We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need an outdoor refresh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Key Largo Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Key Largo Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Key Largo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Rates from $179
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Need an outdoor refresh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Rooms are fine, not very modern but still good size and quality. The building is a bit old and the common area such as the bar and restaurant will benefit of a refurbishment. As well as the doors to the terrace, you can hear the sound of the sea quite well if you have a sea view room and if someone has light sleep maybe it can not be the ideal thing.
Beach is very small and water not amazing.. Let's say if you are looking for the caribbean sea go somewhere else. And Key islands are nothing special. Nothing around the hotel...
For the one having children, the hotel organizes some initiatives for them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Superanna80,

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your honesty. We look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room is an area we are actively examining. I’m also terribly sorry about the outside noises that disturbed your sleep. We’re working with our security team to come up with additional solutions to neutralize noise. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.

Warm Regards,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    520
    634
    372
    205
    112
See reviews for
584
855
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed at this property for two nights. Water view was fantastic, expecially during sunset. First night we were surprised by a firepit and "Smores" which we heated over the fire ourselves. Even though we are seniors I must say this property is great for those with kids. Plenty of water activity off the small north beach. The small south beach was way cool with lots of hidden locations among the many trees. Begging grey squirrels everywhere but not a problem.
The activities manager has been there for 27 years and has the enthusiasm and energy of a high school cheerleader.
When the wind blows across the water it can be rather cool this time of year but still better than North Illinois weather!
Pool area was secluded and away from wind with a great waterfalls. Kids pool seperated from adults pool by rock wall which was nice. Staff was very accomodating regarding where to visit and where to eat.

Room Tip: Higher floor looking over the forest of trees at the water is a must. The "Canopy" view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Kentdan1,

Reading your feedback definitely put a smile on all of our staff's face. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us especially your room and Lisa our Activities Director. We agree that she truly is an integral part of our success here.

We hope the next time you are in the area you will be back and I am sure Lisa will be waiting to help make your trip as memorable as possible!

Best,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel is right on the gulf. Very nice pool area (two separated pools, one adult only). Two small, but pretty, beaches (but then again the keys aren't known for their beaches). The kid's nature trail is a good activity for the young ones. Attentive and helpful staff. Not the newest hotel but the rooms are large and well maintained. The only annoyance I found was the additional parking fee, given that a car is about the only way to get there.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night a room with a beach view is worth the extra cost. The su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Steve R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your Waterview room and the rest of the property. In regards to your parking fee we did evaluate all of our extra charges/fees we had such as parking, internet, and others. We have decided to eliminate those fees in favor of a Resort Charge. We feel that this charge will give our guests much more value than the individual charges.

We hope the next time you are in the keys that we will get the opportunity to provide you with that same great stay again!

Best Regards,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hilton key largo for 4 nights and were pleasantly surprised! We booked an ocean view room and when we arrived we were on the 3rd floor with a room facing the ocean, but horrible view of treelines. We went to the front desk, told them our situation and were immediately placed in an beautiful 4th floor ocean view room! The rooms arent spectacular, (it is an older resort) but they are clean, comfortable and the 4th floor views are incredible! We have 2 young children that were very entertained by resort activities, the pool and even a campfire with smores! We were also thoroughly impressed with the courteous staff. The only downside was the $14/daily parking fee. This seemed a bit ridiculous, however our fees were removed because it was our anniversary. Overall, great resort!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Msray1,

Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback. Feedback whether it is positive or constructive is helpful to us in making our resort better for all of our guest. We are glad that you found all of the family activities to be fun and a perfect fit for your family. As for your one downfall of the parking fee we have taken much of our guests feedback and decided to eliminate several extra charges like parking and internet in favor of a resort charge. This resort charge is considerably smaller than all of those charges and we feel provides our guests much more value.

We hope the next time you are in the keys that we will get the opportunity to treat your family to another great trip!

Best Regards,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Very nice location with a small beach and bar overlooking the bay. Externally the building isn't particularly nice - concrete boxes - but the rooms are nicely done as is the pool area. Will definitely be making another visit with the family for some R&R but it's the sort of place you'd spend a few nights at rather than a longer time.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Avrhack,

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are glad you had a great time with our resort and truly hope the next time you do want some R&R that you will be back, even if it is only for a quick few days.

Best Regards,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were concerned about staying at this Hilton after reading some of the previous reviews about smoking from other guests. Fortunately this was not a problem and at check-in they made sure everyone knew about the non-smoking policy. There were only a couple of smoking rooms which were in the back of the hotel. We were able to enjoy the fresh sea air! Our room was very clean and the breakfast buffet was very good. You do need a car if you want to explore the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Pearson30,

Thank you so much for your recent trip to visit us and your feedback! We are so glad that you noticed our actions to ensure that our guests are aware of our policies for the enjoyment and comfort of all of our guests. We hope that you can come back to get another whiff of the fresh sea air the next time you make it to the keys!

Best Travels,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was a delightful surprise with a small but comfortable beach on the west side of the key. There are Hobi-cats, kayaks, jet skis and paddle boards to rent and separtate pool areas for adults and children. The rooms (all have balconies) are comfortable and quiet and well-appointed.Excursions (everglades and paragliding) are also available on site. I would go again and bring family. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms have a lovely view of the ocean and mangrove islands over the tree tops.Rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear ME24SH,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding our resort. We too think it is a small piece of heaven with the wonderful views, our fantastic (man-made) beach and all the wonderful activities for our guests to enjoy.

We can only hope that you will call upon us again the next time your travels bring you back to our little neck of the woods.

Best,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Key Largo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.