We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel makes you feel like you are vacationing on a secluded Caribbean island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Key Largo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Key Largo Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Key Largo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $199/nt
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This hotel makes you feel like you are vacationing on a secluded Caribbean island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My fiancé and I originally planned a vacation to stay at a hotel on Sunny Isles Beach based off an amazing stay two years before. However, this time we encountered sea infested lice in the ocean, a broken jacuzzi, and not great weather. So we decided to rent a car and drive down the Florida keys. It was a random idea to stop at The Hilton in Key Largo and we were so happy we did because the several days we spent there made up for everything and then some. The biggest thing for me was the beach. It's completely beautiful, calm, and serene. You can lay around in the water for hours soaking in the sun with a cocktail in hand. Being obsessed with the water, you won't be disappointed here. The second thing I really loved about this hotel is the surroundings and atmosphere. The lush tropical greenery everywhere seriously makes you feel like your in Costa Rica or some amazing Caribbean island. I loved it. There are hammocks you can lay around in front of the water and its so peaceful. The rooms are very typical to Hilton standards .. So they are clean, nice, spacious and enjoyable. The bed was pretty amazing to sleep in too. The restaurant is romantic and overlooks the ocean. It's nicer to sit outside rather than inside. One thing to watch out for is the sun .. It's very intense over there and the Mosquitos. Bring bug spray :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Annamichelle1,

Thank you so much for all your positive comments and wonderful insight into our property for all of the fellow Trip Advisor reviewers. We too would agree that we feel like our property is very unique to the keys with the seclusion and offerings and you are right during some months of the year the mosquitos can be our friends thanks to the everglades and spray is needed.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have you back again soon!

Best Travels,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    805
    452
    250
    133
See reviews for
755
1,098
39
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This hilton is on the Gulf side of the keys. It has a nice pool with a pool bar and a small beach with lots of trees in between the rooms and the beach.(if you know the keys you know that there are not many large beaches) Actually there is a nature walk with hammocks. The north side of the hotel is overlooking the tiki bar and the water sports, this area is a bit noisier. I like to stay on the south side for peace and quiet. Even when they are sold out I can't tell. I love to sit on the balcony overlooking the Gulf. I have read the reviews and hope that things have not changed. I am checking in again this Sunday 2/24/13 in a suite this time. The breakfast buffet is very good. I don't normally like buffets. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating on my last stay. Like I said this is my 4th visit and I hope things are the same!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Jules21842,

Thank you for recently staying with us in the past 3 years and we hope you have an enjoyable stay this time around as well. Please personally reach out to me or any of our Management team if we can be of any further assistance this stay to keep you coming back again and again!

Best Travels,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The exterior is beautiful. However, the pools are across the parking lot. There a 2 pools, one adult and one child. The child pool has more privacy and is located right by the hot tub and bar. I think the pools should be switched, but they were nice. The beach was also very nice. Reception was nice and friendly and even gave is a welcome bag. The rooms are dated, but comfortable. We wanted a king, but it was unavailable, so we got a queen. Our room was not cleaned until we asked. Even then, I think only the garbage was tossed and the bed was made. Overall it was a good experience an I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear IMR0114,

Thank you for you taking the time to give us feedback regarding your previous stay with us. We truly appreciate your patronage and feedback both positive and constructive. We are currently looking at doing some things to our guest rooms as well as I have passed your comments along regarding your daily housekeeping service so we can address those ASAP.

Thank you again and best travels in the future, hopefully back to see us again!

Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We war shopping online but called thinking we was talking to front desk which we was not and when things did not work out and we didnt get what we ask for we war told at fron desk to use phone and call them and fight it out at this point the could not give us a ocean view cause the war sold out ..i assume front desk would have fixed it but the could not do that ..so to us it seems its better you call for reservation tru the front desk and not china or where ever....cellphone use in room no good also dinner was a joke

Room Tip: dont book in the garden view u wont see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Troublenie,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback, I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with our central reservations line and that you thought you were actually speaking with someone on property. You are correct, if you ever question what the person at the reservation office is saying please ask to be connected directly with the hotel and the front desk more specifically and we would have loved to assist you.

We do hope that in the future should you travel back to Key Largo that you will give us another try. Please contact me directly if I can be of assistance.

Best Travels,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here in February in a package with B.Airways. On arrival we checked in a went to our room. the room was dirty and black hairs on the floor and the curtain hanging down. We reported it to reception staff later and they got room service to clean the room again while we were out. The curtain was not fixed. The next day we were offered a free breakfast in compenstaion OMG it was awful our table was cleared away before we had even finished it was cold and mass produced buffet. The second day we reported the curtain again still not fixed in total we complained about it 4 times!! on the 4th time they sent someone to fix it. As compensation this time they offered us starters FOC - we did not use this as the price of the food is overpriced!. We still continued to see black hairs on the floor. Rubbish from bins were left for days before being cleaned on the ground floor and trays and glasses left outside the rooms. On check out i mentioned that I was not happy with the service our room looked over the parking lot and the pool was covered by trees. The service we receievd was very poor the rooms dated and old and in need of a paint. They waived our resort fee of $18.00 a days again a rip of in my opinon. Would i recomend the Hilton "NO" go else where.

Room Tip: It makes no difference where you have a room - too many trees cover the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Denbies,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in Key Largo and we apologize for the housekeeping and maintenance problems you encountered. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and know our guests deserve better. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. We hope you will give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future. If you have any additional comments or concerns, certainly do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

For a Hilton hotel i would expect more.The beach area was really nice and private, watersports are a bit expensive but really fun, is nice to have that inside the hotel.
Service in general was average. Food could be better and housekeeping didn't really do a good job cleaning the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were on our honeymoon in Key West and decided to spend a couple extra nights in Key Largo on our way back home and explore an area we generally just drive straight through. What a disappointment our experience with Hilton Largo was! The front desk attendant who checked us in was very rude, acted as though she had better things to do then to help to us. When asked where we could find our room, she pointed to a map and said "Oh, it's somewhere in this area." We were disappointed to find out that our room was on the first floor and our balcony pretty much felt as though we were sitting in the bar area. After finding the room, we realized it was across from the elevator which was also the designated smoking area. How is allowing smoking right in front of the elevators respectful to non-smoking guests who need to use them to get to their rooms? Seems to make more sense to allow guests to smoke on their private balconies, so as not to offend the non-smokers. The room itself was damp and not very clean - we found some sort of body hair in one of the beds in our room - nasty! (Maybe the king sized suites are nicer but unfortunately for us they were all sold out..) Luckily, the other bed was void of hair... Everything in the room had a greasy film, cobwebs on the ceiling and on the sprinklers, rust of fixtures, looked like what may have been cleaned was wiped down in a hurry, nothing thorough about it. The room itself was old and dated, might have been nice in the 80's We had a drink in the bar, which was ridiculously overpriced. Tried to enjoy the sunset, but several screaming kids on the beach encouraged us to head back to our filthy room ( It was quiet at least.) We decided to leave early at this point. The trainee who checked us out of the hotel (we decided against staying the second night we had booked), was apologetic and polite, but the supervisor training her suggested giving us a 50% discount on our room service fee and waive the overnight parking charge, while not bothering to speak to us directly, was obviously not concerned with improving our experience.. And, yes, that was all that was offered to make up for our dissatisfaction with the hotel and day lost. Lastly, and I hate to go on and on but the trees on the property had been topped and hacked giving the entire area a very sad look in an area that could have been a beautiful garden. A seriously lost opportunity on Hiltons part, given the tropical environment. Would not recommend this place at all. It was more like a Motel 6 resort instead of something I would have expected from Hilton.

Room Tip: Just don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Amy K,

First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations or ours and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. I can also assure you that we truly care about our guests' satisfaction and apologize if you felt undervalued at check-out. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your comments in mind as we look towards refresh options. Thank you again for your feedback and please feel free to contact me directly if you have any additional comments. We hope we'll one day have another opportunity to serve you.


Kind regards,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Key Largo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.