We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite dive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USCG Duane

USCG Duane
Key Largo, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Attractions in Key Largo
Type: Ships
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The 329-foot Coast Guard cutter Duane was sunk in 1987 to create an "artificial reef," which was specially prepared for advanced divers with clear, open hatchways and open rooms to explore.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Dispite heavy current this was a great dive site. We dove there twice and saw large bullsharks both times. Must be advanced and experianced for this site.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Amazing Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Apparantly we dropped lucky with the Duanne, we were told there was always a current, sometimes quite strong. We dived twice with no current on different days. Brilliant dive, loads of life and the wreck looks amazing. Needed more than 2 dives to fully explore though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Diving the Duane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great wreck! Lots to see and shoot on superstructure from 85-105 ft. You can go deeper if you want but it's not necessary. Current was pretty strong on the line.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“cool dive - inside and out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

went with Scuba-do, no problem. small dive club, the boat was parked by oceans dive, a bigger club that also lookd pretty cool.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Do not miss this dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This is one dive you do not want to miss. Amazing dive at this site mid September 2012..saw so much life including a nurse shark, reef shark, and 2 bull sharks plus turtles and more. My only regret is the depth...wanted more time. But that just means I WILL be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USCG Duane also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to USCG Duane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USCG Duane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.