We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but a few drawbacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   103800 Overseas Hwy, MM 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
orem, ut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but a few drawbacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights in January and had a fun stay.

Pros: beach and pool area are beautiful. Location is great. Plenty of hammocks which one of my wife's main requirements in finding a good resort.

Cons: rooms a bit small and dated compared to other Marriott resorts. Also, the layout is a bit confusing at trying to get around the resort, from parking to room, etc.

Overall: I would consider staying here again but I would also maybe look around to see what other options are available in the area. I was also a bit disappointed with our view. We paid the premium for Bay View and ended up on a low level with mainly a view of a tree and the back of the pool. Try to get a higher room to get above the trees

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    456
    194
    74
    48
See reviews for
324
457
21
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornwood, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Arrived a few hours early and was immediately checked in
Very pretty, on the water.
Room was clean and view amazing, room 325
Pool area nice, 2 pools, one adults only
Poolside service although waitress never came over to offer us a drink
Tiki bar was nice, down by the water. Had a drink and fish sandwich, very good.
Would def. go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, MA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The outdoor area of the hotel is really beautiful. The pools have fun fountains, the beach is small but scenic and the landscaping is lush. I especially liked the tiki areas with hammocks that allow for private rest time. At sunset, the beach is full of friendly people watching the colors of the sea and sky. I was surprised at how friendly all of the hotel guests were. The kayaks were easy to rent and the bay was very calm to kayak on.

The only negative that I can think of is that the rooms are very simple. I did choose the least expensive available, so the view of the parking lot was not a surprise. Next time I go, I think I will opt for a better view, even though we were outside almost all fo the time.

Room Tip: I would choose one with a view if you intend on being in the room for any extended time. The balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Arrived and could not check in until 4 (3 was check in), staff could not tell us when so went shopping. Room had good beds, tv, and balcony, but small bath. Lots to do on-site with a very nice pool and deck with bar, a little beach, a bar and restaurant.....exercise equipment limited and worn. Went charter fishing right out of the hotel which was truly great and had the best fish dinner I have ever eaten at the hotel restaurant with the fish we caught...unforgettable. Service overall a little slow or distracted, but generally nice people....maybe it is the keys demeanor. Great location...close to Miami, but definitely in the keys. A bit more expensive tan would have thought...about $1000 for 3 nights. Overall, had a great time and would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Think all rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Checked in to this Marriott to start our exploration of the Florida Keys. Check-in was smooth & Eric at the front desk was very helpful in helping us plan/validate our exploration itinerary. Overall, the property is a little dated, with the outdoor corridor access a little 'surprising' but added to the character of the resort. However, it is very well maintained and provides a plethora of activities & services.

Dining: The property has a 2 bars, one poolside by a magnificent resort style pool complete with dolpin statuettes and fountains. Gus's Grill provides a magnificent harbor style setting where you can experience true southern hospitality - a far cry from the nearby Miami area.

Activities: the property is located on the bay, and have a nice strolling/ sitting areas along the bay. The 'beach' is small but good enough for the kids to have a safe romp. The property also rents out jet-ski's and small boats for your own recreation or you can take a 'cruise' to explore the bay.

Our three night stay proved to be very comfortable and the location served as a great base for exploring the keys all the way south to Key West as well as the Everglade National Park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference in late February. Room was nice--furnishings a step above normal hotel level. Staff friendly although poolside food service was a little slow; they could have used more than one person. The pool area is very nice, comfortable padded loungers and umbrellas with nice, plush towels. The beach is nice and the location is close to any touristy distraction one could wish for. An easy drive down from the Miami area. Parking is a little hard to come by if you get in late. Food very good, spa is OK.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keymer, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights recently, and whilst the hotel was clean, comfortable and well located, the hotel staff, in particular the restaurant staff on duty at breakfast, seemed as though they were recovering from a late night out, as they were not engaging or seemingly interested in their customers, and with expected services charges of at least 15% we would liked to have seen a far greater level of customer service. The bar staff worked hard and were a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road can be noisy from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 103800 Overseas Hwy, MM 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;