We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Key Largo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Key Largo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Key Largo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, the location is great and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

I was a bit worried booking this place from some of the other reviews but I was really happy with my stay here.

The hotel is right beside a boat marina which was a really nice walk after dinner a couple of the nights. I wish the hotel had it's own waterfront area but for the Key's that's pretty rare so I wasn't really expecting that.

We spent some time at a local state park that was only about 5 minutes away so we were able to go in the water there before going back to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    406
    178
    58
    23
See reviews for
214
379
24
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A nice place in a pleasant location. Howver, we were very specific in booking a room with a balcony and did not get one.
When we challenged they quibbled that the walkway to the room, which looked over the marina, was the balcony. In the words of a german lawyer I know "it's stupid to argue with stupid people".

If you book a balcony make them send you a picture.

Room Tip: Be demanding and dont take them on trust
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Steve A,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is nice to know that you liked the location. On the other hand, please accept my sincere apology for the confusion on the room assignment. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after leaving the Postcard Inn. That hotel was a big disappointment, so we ended up leaving. The Holiday Inn exceeded my expectations. It is a bit older, but very clean and comfortable and I LOVED the pools. It is in a great location too!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We arrived at our hotel just before 3pm and were told our room was ready, we were assigned
A room overlooking the car park! We asked if we could be moved, yes of course! $40 extra per night, taking this below average room to over $350 per night! Sickening! The room was ok, bathrooms are about twenty years old and need done up. Now we noticed that most of the poolside rooms were not occupied, so this is. Just another miserable way of squeezing more money out of the tourists. thing is! We won't come back! Had we been offered a poolside room
For the same price we paid before the upgrade we would have been happy. Pool area is nice, they had a great entertainer at night! I'm not happy with the star rating that Hotwire gave us! Don't think I can trust them either. I would say this is a very average hotel with average employees.

Room Tip: Don't bother, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Casper10_11,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I appreciate the compliments on the pool area. I apologize for the problems you encountered with the policy, room allocations and staff service received. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing and we appreciate your honest feedback. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle village, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nice room, clean. The grounds were very tropical and the tiki bar was great. Waitress at the hotel, I believe her name was Charlene was wonderful. We only stayed for one night so this hotel was perfect for that purpose. It was conveniently located near the glass bottom boat tour of the coral reef which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just returned from our second seven night stay here, and I am amazed at some of the negative reviews. Although the rates may be higher than other Holiday Inns, the grounds and two wonderful pools made it feel like a resort. With beautiful tropical foliage, a lovely freeform pool with a waterfall and a regular rectangular pool, there were lounge chairs for all and a relaxing ambiance--no race in the early morning to snag a chair. The rooms, while nice and clean, were not luxury rooms, but since we came for the pools and relaxation, we spent very little time inside. We had a wonderful time and would certainly come back again. The location is great, right in the center of Key Largo and close to numerous good restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The room was a bit old, but clean and mostly quiet. Had a plenty of parking spaces around the hotel building. The staff were not too friendly but helpful.
It's a bit expensive for the overall hotel quality.. but I guess the location is mostly accountable for it. Very close to good diving shops. Although, I couldn't find a grocery shop at first (there is a Publix 3 minutes north on Overseas Hwy -- watch for a sign or easy to pass).
The hotel met all my basic needs, but for the price I would consider somewhere else if staying much longer than a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear localhost8,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and for finding our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.