We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel - mostly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Key Largo Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Key Largo Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Key Largo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Rates from $149
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Wheeling, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel - mostly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great room - ground floor, balcony right on the beach area. The ocean beach was great with tiki bar, lounge chairs, towels, etc. Great place to relax! Only thing I didn't like about this resort was the $18 resort fee. We weren't aware of the fee until we arrived. Great pool area with two separate pools with waterfall between.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor and also ask about the "resort fee".
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Bheinz,

Thank you for recently staying with our resort and taking time to leave your feedback regarding it. We are excited that you enjoyed almost everything except our Resort Charge. Due to the overwhelming feedback from our guests as you will see if you research old trip advisor reviews we decided to eliminate many individual charges like parking, internet, bike rentals, telephone calls, etc in favor of an all inclusive resort charge as we felt it creates much more value for our guests and the overall the the response has been very favorable.

I am sorry that you felt you were unaware of this charge as it is clearly posted via our website and all of our third party vendors such as expedia, orbitz, etc. Please feel free if you wish to contact me or the hotel to investigate further where you booked so we can assure everything is correctly posted.

We hope that the next time you are in the keys you will come back and enjoy all we have to offer in our little piece of paradise.

Best Regards,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    511
    626
    364
    198
    111
See reviews for
587
857
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were initially booked into a suite in this hotel with a parking lot view. The manager was quick and polite to upgrade us to a water front room view, which in my opinion is the only way to go here. The view from the room was great, however the room was a little run down with old damaged furniture. The room service was prompt and the food was of a good standard. The beach was nice and the walkways through the trees were quaint. The beach service however was non existent during our stay. If you wanted a drink the tiki bar was open for service. The food at the bar was in my opinion well below average and limited in choice. The pool was nice with two identical areas one for adults and one for kids. The pools were separated by a large waterfall designed to drown out the nose of trafic and children, it worked. Again service was limited here to one waiter every three hours or so. Overall the hotel is in a nice area In a great setting. It has average food and slightly below average service. The hotel is for the most part clean and is of average value for the keys. I might stay here again however I usually stay in 5 star Mexican resorts which for value and service leave this place in the dust. It's a solid 3 stars but could easily be 4 with a few tweaks especially in beach and pool service. Paris Hilton would definitely not be staying here. Try the chica lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear gintheus,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with our property. We appreciate the honest feedback as the only way we can celebrate our success or correct our failures is through our guest feedback. We are glad that overall you saw value in our resort and the beautiful setting which we have but we are sincerely disappointed that you received what you consider average service. Part of the Hilton culture is to embrace our guests and consistently try and provide above and beyond service at every interaction and I am sorry that we failed you there. Rest assured this feedback has gone back to all of our staff and management for immediate action.

Thank you again for your stay and we do hope if you are not visiting Mexico that you may give us another shot in the future.

Best,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Blah. Nothing special here, the hampton inns we stayed at were nicer, cheaper, and included breakfast. The whole area was boring. 12$ hot dogs, we ended up with publix chicken for dinner. Air conditioner sucked.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Jerryh,

We are sorry to hear that it seems like the Florida Keys are just not up your alley for travel. As I am sure you are now aware, the keys were built on and around a natural coral reef and protected Mangrove trees which is what accounts for the few rocks near our beach. Also unfortunately all beaches in the keys are man made because of those natural features but we do honestly believe that our property is very lucky to have the best beach in the upper keys.

Your feedback regarding our food and beverage offerings has been passed along to management as we do listen to all the feedback our guests leave us positive or negative to ensure we are providing our guests the best and most consistent product and service possible.

Should you decide to give the keys another shot we hope that you may give us a return visit as well to experience what we consider to be the carribean US.

Best Regards,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for a family vacation, got two adjoining rooms facing the ocean, the views were gorgeous and the grounds were well kept. Loved the balcony doors that slide open completely.

They offer free bike rentals, cruisers. You can also go for a short walk around the property, very serene and pretty (probably because we were there midweek). There are a few hammocks and chaise loungers along the water. Relaxing place. Pool was adequate, with mini waterfall, unfortunately didn't get to try jacuzzi due to small size and many people there.

Restaurant food is expensive, so if you must eat here try ordering at beach bar (I think it's lunch only though). Rooms initially looked new and modern but upon closer inspection there is peeling wall paper, carpet lightly old and dirty, bathroom is smelly, mildewy, and small.

But overall beds were comfortable, views amazing, and would stay here again. Price is a bit high, but I suppose it's the Keys, so it's expected. Charging for parking, however, definitely brings down one star.

Room Tip: Getting an ocean view room is worth it, on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello LoveLIFE00,
We are so glad you had time to enjoy many of the amenities offered at the Hilton Key Largo Resort. I agree the Hilton Key Largo resort is due for a refurbishment. We do have plans made to update our hotel and hope that you have time to visit Key Largo again so we may meet and hopefully exceed your Hilton expectations.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERKELEY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Key largo Hilton, but it definitely has some funkiness. Got a nice upgrade as a Hilton gold to a top floor room with a water view.. The breakfast buffet was nice, fresh fruit and granola were very good. The grounds are spacious and loved the shaded paths. The room was a bit funky, several items were broken--the air conditioning didn't work and the tub faucet fell off and was difficult to operate. The bathroom was moldy and stuffy, ugh. One night we returned from a long day of activities and decided to stay in and order room service & watch a movie ($17 on demand). First the phone didn't work and then once that was fixed we could not get through to room service, they either put us on hold or didn't answer. Called the front desk and they said a manager would get right back to us, never happened. Finally after about 1/2 hour of this nonsense room service called back and explained that other people were ordering room service too and they couldn't really tell us when our food would arrive. We gave up and went out to dinner, oh well. Asked to speak to the manager again as we checked out and was told no one was around.....really unacceptable for a Hilton.

Room Tip: top floor, water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear CalifWilma,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hilton Key Largo Resort. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room as well as the hotel property. I do apologize for the issues you encountered during your visit. I want to ensure you that the problems with room service and a manager not being available to speak with you as requested are far from the 'Norm' at all Hilton properties. Please accept my apologies and these issues will be addressed. Please let me know if you intend to re-visit Key Largo so I may personally ensure a seamless and enjoyable stay.
Many thanks,
Stephen Brower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley Kent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had a good sized clean room with a comfortable bed. The room was nice and quiet vith views of the sea, a little restricted by the large number of trees in the grounds. The grounds were large and shady with interesting rare trees and secluded spots to sit and relax. There were plenty of sun beds on the beach although not a lot of sand, the beds were extreemly close to the water. There was a beach bar that served drinks and food, with plenty of tables to sit and enjoy a meal.
The Hotel staff were first class, very helpful and polite. One evening there were toasted marsh mallows and live music provided on the beach to see the sun go down, at no charge .
I enjoyed my stay there and would certainly go again.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have a balcony that overlooks the sea but the large number of trees growing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Jackhollands20,
Thank you for your recent visit to the Hilton Key Largo Resort. Your generous praise for our staff is much appreciated. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our beachside 'campfire' with live music and 'smores'! Our tropical nature trails and beach area offer a little escape from the busy city life. I am pleased you enjoyed your getaway and were able to enjoy the serene grounds and water. We are happy that you had time to relax and enjoy the 'Keys Life'.
Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely surprise of a property. For the Keys, this is upscale. For a Hilton, it is a motor lodge that was remade with a ton of high-end materials. Sounds quirky? Well, you are in the Keys... First, the beach. There is one. And it's intimate and unusual -- with fig trees sprinkled throughout, pathways, many chaise chairs, and soft sand. The landscaping is beautiful in a Keys sort of way, and the beach was super clean. The water view from our room 252 was gorgeous -- you could hear the waves lapping as we sat on the balcony and viewed the stunning turquoise bay waters. Captain Joyce was our guide of the Mangrove Islands right across the bay -- do not miss this! One of the best tours we have ever experienced. She works with the on-site water sports company. The resort fee besides Internet, etc., includes fishing poles; get some squid from the gift shop and catch some fish off the long beautiful pier. The swim pools are great with waterfalls and jacuzzi and bar. It was on the other side of the hotel from our room and not on the beach, but we loved hanging out there anyway. The staff were helpful. Note: everything pretty much shuts down at 10pm. No late night food or drinks. Sleepy and relaxing. We are going to take the kids with us this Christmas.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Saltkettle,
So happy to read that you really enjoyed the visit to the Hilton Key Largo Resort. Although our property may not be as upscale as some seasoned travelers would like, I am glad you were able to enjoy the beauty of the majestic waters and white sand beaches. The local waters offer many opportunities to explore the natural tranquility found in the Florida Keys. We look forward to your next visit with your family during the upcoming Christmas. We will be having many activities during this period and hope this enhances your family getaway.
Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Key Largo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.