We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining Room Service Without a Smile” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Key Largo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Key Largo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Key Largo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Stamford UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dining Room Service Without a Smile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This Hotel was just OK for a one night stopover. The room was clean, in fact there was a strong smell of bleach, but no frills. We decided to eat in the Hotel Restaurant as we had been travelling a number of hours, there was only one other table of people. There was no welcome smile from the waitress, we were made to feel an inconvenience. We ordered soup and a main course, well, we were only part way through the soup when our main course arrived and was left on the table next to us. Then we got the message, we had arrived around 8.15 pm and the staff wanted to leave by 9.00 pm. No wonder there were so few diners and no welcome. We felt very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear homelover48,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I am pleased that you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience your restaurant experience may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    413
    182
    60
    24
See reviews for
217
391
25
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palatka, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After traveling straight for 6 hours, we were ready for a rest. The desk clerk was awesome. Our room was secured quickly. The room was very tastefully decorated, roomy and very clean. The TV and internet worked. A blow dryer was provided. There was a marina next door, the hotel boasted a restaurant, continental breakfast , room service, bar and gift shop. We were only staying for a night but I would stay longer. The surprise? The boat, African Queen, from the movie was in the marina! She is 100 years old this year and still takes people on cruises. There were a lot of charter boats available so if you fish, dive or snorkel...this hotel is a very convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Property was absolutely beautiful. The centrally located tiki hut between the two pools was very nice. Rooms were immaculately clean and staff was very good. Front desk was very accommodating, had originally reserved just Saturday Sept 22 and we decided to come in Sept 21. They put us in a room immediately. NO problems

Room Tip: All you can eat buffet was nicely done, however, they could have had pancakes and seemed kind of pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We chose the HI for access to dive boats and a relaxation period for my non-diving spouse. This was a spur of the moment 3 day trip to relax, dive and get away for a bit. The HI proved to be a great stop. When I made the reservation I was asked to join HI Priority Club which I did. A good decision since when we checked in we were upgraded to a poolside room which was great.
The room was very clean, comfortable beds and a great location next to the pool. The Tiki Bar at the pool was all we needed foe great drinks, good food and very pleasant bartenders. Rita and Geoffry were the best. Very accommodating and they knew your drinks (for multiple refills) after the first order.
Breakfast service was generally good. The only problem was that one day the buffet was available and the next day was not without any notice. However, the food was very good.
The outside pools (2) offered all that you would need the bar positioned between them. One pool was more for the kids and the other tended to be most adults, which was perfect.
We will definitely make this a regular stop for long weekends. It was a perfect trip coming out of Baltimore with a quick flight and short drive. We will be back HI staff, thanks for restful stay.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms should be a priority
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had one night here in August. It really is a motel, with parking conveniently outside your room. The room seemed a lttle tired, but was clean and we had no complaints.
The hotel is well laid out alongisde a marina, which is very pleasant. I didn't think the pool area was quite as good as some have commented, but it was still very nice and it's difficult to beat having a cold beer at the Tiki bar out of the August sun! We ate in the restaurant found the food to be of a reasonable standard and not too expensive. Overall, it was a great stopover on the road to Key West and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days in the beginning of August so we could go diving. It was great being right on the marina so we could grab our gear and walk to the boat. The hotel was nice, clean and quiet with 2 nice pools. The hotel was a bit expensive and the bar is really expensive. We ordered 2 Pina Colada's at the pool one day and it was $20. and because of the bar, they do not let you bring your own drinks to the pool. I can't rate the food because we never ate at the hotel. There is a great little breakfast place right across the street called Doc's!!! Go for breakfast....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here overnight on an organised trip with Florida Dolphin Tours to swim with Dolphins.

Room clean and pleasant for an overnight stay for myself, husband and 2 children

Enjoyed happy hour at the Tiki bar.

Didn't eat in the hotel at all ate out for both breakfast and evening meal.

Recommended for an overnight stay, can't comment on staying over any longer.

Room Tip: A room facing the pool would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.