We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does what it says on the tin!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Key Largo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Key Largo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Key Largo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“It does what it says on the tin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Good location, clean rooms and great reception staff. Most important the wi-fi was super fast and free! Only downside was unfriendly staff in the Cafe. Would recommend a stay here on a one night basis but a bit tired looking for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    457
    204
    70
    26
See reviews for
245
429
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hotel nicely located. Rooms starting to get a bit tired but still kept clean. During the day nice around pool with live music. New Year's Eve was a let down hotel did nothing but found somewhere nice on marina to eat and drink out. Restaurant food was good but only for odd visit not a lot of choice. Pool was nice and warm. I would say the hotel was good but not v good so 31/2 out of 5

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benahavis, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Welcomed at reception. Room value for money and comfortable but in no way luxury but suited us. Good room facilities. We had ground floor room facing pool and if on higher floors could not see lift but as did not need one did not look too hard. Bar expensive but nice drinks. I would stay here again,
Everything clean on room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Jane R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

To be fair, if this were a budget chain, I would not be writing this uncomplimentary review. I do not expect every hotel to be the Ritz, and the place is not awful. However, they have some nerve charging what they do for what you get. I have spent less on swanky boutique hotels in major cities. What's more, I'm not sure what rooms they used for the photos on their website, but ours was decidedly dingy-looking.
When we arrived, we found that the carpet near the entry to the room and bathroom was sopping wet--as if the chamber attendant has upended a bucket of water and left without sponging it up. The room also smelled strongly of mold. The air conditioning system may have contributed to the mold issue: it was quite primitive, so that we had to either loudly blast cold air or turn it off, which made the room very muggy.
When we got up the next morning and tried to make coffee in our soaking wet socks (remember the puddle), the coffee maker was broken--it heated the water in the reservoir, but did not flow up the tube or through the filter. It boiled and sputtered like crazy, and we couldn't turn it off, so we unplugged it. My husband went to the lobby (in another building across the parking lot) in search of coffee. They had coffee, but he had to join the chain's loyalty club on the spot and be issued new, fancy "Priority" room keys in order to get it. (I kid you not.)
In short, everything about the place said, "Your money--but not you, in particular--are welcome here."
On the plus side, the pool area with the thatched tiki bar is very nice indeed, and the hotel is situated quite close to the marina. There's also a popular breakfast place, "Doc's Diner," just across the street. So, if you plan to go fishing, diving, or boating from the marina every morning, hang out by the pool bar all afternoon and evening, and really just use the room for sleeping, I could award the place one more "green dot" for you--still overpriced, but okay for what you want to do in Key Largo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear MandySue1024,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Key Largo, FL.

Sincerely,

Orlando A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We checked in to this hotel for 2 nights at a rate over 300 per night. We went into our room to find that the place smelled of mold.
The room had not been dusted in God knows how many years. I mean when you put a finger on the headboard of the bed it was covered with layers of dust!
The bathrooms had cracks in the sink and the bath is very dated with old tile and holes in the wall where the floor boards are.
The beds had hair in them so they were never changed! When we called for the beds to be changed we left to the pool. When we got back we were left with 2 sets of sheets sitting on our beds. REALLY? YOU COULDN'T EVEN CHANGE THE BEDS FOR US? WE HAD TO THAT FOR OURSELVES AT OVER 300 A NIGHT? WOW
The hot tub had so much dirty bubbles sitting all over it I wouldn't want to know what a water test would show!

We went to the front desk in the morning and thank the lord I used expedia. EXPEDIA got me a complete refund and we got a room down the road at the Marriott resort inn. That was much better!

Room Tip: Goto the Marriott resort down the road about a mile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Michael C,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We deeply apologize for the disappointment and inconvenience you had with your room accommodations and our facilities. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARY, NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The room was clean, the heated pool and jaccuzy was nice. We ordered a beer and drink.
Pretty pricey at the tiki bar.We did not dine in the restaurant at the hotel. We would highly
recommend the "Tower pizza" which is less than a mile from this hotel. Very nice food.

Parking is right across the room, which was helpful. There is a rite-aid very close by and
we did shop for some cereal, ice-creams there. There is also a Bank of America branch close
by. The John Penkemp marine park is close by.

I would stay there again, but definitely not during high season when the prices are high.

Room Tip: Ground floor near the parking lot on the right side of the hotel is easy access and was quiet for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights on points so of course we had a view of the road. That said, we arrived late, but the front desk staff was great and recommended Mrs. Mac's Kitchen for dinner and even called to ensure they were open. Two pools which are nice and the tiki bar was a plus. The staff also provided a rollaway bed at no charge. The canal is close with Sharkey's within walking distance. Hotel is old but clean. Would stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.