We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Hilton lacking in Keys Character” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Key Largo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Key Largo Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Key Largo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Rates from $129
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Faded Hilton lacking in Keys Character”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Most of the good things others have said are true. We have a suite on the 4th floor overlooking the bay above the trees and its lovely to be here thats for sure, yet for a Hilton "resort" it lacks something. The word "resort" is somehow a special word to be used carefully and while this hotel is undoubtedly good for the keys it is not by any means of the best resort standard.

Hilton need to spend a few million dollars lifting this property. Our room has had money spent. The bath it nice, there is a separate shower, and plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids, however it was clearly not cared for by staff. Signs were faded and old, paint was chipped and dirty and it was clear that housekeeping clean rooms here but management never reviews or supervises or pays much attention to overall condition.

HHONORS

As Hilton Gold we always expect something special from Hilton particularly when we are here as now with the famiiy. Treatment of HHONORS gold at this hotel is not great. It requires arguement and confrontation which detracts from the stress free vacation that staying at a resort should be. This hotel provides continental breakfast for 2, despite there being 4 people in the room. Upgrade to a full breakfast is $5 a head. I used two vouchers for todays breakfast and will go local tomorrow morning. We were given bottles of water at reception to take to the room and after an arguement with reception, the crazy resort charge was waived totally.

Breakfast

My son had a nice Omelette freshly made which he says was excellent however the buffet breakfast is lacking in choices and mediocre compared to most other Hiltons and not befitting of a resort charging $20 for breakfast. What made it so bad? It is personal preferences but there was no cold meats or cheeses, no berries, no salmon, no freshly baked bread, no waffles, no expresso or cappucino... Come on Hilton you have a lovely location and this breakfast was one up from a free breakfast at the Holiday Inn Express!

Internet

Of course the internet is an essential these days and as HHONORS gold my internet was free, however I am downstairs in the public areas using WIFI to write this review because the internet in the rooms is very weak and pretty much non existant most of the time. If I was paying for this internet access I would demand a refund because the service is so bad.

Overall this is a good hotel despite my comments but like many American hotels it does not set standards and in my opinion does not do justice to its wonderful location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Floridadream2011,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback regarding our property. We appreciate all feedback whether it is positive or constructive and yours has been heard. Our ownership is currently reviewing options for renovation plans/ideas that we may hope to have happen in the next year or two. Your other feedback will definitely be shared with our other management to make sure that our staff provides all of our guests but especially our Hilton Honors members the best service and product we can.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have you visit our wonderful paradise again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    709
    414
    225
    119
See reviews for
663
974
37
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a wonderful visit at the Hilton Key Largo. The view from our fourth floor room was panoramic. The Florida Bay and Everglades as far as the eye could see. We saw the most incredibles sunsets ever...right from our room. The staff was very helpful in every area. We enjoyed the pool and spa area and especially enjoyed the watersports at North beach (see the review for Caribbean Watersports). We were greeted with a welcome letter that immediately explained the drawbacks of being in such a peaceful and secluded location: spotty cell phone and wi-fi coverage. We found that to be true and lowered our "plugged in" expectations. The wi-fi is better closer to the lobby, and if you have to get on the internet there are terminals available. At check out, the resort fee was removed from our bill. I don't know if it was because of the wi-fi (I had expressed my concerns on the second day) or due to my HHonors status. Either way, it was completely unexpected and appreciated. We couldn't be happier and hope to go back again and again.

Room Tip: Third and fourth floor are the best bay view rooms in the south wing where we stayed. Below that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Cainmac,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you were able to enjoy those amazing sunsets and all that our wonderful property has to offer including the wonderful Hilton Spirit that all of our staff present.

We hope the next time you are in the area you will again choose us and hope to see you back again soon!

Best Travels,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

For one who is used to the luxury which usually is Hilton Resorts, it may be abit of a let down. The hotel is farly old and the room we stayed in has clearly seen better days. Old carpets, unconveniently put power outlets, extremely loud ac, etc. But everything worked and it was clean.
The staff was nice, the poolboy gave out free popstickels and helped out with chairs and towels, receptionists were also nice and helpful and, with the exception of the first day, the cleaningstaff did their job.
The property was really charming, especially the beach, unfortunuately the sun didnt get there before the afternoon. The pool had sun in the morning, but the waterfall which was there to cover the sound from the road was really annoying. We stayed by the pool for max 2hrs a day, our ears couldnt take more. We did rent a Hobie Cat (2hrs/86USD) at the beach, propably the nicest thing we did at the hotel.
We didnt try the restaurant because of the bad reviews, high prices and we didnt really see anything we liked on the menu, but there are a few good restaurants only a few minutes drive away (like Mrs. Macs and Snappers).
Having said that, we paid a fairly discounted price, so some letdowns were expected.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Fredde86,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Feedback whether it is positive or constructive is the only way we can celebrate our successes or correct or our challenges. Although you felt a little let down from your other experiences I am glad that you were able to pull the positives of a clean and comfortable room with a very unique and calm setting with our wonderful beach.

We hope the next time you are in the area you will again choose us and hope to see you back again soon!

Best Travels,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekero, Sweden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice resort not to far from Miami. Only thing is that the highway disturbs the Peace on high traffic times, like between 4-5 pm. Rooms are ok, but make sure u order 3 or better 4th floor for a splendid sea view. Very nice staff, helping and funny to have a chat with. I'll be back !!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Qurt,

Thank you so much for your great feedback about our hotel and our staff. I couldn't agree more that we have a wonderful property with breath taking views and an amazing team of hospitable people here to serve our guests.

Best travels and hopefully we will see you back again soon!

Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville fl
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

To start this resort is stunning, the grounds are beautiful and well kept, the pools are fun, the beach areas are fantastic and the best part the resort is so PEACEFUL. Having stayed in 100s of hotels this hotel was the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in. My family rented a jet ski for a half hour and found it reasonable at only 75 bucks for 3 people. After traveling down from miami it was nice to recieve such a personal check in at this hotel. This hotel would truly be perfect if it werent for the restaraunt situation. Upon check in we were given a coupon for half off our meal if we ate at the bar. The hostess at the restaraunt told us since we had children we had to sit on the patio which was fine except for the fact that people all around us for smoking and that my 12 year old son has very bad asthma so this wouldnt work. We ask the hostess if we could sit in the restaraunt and were given a very stern NO. There is also only one choice for eating breakfast in the morning and it too is very expensive. Even though we had poor service at the restaraunt we still LOVED this resort and I would reccomend it to anyone.

Room Tip: corner rooms have large balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear jaxfl32224,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your last stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay even though our restaurant did not live up to your expectations. Please know that we are very sorry about your experience and all of your feedback has been passed along for swift action by our Food and Beverage Management.

I am sincerely happy that our staff and wonderful property helped overshadow that one experience.

We hope to see you back from Jacksonville soon!

Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Beautiful Resort and extremely friendly and helpful staff. The view was one of the best I've seen, from the rooms and was amazing to sit down by the water that is crystal clear. It was easy to find and makes you feel so secluded and relaxed. Very well kept property and vary clean. Wonderful beach access. And again Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Hunter841,

Thank you so much for your recent stay with our property and feedback. We couldn't agree more about those views and sunsets, they are simply amazing!

We hope to see you back again soon the next time you are in the keys.

Best Travels,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosen, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in early December. What a wonderful experience! The private beach has both open, sandy areas as well as secluded groves where you can relax undisturbed. Perhaps we were there at an off-peak time, but the beach, pool, & restaurant were never crowded at all (except as noted, below). One evening we spent about a half hour alone in the hot tub & pool area. I've never seen friendlier squirrels. One of them carried on a conversation nose-to-nose with my wife. One evening, hotel staff built a fire on the beach and provided all the fixins for s'mores. With live music playing in the background, it was perfect! (well, the music was mediocre, but give them credit for doing it). I would happily give them 5 stars except for 1 thing - they reserve areas of the resort for private parties, during which time the guests are prohibited from entering. During our 2-night stay they closed both the pool area and the tennis courts at certain times. I understand the commercial reason for doing this, but if a guest's stay coincides with one of these "reserved times," you're just out of luck. What's the point of staying at a resort if you can't use the facilities? They have an on-site watersports provider, with sailboats, parasailing, waverunners, etc. It's convenient, but a bit more expensive than off-site operators.

Room Tip: select the 4th floor to get a view above the canopy of the trees. One side is bay view, the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Blemon,

Thank you for your outstanding review and we are so glad that we are your favorite in Key Largo!

As for your comment about blocking of space you are absolutely correct and we will continue to monitor and address to make sure we make the least impact for our guests. The weekend you were in, we actually had a resort buyout from a company for their holiday party but at the last minute they released a few of their rooms which opened them for guests like yourself. This is why they had reserved so much of the facilities as we usually would not do this but can definitely understand your feedback.

Thank you again for staying and we do hope to see you back again soon!

Best,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Key Largo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.