We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Key Largo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Key Largo Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Key Largo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fall Rates from $159
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Richmond, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked our room for my sisters wedding, just average. Grounds were nice, beach and pool were very shady, too cool for most of the trip. Room was clean, but air conditioning unit was very loud, and our bay view room was blocked by the trees. Food and restaurants were really expensive $18.95 for the breakfast buffet plus tax and tip. Too pricey for a family of 4 for the week. Housekeeping was very prompt in bringing us what we needed and maintenance was very quick to respond when we blew a fuse in our room. Wedding venue was very nice and the food was very good. Staff was very friendly. And the woman who ran the kids activities at the beach and pool, didn't catch her name, was awesome with the kids, my daughter really loved her activities. Scout About Program was fun too! Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear 357rwdh,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us especially for such a special occasion. I am sorry that you found the time of the year with the amount of sun to have possibly provided to much shade but also very happy that you did enjoy the grounds and offerings especially the kids activities and Lisa our activity manager.

We hope we can see you back again from Michigan.

Best,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    672
    383
    211
    117
See reviews for
634
907
32
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 for about a week, and were very pleased. Because we checked in at the first of the week, and the place wasn't too busy we were upgraded to the ocean side at no cost. The service at the front desk is amazing. The room was clean, and the view beautiful. Also the pools here are very nice.

The beach was not bad, they had lots of sand brought it. The only thing we were surprised at was that you pay an additional $18/per day (I believe it was) as a resort fee. This was not mentioned when we booked.

Room Tip: Book ocean side so you're not looking at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Kelda H,

Thank you so much for your recent review and staying with us in Key Largo. We are so happy that you had a great experience from our staff and that you found the property to be nice. We hope the next time you come back from Canada that you will give us another opportunity to wow you.

Best Regards,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Hilton has a beautiful little gem here in Key Largo. I have been vacationing in the Florida Keys for years, and this is my favorite stop yet. From our first stop at cozy hot tub which felt very private and cozy to the beach which felt like our own, the vibe was exactly what we wanted. Total relaxation. The staff was incredibly friendly and when we they found out it was our honeymoon they brought us strawberries and champagne. Stay classy Hilton and thanks again.

Room Tip: we upgraded to ocean view balcony, totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Rshulman,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your positive feedback. We couldn't agree more about the fact that we have a gem compared to our competitors in the upper keys and love being able to make memorable stays for guests like you.

We look forward to having you back with many more anniversary trips!

Best travels,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We are Hilton Gold Elite members, so this will tell you we travel a lot and always use Hilton. We are here using points. The hotel is in major need of upgrading. Our room looks out at trees, it has a very old decor and smells musty. Even the sink is cracked in the bathroom but all these issues we will take up with Hilton. We called immediately down to the office to see if we could get another room but everything is full. There was a wedding here yesterday so everything was changed around for it. The bar ran out of what we drink and there was no effort at all to find or get another bottle of Maker's Mark. This place could be a diamond but right now it is a little rough. IF...we come back, we will only stay in a room with water views. The trees and lack of sun are causing this musty smell because sun never hits this room. Key Largo is like being in the carribean....take it slow mon and don't worry about a thing, right? That's what you need to do here!

Room Tip: ask for water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear loveagoodmeal,

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel and I appreciate your honesty. We look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room is an area we are actively examining. We're working with various other teams to ensure we're doing all we can to provide a great guest experience. Part of that service is anticipating guest needs and exceeding expectations. I'm terribly sorry we fell short of offering you that. I apologize for the disappointment and I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. We hope you will come back and give us another chance.

Kind regards,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York, United States
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I want to start my review by saying that I really enjoyed our stay in the Hilton Key Largo, but it is far from being worthy of being called a resort. It does not offer very good amenities, the rooms are like a motel (a clean, comfortable motel), they don't upgrade you even though they have the room, so don't expect to be treated as if you mattered - you'll be treated kindly, with respect, but not extraordinarily well as you would in many 5 star resorts who try to lure you into coming back again by upgrading you whenever possible. The beach there however is the very best one I saw in the Keys - I know this will be disappointing for some readers. It is the clearest, nicest, calmest water and best quality sand. And we went to many beaches, including Bahia Honda State Park beaches and Key West. It is a small beach though. The rooms are clean, as are the bathrooms, you get good quality shower products, a shower cap and a hair dryer in your closet. There was no full length mirror (that always upsets me), and their pool is very small. The hotel looks much nicer at night than during the day. During the day it's like you're back in the 1960's. The food at the bar by the beach was very good, but simple (finger foods and sandwiches as well as some salads). I tried their fish sandwich and it was amazing. The waitress there was super friendly as well. Their squirrels take food right off your hands and at times let you pet them. There are plenty of activities (such as jet skiing, paddle boarding and kayaking) that you can do right there at the hotel beach. It's a great choice for the price. But again, expect to carry your own luggage to your outdated room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Camilla M,

We're so glad we had the privilege of serving you and appreciate your feedback. We always love hearing from our guests because it lets us know what we're doing right and how we can improve. It's nice to know that you enjoyed our white sandy beach location and it's the best one in Key West. We've shared your feedback about the fish sandwich with our culinary team so we can keep this as a suggestion for other guests and we will continue to explore other offerings outside of finger foods. We'll also keep your additional comments in mind as we continuously work to improve our guests' satisfaction. We hope you will consider staying with us again and experiencing the quality service and surroundings you deserve, should you return to the area in the future.

Warm regards,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We returned to this property for a long weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday. This place is unique. It's a quiet place with lots of spots to read, relax or float in the bay. Two pools as well (one reserved for adults). There's also a watersports facility on property if you're interested in getting out on the water. The staff are very nice (especially Lianna). We will definitely return again. A great place for families with small children. John Pennekamp State Park is nearby and worth a trip.

Room Tip: High rooms have a view over the canopy, lower rooms are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Rjsooley,

Thank you for your positive feedback and your recent stay with us. We couldn't agree more with your comments and hope that we can provide that type of experience for you again in the future!

Best Regards,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I've traveled to many hotels. This one was average. It was like a glorified Holiday Inn. Rooms are entered through outside and room furniture was worn out and needed refreshing of carpet, paint, and furniture. Cell phone service was difficult to get and hotel wifi wasn't working well. The restaurant was expensive for a very small choice of breakfast buffet.

On to the positives! It was clean even though it was worn out in the rooms. The grounds had lush vegetation that was well kept. It is meant to be overgrown and has nice paths through the foliage. It is in a beautiful, preserve style location on a clear blue lagoon where you can sit, swim, have a drink at the bar, watch the sunset, play ping pong, and listen to music from the speakers. There were many on site activities and a beach bar! The pool area was gorgeous and had one for adults and one for families. The lobby was also beautiful.

Overall, with a little room refreshing and some new beach and pool towels (they were old), a fixed up beach bar area, more attractions in the common areas (coffee and water should always be available in the lobby), and more decor in the common areas (it was kind of bare and had an empty feeling), then it could be much more than it is right now.

I wouldn't stay here agin unless the beach bar was nice and new, the rooms were refreshed, and the place was spruced up a bit. Then it would be worth the $220 I spent to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ_Cronberg, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear TravelWell954,

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your honesty. We look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room is an area we are actively examining. Your feedback will be shared with our ownership as we examine how we can continue to try and enhance our guests experiences.

Best Regards,
Russ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Key Largo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.