We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Paradise! Nothing will beat this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Save
You added Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden to your Saves list
97802 Overseas Highway, MM 98, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #1 of 19 Key Largo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise! Nothing will beat this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and wished we had stayed longer. This place is a real Gem of a resort and after travelling from England all we wanted to do was relax! Kona Kai allowed us to do just that! From the minute you arrive you feel like your in paradise! Everything was perfect. Next time we will stock up on a few beers and let them cool down in preparation for the perfect Sun sets! See you next year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-KonaKai-Resort, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Flatley24: Thanks for the very kind words - it is great to know that we are meeting our goal of being the best we can be . . . and that everything was perfect. Our entire staff strives to create a paradise just for our guests. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    30
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
16
212
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the perfect time. Off peak season and a couple weeks after hurricane Issac. Kona Kai felt like it was ours for an entire two days. Very peaceful and quiet environment if that's what you are looking for in a vacation. We highly recommend taking the botanist tour (free for guests and approx $20 for visitors) Rick is the botanist\tour guide and was very informative. He really took his time and explained the various vegetation and exotic plants growing throughout the botanical garden. An entire fruit garden is at the front of the resort where you can pluck fruits right off the tree! Before the tour I was completely oblivious to the many different beautiful species that surround you at Kona Kai.

Don't feel like you need to book the more expensive room to have a good time here. There isn't a bad location at this resort.


Kayaks, Ping pong, tennis courts and a well mantained pool\spa await you at this wonderful resort. Book this paradise and you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

LOVED this place! We got food and some beers delivered to us and then we just hung out at the dock until late late at night. We watched shooting stars and the most beautiful sunset we ever seen. On top of that, beautiful rooms, the staff was awesome and the vibe was great.

We were so impressed with the whole experience and have told everyone we met about this hidden paradise!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We planned a week long trip to the Floriday Keys, and this was our first stop, as my sister was getting married on the property. It was a little expensive, but since we were only staying for two nights, we were hoping it would be worth it. The first thing we did after checking in was get out on the water in the kayaks they provided. (Word of warning, watch out for jellyfish when getting in the kayaks. They are fascinating to look at as long as you don't step on one). They had a dock with a ladder for swimming. There isn't an actual beach, but there was a large sandy area with lounge chairs, hammocks, tables, and even a ping pong table. The pool and hot tub were great. There was even a fridge full of water and fruit a few steps away. Our room (Kiwi, I think?)was a decent size, and was nice and cool. The bathroom has places all over to hang wet towels and swimsuits. The bed was very comfortable. We took the garden tour in the morning, and we got to eat all sorts of fruit right off the trees! There's also a tennis court out next to the parking area. It is true that there are other properties on each side that are quite close, but they were usually pretty quiet. As for road noise, I didn't hear anything from our room at all. It really felt like our own place. I didn't even have to put shoes on I was so comfortable there. We were sad to leave this lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandywine, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We just got back from 5 nights at Kona Kai and - stayed in one of the suites. The suite was great - large, very clean, well equipped and tastefully decorated - great AC. The grounds are amazing. The place is wrapped around incredible botanical gardens with plants from around the world's tropical regions. Do not miss the free garden tour by Rick - the on staff botanist. The amenities are excellent: garden cabanas with grills, private beach, very nice pool/Jacuzzi (free fruit and bottled water poolside) and a pier with cabanas. No breakfast though. Kayaks and paddle boat are free. Snorkeling right off the ladder on the pier is pretty good, given it is bayside. Best fish are around the piers. Tracey and Denise at the front desk provided outstanding customer and concierge service - their restaurant recommendations were right on. We have placed Kona Kai on our "must return" list.

Room Tip: If you want a suite, 2 of them have private outdoor sittign areas, vice public cabanas - I'd go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Seven of us headed to Kona Kai for a special birthday celebration. Our group included mid-twenties newlyweds to an 80-plus mobility challenged person. We enjoyed everything the resort had to offer: the oh-so-comfortable pool, the botanical garden tour, kayaks and pedal boat, and the flat and clean-swept paths that wound through the perfectly planted and meticulously maintained property. Every age group had a wonderful and relaxing time. The staff was fantastic: helpful and friendly. The rooms were beautiful, with original artwork and carefully thought out amenities and furnishings. Thanks again to everyone at Kona Kai!

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms have great views and are near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear J H: Glad you saw Kona Kai as we wish all our guests to see it: as a great place to relax for folks from their 20's through their 80's. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at the Kona Kai recently and LOVED our stay! We will stay here again for sure. The grounds are beautiful and so relaxing. Every detail is perfect such as the hammocks on the small “beach”, grills, bottled waters, landscaping, kayaks, decorations, etc. We got the least expensive room which was basic, but the intimacy of the resort and amenities were worth the price. The staff was very friendly and we can’t beat the sunset we saw from the beautiful dock!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

Address: 97802 Overseas Highway, MM 98, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by the same family since 1991 and a "Fodor’s Choice" selection since 2009, Kona Kai is a magical hideaway, teeming with the natural beauty of old Key Largo and hand polished into one of the most exclusive resorts in the Florida Keys. With all new accommodations in 2013, Kona Kai is reserved for adults. Offering highly praised personalized concierge service, Kona Kai is regularly recommended by leading travel publications and websites. SInce the 2011 addition of "The Botanic Gardens at Kona Kai," guests enjoy our gardens day and night; complimentary tours for all registered guests are offered by our staff ethnobotanist. Kona Kai is a classic Keys experience; the perfect alternative if you're seeking to avoid the crowds and formality of a big resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Resort & Gallery Hotel Key Largo
Kona Kai Resort And Gallery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.