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear winstOn4:
"Immaculately kept garden-resort...."
Thanks for your great review and for noting we are both a Garden and a Resort. Our staff is always hard at work to earn your compliments.
For your next visit, we'd like to suggest you reserve one of our 8 suites. With a separate bedroom and a fully equipped kitchen offering real silverware, china plates, crystal wine glasses, bbq's outside your front door and more, you'll enjoy a meal or snack anytime - once you've visited the Publix grocery store and other food-shops within 3 miles of our door.
And remember, when you want to "eat-out," Ballyhoo's is right at our front door and our staff is ready to recommend lots of other great nearby Keys eateries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

Address: 97802 Overseas Highway, MM 98, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by the same family since 1991 and a "Fodor’s Choice" selection since 2009, Kona Kai is a magical hideaway, teeming with the natural beauty of old Key Largo and hand polished into one of the most exclusive resorts in the Florida Keys. With all new accommodations in 2013, Kona Kai is reserved for adults. Offering highly praised personalized concierge service, Kona Kai is regularly recommended by leading travel publications and websites. SInce the 2011 addition of "The Botanic Gardens at Kona Kai," guests enjoy our gardens day and night; complimentary tours for all registered guests are offered by our staff ethnobotanist. Kona Kai is a classic Keys experience; the perfect alternative if you're seeking to avoid the crowds and formality of a big resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Resort & Gallery Hotel Key Largo
Kona Kai Resort And Gallery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.