We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   103800 Overseas Hwy, MM 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Nice little resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from a two night trip Key Largo. We looked at a number of the area hotels and decided that the Marriott looked the best. Plus it helped that we got a deal that included free breakfast.
The resort is compact but has everything you need to relax and unwind. The rooms are large and well appointed. They all appeared to have very large balconies too. A definite plus.
Gus' Grille, the on site restaurant is superb. We really enjoyed all the food we ate there.
The pool is fairly large with a nice bar next to it. There is a small man made beach but this was something of a let down. It's the one area that I suggest management have a look at. It needs some TLC to bring it back up to standard.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. In summary this is a nice hotel to relax in for a few days.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the bay, but the lower floors can be obstructed by other buildings and trees. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    455
    193
    73
    45
See reviews for
316
450
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego, california
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just returned from a 5 night stay at this property and thoroughly enjoyed the property. The hotel is charming and our room was very spacious, clean and up to date. We requested a corner room, as we had read here on Tripadvisor. We had a great view of the pool on one side and the water on the front side. The balcony was quite large, a wrap around of sorts. The bathroom was perfectly done, including a hair dryer and nice toiletries. The room also had a safe and a mini refrigerator which was great to keep our snacks chilled. Our rate included the buffet breakfast and service every morning was very attentive. Their selection includes juices, an omelet station, pastries, fresh fruit, oatmeal, and yogurt. Everything was fresh and tasty. There is a bar on the property, although it was never busy at all. The pool area is maintained very well, and their "beach" area has plenty of hammocks to relax in right at the edge of the water. Their fitness center is small, but sufficient, including 2 treadmills, an eliptical machine, and some free weights. It is kept nice and cool, and they supply towels and there are a couple of tv's in there. They also have an outdoor game table area, including ping pong, at no charge to guests. If you are looking for a comfortable stay in Key Largo on the water, definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, overlooking the pool and the bay. Extra large balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We just got back from a 5 day getaway in Key Largo and we stayed at the Marriott Key Largo Resort.We had a great time as the weather was nice and the resort had all the amenities we needed to enjoy our stay.The pool bar was open until dusk and there was another tiki bar that was open until 11pm with live music each night.Gus's Grill and restaurant on site was open for breakfast lunch and dinner and our waitress and waiter(Barbara and James) did a great job providing us with great service.Pool was a bit small but sufficient since it was that overly busy until the weekend when a wedding was happening with all the invited guests.The views from the resort are beautiful,and our room was fine.Most of the staff were quite helpful and our front end lobby mgr Eric recommended a nice back bay fishing trip and we absolutely loved the trip.Hated to leave such a nice area to come back to Connecticut but will return sometime again.

Room Tip: We traveled with my brother in law and his wife and they stayed in an ocean view room with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on a quick dive trip to Key Largo. Took advantage of a facebook rate that included breakfast for two at Gus grille each day. Used Marriott points for my last night. Breakfast was typical Marriott buffet which was a great way to start the day. The breakfast staff were very friendly, service with a smile and chat - loved that.

If you are a guest staying at the hotel, there are boat slips available for free on a first come, first served basis right on-site, including a boat ramp and large parking lot for your truck/trailer. This was very handy for early morning dive trips. Didn't use the facilities of the on-site dive shop - although they will fill tanks, and have a charter that goes out twice daily. There is also a canoe, jet ski rental too.

Pool was good size for the resort, cool and refreshing which is needed for this time of year in the Keys. Pool bartenders were friendly and fast - it's slow season so not sure what this place is like when things get busy. Lounge chairs on the manmade beach need a pick me up, but adequate seating for all. There is also a Spa on-site - didn't visit, but always a great amenity.

Like others have indicated, the parking is covered, but very tight. Plus is that parking is so close to elevators/stairs to your room allowing quick unloading/loading. Always found a spot within 20 ft of elevator.

Room is adequate, typical Marriott, very clean and refrigerator was a bonus. The balcony is large and get a room facing the bay - you'll love having that view and having the room to spreadout too. Great for drying all of your dive gear.

Great location to rest your head for a few days and enjoy a resort like atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a bayfront room - left side of resort facing the bay. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I've stayed at other places in Key Largo that I like, but I think this is by far the best place for the price. We went during a slow time and got a great rate that also included breakfast. I was nervous after reading some of the recent negative reviews, but I have to say that I really enjoyed my stay here.

Check-in was friendly and quick and they gave me free breakfast coupons without me having to ask for them. The room was very nice in a Floribbean style. It was just the right amount of fancy to me, as this is the Keys and the whole point of the Keys is a laidback style of life. The mattress wasn't too firm as some have mentioned (and I have a super soft bed at home), and the bathroom was nice and spacious. We loved the balcony and had a great view of the bay and the resort grounds. My only gripe was the TV channels, but that had more to do with the channels repetitive, boring content and that's not the hotel's fault. There are no premium channels that we saw.

We didn't use the dive shop so I cannot comment on that, but it seemed convenient to have it on site. Thursdays and Fridays they do the jet-lev rocket pack which is a great adventure (see my prior review for this in another location). They rent jet-skis and kayaks, so you wouldn't need to leave the resort if you wanted water activities. The manmade beach was typical of the Keys. The turtle grass is protected and is abundant, but you could still swim out to the platform and the water was clear enough to snorkel in. We saw a manatee right off the shore while we were in the wonderful two-person hammock. Lots of sailboats are anchored just offshore and it is very picturesque.

The resort pool was beautiful and my only wish was that they had an adults only pool! The hot-tub was nice too. The towel card system seemed fair enough-trade in one card for 2 towels and then get your card back when you return the towels to the attendant.

The restaurants on site were nice. We ate at Gus' Grille one night and it was great, however we were a little surprised at the prices.

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, however some people might think they were a little laid back. In the Keys that attitude seems to be very prevalent. The staff did a good job and I didn't have any complaints.

I would definitely stay here again if we go to the Keys. I looked at several other hotels while we were down there and for the price this place blew the others away!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

At first I wasn't too sure about the hotel b/c the front could use updating. However, the upgrade we got to an ocean view room made it all worth it. Not only that but the activities available onsite are excellent!! The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and the food was pretty good in the restaurant, the view was awesome at sunset. If ever I return to Key Largo I will for sure stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very nice resort well taken care of , quiet pool private beach pool bar Findlay staff great service food simple and tastes .had a 2 bedroom suite facing pool and the bay balconies was huge enter from living room or bedroom

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 103800 Overseas Hwy, MM 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.