We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expect for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Key Largo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Key Largo Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Key Largo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Rates from $129
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Big Spring, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Not what we expect for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

For the price we found the rooms outdated. There was rust on all the metal surfaces. The doors all opened to outside and the paint was old and yucky. Our air conditioner only got down to 78 degrees the first night. After calling attention to the problem they fixed it. The bed was hard. The staff was very accommodating. We really enjoyed sitting on the dock and even saw a stingray one night. This is the bay side and there are no waves. Several people were snorkeling but stated there was nothing to see in the water. Overall it reminded us of a cheap hotel with very good service. As we drove down to Key West we saw several other places that we would have preferred to stay versus this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    708
    413
    225
    119
See reviews for
663
972
37
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The location for a Florida Keys visit is great. Reception as all staff very friendly and helpful. Grounds are well kept.
Hotel structure, rooms and amenities are very dated, small and in dire need of upgrading / renovation.
Even without a major renovation job, just a few little touches could make for a major improvement, for example:
Bathrooms are tiny even in Grand King rooms. Yet there would be ample space for some towel racks. There simply is not a place where you can hang up your towels to dry, let alone to leave them somewhere out of the way.
As a weekender, traveling light, you are going to be ok with space to open your luggage. As a visitor from overseas you are seriously challenged with one small spot (broken) to put up and open a suitcase.
Even with double occupancy, the tiny single shampoo bottle provided is just good enough for one person to get a good wash.
Sure you can always call housekeeping for more, but you shouldn't have to bother with this kind of thing.
You do get a fridge in the room, the beverages however you have to get from motel style vending machines, wine, or liquor from the bar or room service.
If you are not on some kind of package, an 18 USD daily charge allows / forces you to use the facilities which are not anywhere near the standard of this day and age resort. The pool areas are split between adults only and families..., both tiny
The beach facilities are very limited due to the very limited space on the beach. Towels are provided at pool and beach side but very skimpy and worn.
The Treetop restaurant has nice outside seating with a beautiful view. The inside area is comfortable but anything but stylish.
You look at the unused breakfast buffet area, at dinner time ( a simple screen could hide it ) you see a large flatscreen above the bar area and have to listen to very noisy, piped in music. For stylish atmosphere make sure you stay outdoors.
On the positive side: staff at restaurant and reception are great. Very friendly, efficient and helpful.
Food and drink at Treetop restaurant was great, both for choice and quality.
Would I return ? Probably not if looking for a quality resort style Hotel by a well known brand that Hilton represents.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Key Largo for our anniversary and enjoyed the stay...rooms are really nice, large, clean, modern. We didn't have much of a view as we were on the back /parking lot side but the private beach was beautiful. Loved walking out on the docks in the evening and at sunrise, no one was out then and it was beyond peaceful...that's were I saw a manatee surface right in front of me on the dock, AMAZING!!!!!!!! Staff was average for a Hilton, food was pricey but no complaints really. Would go back, overall a nice place to stay in Key Largo.

Room Tip: Ask for water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Good sized room. close to the private beach area was very nice. enjoy the adults only pool, no kids. Right next to the family pool. Look out for high drink prices, $10 for mixed drinks !. goto a liquor store and BYOB to the beach ! Would have been 5 stars if it werent for these things : balcont sliding door nearly impossible to open, put a handle on those doors ! beds are stiff, offer a softer bed option. Great location, close to most diving boats, and much dining. I was hesitant when poepl said it wasnt on par with other Hilton, but this place was not bad at all not moldy or dirty, it was clean. I may stay there again if they improve the bedding..

Room Tip: rooms on 2nd floor have canopy view, tree top view, but can see some ocean view anyways. ask to be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

hotel including pool, room price, location = great. pool bar not opened late; the watersports offered thru the hotel are too expensive, beach staff was rude and condescending. I would not go for the watersports, no activities offered for the little ones had to go off hotel property for almost everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Filthy rooms. I advise staying at the hampton or marriot up the road. This is not a resort. Be forewarned breakfast is not served until 7 am so you do not have time to eat if you are taking part in diving/snorkeling trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Mica F,
It's so disappointing to hear that you did not have a more enjoyable stay with us. I also regret that you encountered an unclean room. Please know that this is not acceptable and has been addressed with our housekeeping team. We have strict protocols for servicing guest rooms and your feedback will help us to revise our processes. We hope that we can invite you back for a more comfortable stay.

Kind regards,
Stephen J. Brower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

...this hotel is for you. It is clean, has great breakfast, and the views and water areas are fantastic. If you are looking for posh, elegant, or stuffy/snooty accommodations, keep driving to Key West and stay at the Casa Marina. It is a smaller Hiton property and the rooms are nothing to write home about, but the setting among the mangroves and the black bamboo is just awesome. I also love the secret little beaches where you can relax, read, and watch the sun set. Will definitely be back

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Key Largo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.