We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel let down by the view !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Key Largo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Key Largo Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Key Largo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Rates from $129
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel let down by the view !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Lovely hotel set on the bayside, what a stunning beach. Plenty of water sports, deck chairs in the water, wild dolphins showing off, small jetty ideal for strolling along, fishing and feeding the pelicans with your catch !
Breakfast out on the balcony was something else, lovely service from very helpful staff although we felt they were always looking for a tip even for just saying hello?
All in all I can't think of any better place to chill out, oh and don't forget to check out the pool area with its own waterfall and hot tub.
The only downside was our Balcony view.... the car park !

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a bayside view when you book, the car park is a bit boring lol !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Seamus B,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to chill out with us. We are glad that you were able to understand the tranquility of the keys and the vibe that our property is going for.

We hope to see you back in the near future!

Best,
Russ Cronberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    704
    411
    224
    119
See reviews for
661
967
37
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is very beautiful down to the rooms with the living room area, the private balconies and also the private beach attached to the back of the hotel. We had a little section of the beach with hammocks and beach chairs in the water it was very calm and peaceful. The staff was not very helpful, i didnt bother with them much, they didnt seem like they wanted to be at work that day

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear UJDJ22,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so happy that you found our resort to be a nice and relaxing location for you. I am very sorry however that you felt our staff to be indifferent as that should never be the case and something we pride ourselves on. Believe me this will be addressed and we do hope that you will come back again in the near future to experience our piece of tranquility!

Best,
Russ Cronberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A very pretty property but some things to keep in mind. During our visit in early December, the sun doesn't really hit the beach until mid- late afternoon, and only a small part gets it due to the trees and building. I'm sure it is different during summer months. The pool had lots of sun, but the loud waterfall (to drown out road noise) wasn't too relaxing...just a design issue. The pool wasn't heated enough to make me want to swim in it. Very chilly. We had a suite, #428 the first night and enjoyed the wrap around balcony and large space. We moved to room 412 the 2nd night and loved the view but never had any sun on the balcony. Friendly staff, clean rooms and pretty grounds are the positives for this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Lindy123,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your constructive and positive feedback. We take all the feedback we receive and make sure to build off ot if whether it is positive or negative. Your points are valid and make sense as far as the sun goes during the winter months versus summer. We are sorry that the heated pool was not warm enough for you but can guarantee that it is heated to 82 degrees all the time for our guests.

We are glad you enjoyed the property and found it to be clean and well kept and hope the next time you are in the Keys that you will visit us again.

Best,
Russ Cronberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Loved to parasail on this place! The staff Cap Darell and Jordan where very kind and made us a great experience! The views where awesone! The water was really warn and the beach area very cool and chilling. Overall staff very friendly. There are a lot of activities to do in the each

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Jesustoledo23,

Thank you for taking time to write about your feedback with our resort and more specifically Captain Daryll and his team at Carribean Watersports. We are so happy you enjoyed your experiences and hope that you will be back again soon!

Best,
Russ Cronberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We've stayed in Key Largo twice before (at the Courtyard and the Hampton Inn) and much prefer it to Key West as it's quieter and less self-conscious. This time we decided to go more upmarket.

Check in was efficient but cold, and being told that I had to pay $14 a day for parking really annoyed me, and made me feel exploited for the whole of the following six days. Also, I was offered wifi for $13 a day (although the check-in clerk omitted to mention that it was free in the lobby area). I was then offered parking plus wifi for "only" $18 a day (which means that someone arriving by one of the public shuttle services or in someone else's car has to pay $13 for wifi whereas a car driver only has to pay $3). This charging extra for essentials is just an unpleasant rip-off; I can understand a parking charge where, say, the hotel has spaces in a public car park, but here at the Hilton I simply parked in their extensive grounds.

We had a third-floor room facing the sea over the treetops, but most sea-facing rooms on the lower floors simply look into the trees which line the shore. There was an artificial beach area, very pleasant with lots of chairs and sunbeds, but this being America, they had to play awful music all day long. Couldn't we please have a quiet stay at the beach.

We had an expensive and stale buffet breakfast one day, but didn't visit the restaurant for dinner; I was afraid they would want to charge extra for water or for use of a napkin.

Our room was large and comfortable with a balcony which, ludicrously, was "non-smoking"' though it was clear that many people ignored this. It seems that the USA has more prohibitions and "thou shalt not" notices than any other country I know, though, thankfully, liberty-minded Americans ignore most of these orders.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear UKperapatetic,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that the new Resort Charge was confusing and seemed like a rip off for you. We had heard many similar comments regarding our internet, parking, and several other charges that we had on the property and that is the main reason we consolodated costs in favor of the resort charge so that our guests felt more value for their money. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope that next time you’re in the area you will consider staying with us.

Warm regards,
Russ Cronberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGH POINT, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

After years of going to the Keys, this was the worst! Not only do you have to pay to park in their parking lot, they tried to overcharge for the room. The beach was also closed our entire stay due to maintenance, which we were not told about. The sound of Bobcats hauling sand went on all day! The employees were less to be desired. It's overpriced and not worth their name. We will go back to "local & charming" for future trips. The only positive about this place was the room being nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sherry W,

I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us and we appreciate your feedback. We will be sure to communicate any property construction to our guests and apologize for any inconvenience that our tree trimming may have caused you during your stay. We try to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay and I’m sharing your additional comments with our team for review. Please feel free to share any additional comments with us that would make for a better experience.

Warm regards,
Russ Cronberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This Hilton didn't seem as good as others we had stayed at merely because of the design of it. I is very open plan so noise travels not only along the open corridors but up and down the floors as well. This was particularly apparent when there was a ver noisy wedding party who kept us awake for a long time on two consecutive nights. Having Sid that Security did sort the problem out and the hotel staff couldn't have been more apologetic. The staff were vey pleasant and helpful throughout. The grounds were nice with a lovely trail and a jetty where you could watch the sun set. There wasn't a lot of sun on the small beach because of the trees but there was plenty if you wanted to lay by the pool. The hotel is very much into the environment which was lovely and the Enviro boat tour with Captain Joyce was a fantastic experience. Captain Joyce is extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the world around he and you can't but help share her enthusiasm. Rooms were clean and large but no sunshine on the balcony. Not sure I would return to this particular Hilton, just becaus of the design.

Room Tip: Room 340 was large but balcony was in the shade most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Divingbeauty,

Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience with us. I apologize for the noise inconvenience and have taken your feedback to our security team. We will look into additional options for neutralizing neighboring noise. I’m glad you enjoyed the beautiful scenery and that you were able to take advantage of our Everglades eco-tour. We hope that you reconsider staying with us again. Captain Joyce will be waiting.

Kind regards,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Key Largo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.