We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Key Largo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Key Largo Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Key Largo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Rates from $199
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Miami
1 review
“great getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

great weekend getaway resort. amenities very good and beach is actually good for the keys. Needs a spa to complete the full resort amenities. Go eat outside of the hotel for great dining. Nice resort and prices were decent compared to other resorts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    724
    422
    236
    127
See reviews for
681
996
37
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This review is a long time coming but must be done. Was a guest in July. Rented 3 rooms. Like the others say this place needs attention. The fabric headboards are stained, the couches were stained, the carpets were stained. Time for a total overhaul, don't bother steam cleaning, remove the offending articles and start over. The beach is a bit tight, people are just piled on top of each other. Drinks at beach bar were pricey and just ok. No one was overly friendly. In July the beach was swarming and I mean swarming with cicada killer wasps which really don't bother people at all but is a frightening thing for children and certain adults. Nice that they stroll around and hand out cold herbally smelling cloths and popsicles in the heat of the day.

I have to put this out there. One word MILLIPEDES. They crawl into your room and are just desgusting. Yes Florida is famous for its bugs but when you are paying the amount of money we paid for three rooms for a week's stay we should not be having this conversation. One more word EXTERMINATOR. Don't come to my room and put them back outside and then vacuum, they come back in. My mother changed her room to one on the second floor overlooking the parking lot and crisis averted there but the rest of us were stuck. The hotel was booked and god only knows how, surely no repeaters here. They should just do away with the shady rooms on the first floor just burn them down.

The matresses and linens were beyond. They were by far the most comfortable mattresses and most luxurious sheets. Go figure right next to a stained headboard.

Pool area was a little nasty, needs a good cleaning and an update.

Can't vouch for the restaurant the restaurants in town and all along the Keys were too fabulous.

Room Tip: Research millipedes and find out when they are most active. If it falls within your trip request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Waitinallday,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at our property. I want to personally apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had with us. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and is always a focal point of our operations in order to continue providing our guests with a great experience. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and rectify any pest situation that might occur, and we have already contacted them in regards to this situation. Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you'll give us another chance and stay with us again in the future!

Best regards,

Stephen Brower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed there at the end of June, so busy summer season was taken into account. Having said that,

Pros:

* Staff was very helpful and available. I read earlier reviews to the contrary, but we had a pleasant experience in this regard.
* View was great - we paid a little extra to guarantee an ocean view, but stayed on the top floor and had a great view.

Cons:

* Pool was in a separate part of the property. We walked over once, but didn't come to the Keys to sit at the pool and not see the ocean.
* Rooms are out of date and just felt "old".
* Beaches were a little dirty, though we do understand the difference in South Beach and the Keys.
* Tried the restaurant once and the room service once. Both were average, compared to other fares in the area, and overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The rooms are definitely dated in furniture old stained carpet and wear but clean. Housekeeping didn't come to our room in two days had to call for necessities. Television was snowy which is not standard of the Hilton. The room was spacious, loved the sitting area and balcony.

Property was great. The pool was small but love the separate Adult pool with waterfall. They service was great, brought us towels, a chair (husband bad knee doesn't do lounge chairs) The Manager, Lisa (bar) was out there keeping everyone happy. They even come around and give free low fat popsicles and have water stations. Beach side small but nice beach. Tree Tops restaurant was great for dinner one night. I would stay again despite the 3 star room as the property and service brought it up to 4-5 star. We even stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'm a gold Hilton member and was hoping to get away with friends to a trusted property. Though the beach and restaurant was nice the cleanliness was poor (not getting housekeeping at all 1 day) and property was run down. Will not return. The pool was hidden and small. The rooms are dated. This property has a lot of potential but apparently has been forgotten.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Marccrowder,
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet expectations and based upon your review I am actively participating with our housekeeping staff to ensure our standards for comfort and cleanliness are consistently met. I hope that if your travels bring you back to our area in the future. you will consider staying with us again so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
Stephen Brower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed here a few times before but the hotel is getting very tired and previosly high standards are slipping.
Our room was on the 4th floor with great views of the ocean, the room needed updating, we first stayed here about 12 years ago and very little has been done to upgrade.
The beach area is excellent but despite signs banning dogs management seems to allow dogs on the beach, we pointed this out to a manager but dogs were still allowed on the beach. They also allow all and sundry to use the beach, On Saturday of our visit we arrived at beach approx 1.30 pm and could not find any loungers, many people were having picnics with cool boxes, wine, beer etc. we spoke to a nunber of people who just visit the beach FOC over weekend, parking in the hotel car park is free and uncontrolled so anybody can drive in and spend the day on the hotel beach but again when we talked to a manager they huff and puff but do nothing.
Breakfast normally is excellent at Hilton but the buffet was shut and you had to order from the menu. In the evening we intended to eat the restaurant but we were the only people in the bar restaurant so ate out every evening.
The setting and walks around the trails are superb but overall we we disappointed especially after the great time we had on previous visits.
It appeared to be very short staffed, there was a bell desk but no bell staff, when we checked in they offered bell service for our luggage but after waiting over 10 minutes with nobody attending we took our own, reception often seemed under staffed and getting hold of a manager was difficult and long winded, we had to make 3 visits to reception to see a duty manager as they were busy, at meeting, not yet on duty.
We would like to visit again as the setting is perfect but Hilton need to spruce up the room, sharpen up service and concentrate and people actually staying at the hotel and management should actually manage.

Room Tip: For sea views get a room on 3rd or 4th floor on the beach side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Based on some earlier negative reviews I read on Trip Advisor, we've avoided staying here. In fact, we stayed at the Hampton Inn 3 times (also in Key Largo, part of the Hilton chain) because their reviews were much better on average AND it's a pleasant property. Well, boy were we wrong!!!

This is a lovely property, on a long, if narrow stretch of waterfront, with great staff, beautiful grounds, delicious breakfast, and perfectly nice rooms. I've stayed in the Keys in many properties, from hotel chains to expensive small hideaways, and the Hilton should be much higher than #11 in Key Largo. Not sure what is going on?

The Pros:
a) Long stretch of waterfront -- NOT a wide beach, because of course as we all know most of the Keys don't have naturally occurring beaches, as they're formed from ancient coral rock and limestone. (If you want a wide beach with tons of sand, visit my home spot of Miami) For the Keys, their beach rocks. But tiny compared to Miami or Sarasota, for example.

b) Tropical hammock -- long ago, south Florida was covered in lush tropical jungle, i.e., hammock. This Hilton should be commended for preserving their hammock. It also preserves the coastline and keeps the shoreline from eroding further. If you don't like mangroves, tropical trees, birds, etc., partially blocking the view (floors 1 & 2), better stay elsewhere.

c) Fantastic staff. Everyone was nice. Smiled, greeted us. (Sure, we tend to smile and say hello, too. Maybe people are friendly to people who are friendly?)

d) Great buffet breakfast. Yes, it's about $16 per person. It's big with lots of good food, from pancakes to bacon to fresh melon. If that seems high (doesn't to me, seems typical of resort buffets), head to Mrs. Mac's, about 5 minutes north, for local Keys flavor and lower prices.

e) Nice stretch of sandy beach, on north side of hotel, with about 4 rows of beach chairs for lounging. Also, Caribbean watersports rents kayaks, paddleboards, Hobie sailboats, etc. Can arrange for eco tours of Florida Bay.

f) Friendly beach bar with amazing frozen margaritas!

g) Long dock for fishing and docking your boat

h) A family pool (for kids) and an adult pool, plus a nice bar/lunch place. With waterfalls. And a hot tub.

i) Nicely surfaced tennis courts (where we played) and a gym with excellent equipment

j) Perfect Bayside spot to watch the famous sunset

k) Beautiful, sleek restaurant with beautiful view. Did not eat dinner here, partially based on reviews. But the breakfast tasted terrific. Good coffee.

l) Nice room, very clean. (Yes, a couple of worn spots on a dresser edge, that another guest photographed in a previous review. Honestly, who cares. Do you expect them to replace the dresser every year? I mean, seriously, folks.) Everything else, curtains, lamps, linens, towels, great. Comfortable bed. Flat screen TV. Also a bathtub!! Thank goodness. So tired of no tubs. Terrific balcony. Refrigerator, coffee maker. Not a luxury room, but hey, this is the Keys. Luxury here is $400-500 a night, no joke. For the cost and for the location, very nice. Was surprised.

m) Sleek lobby area with a useful gift shop.

n) A treasure hunt (for plastic bracelets) that took children throughout the property. Great idea. Gets them exploring, walking, away from electronic devices! My child loved it. Big hit.

o) Nature! Fish you can see right off the dock. Needlefish! And birds. Pelicans, egrets, cardinals, etc. Clear water off the hotel so you can even snorkel a bit here.

Cons:
Hardly anything to mention.
Yes, if you get a room on the 1st or 2nd floor trees (at least on the south side of the property) will mostly block your water view. For that reason, it may make sense to call the hotel before you book online and clarify your options.
Also, some rooms, along the parking lot, overlook a) the parking lot b) the jungle-y area behind the parking lot c) an interior courtyard with trees AND a hallway through which guests walk... We did not stay in one of these rooms. I assume they're cheaper. But if that doesn't appeal to you, again, I'd call and ensure I'm not getting a room in that location.

Based on some complaints I read on Trip Advisor, I was expecting a dated, run down property. Instead, I found a place that seemed wonderfully maintained. Paths raked and blown free of leaves. Corridors cleaned. Good housekeeping (NOT late in the day for us.) And while the room was not swanky or gorgeous, it was in fact attractive if simple. Neat. Pleasant.

I am so glad we finally stayed here. Plus, it's further down the island chain, away from the 4 lane hustle and bustle of Key Largo, closer to Tavernier and Islamorada. Highly recommend this Hilton!! And my husband, who travels the world for business, was also very happy with the experience. Could not understand some of the negative feedback. Either people had bad luck, or just unrealistic expectations. The Keys are VERY expensive. The beaches are tiny or nonexistent. You go to fish, boat, snorkel, Scuba, kayak, etc. It's a place to get out on the water and see tropical fish, basically. (We live in Miami, and if we want to just spread out on a huge beach, we go to Key Biscayne or South Beach. We come to the Keys for nature and a laid-back, low key atmosphere.)

This Hilton is terrific, and honestly, better than the last Hilton I stayed at (in the Caribbean).

We will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: 3rd & 4th floor, bay front, if you want unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Key Largo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.