We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Key Largo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Key Largo Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Key Largo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Tunbridge Wells, kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We had a grand water view room very pleased with this room glad we payed the extra great view and a nice size. The guy who checked us in talked so quickly I had to keep asking him to repeat himself he was very uninterested in telling us where things where located in the hotel. So he didn't make us feel very welcome at all. The beach was very small looks a lot bigger on the photo swimming pool was cold. The guys in the restaurant who served breakfast where very pleasant.
Over all I wouldn't go back again a great shame. We stay a lot at the Hilton hotels and this was the first one I have anything bad to say.

Room Tip: Go for the grand water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Tazbun,

Thank you very much for your candid feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your waterview room but am very disappointed that the service you received was not what you had expected. We aim to make every guest interaction one which is memorable and inviting and I am sorry that we failed to provide you with that. I can guarantee that we have shared your feedback with our staff and will make those necessary improvements to do better next time.

Thank you again for your feedback and should you find yourself back in our area I hope you reconsider staying with us.

Best Regards,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    832
    463
    256
    135
See reviews for
772
1,138
42
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a great hotel! First off let me be frank. This is not a brand new Miami style hotel! It is an older property but it is kept clean and in good repair. The pool area is new and modern and features both a family and adult only pool. My only comment about that is some tourist do not read signs so there could be kids in either pool, no bother to me! There is a good sized outdoor whirlpool in between the two pools and a nice bar serving well priced drinks and snacks.

The room, I am a Hilton Diamond member so i was upgraded to a suite featuring a living room and dining area, wet bar, and balcony. The bedroom featured a king bed with ensuite whirlpool, walk in shower and three, yes three sinks! The slider from the bedroom connected to the large balcony. I was on the second floor so I could barely see the ocean but I could see the beach below. Room was serviced daily and kept very clean

The beach...as you may already know Key Largo does not have huge white sandy beaches. This hotel has trees right up to the ocean for most of the beach which allows for intimate settings. There is an area by the pier where they rent water toys and this is also where the largest part of the beach is. There is also a ping pong and cornhole area. The entire property is linked by a nature path.

We only ate breakfast and the view was amazing, the food was delish as well. It was free since I am a diamond member but I would gladly have paid for it.

Overall this is a great property if you are looking for a quiet place to relax, swim and wade in the ocean. If you are looking for nonstop entertainment then go to Fort Lauderdale or Miami.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear DJvand,

Wow! I couldn't describe our facilities any better and as a well traveled and well respected traveler that you are as a Diamond member I know that you have seen many other options to choose from.

Thank you so much for taking your time to write those positive attributes about our resort. So many times people take only the time to write their constructive feedback which we do appreciate but we also love the positive at the same time!

We can only hope the next time your travels take you here that we can be here again to wow you.

Best Travels,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I went parasailing over Key Largo with Captain Darrell and a crew member one early fall afternoon.

We were struck by how quickly we got out onto the water and in the air. Captain Darrell's safety explanation covered the bases without revealing too much about what was about to happen, which was key to maintaining the excitement level (and probably kept the nerves down, too). He had a few tricks up his sleeve to make the ride even more fun.

The crew pointed out natural features and wildlife on our way out, and they manned the boat and rigged us up smoothly and confidently. It was clear that they knew what they were doing, further relaxing us before takeoff.

Contacting the company on the phone for reservations was a challenge. We couldn't get through in the morning at the opening hour listed on the pamphlet we had. We stayed at the resort, however, so that wasn't an issue for us.

The location for this activity can't be beat! If you have a healthy heart and can sit down, you can parasail!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Daniel M,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort but more importantly with Carribean Watersports and Captain Daryll. We too agree their offerings, especially parasail are amazing! Your feedback has been shared with Daryll and his team and we thank you again.

Hopefully we'll see you back soon (maybe flying in the air again :) )

Best Regards,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We have stayes for 2 nights there with big family in one room-7 people and we found good deal on booking.com so we took the room and enjoy the stay: rooms are big and clean enough. The area of the hotel is really big and nice. Hotels beach is good enough,but personel seemed not very profesional-saleswomen at souvenirs shop was very rude to us when we asked for receipt, people at the reception was not the politest ones i have ever seen,bartender at the beach seems was simple guy,who knew only beer and water and did not knew what is the bloody mary;) On general-i was expecting better from Hilton hotel,but it was not really bad stay there and if somebody would ask will i come back there,i would answer thatore yes than no ;) By the way - when you will be thing about the price of stay in this hotel,you should add 14$ per night for parking and 12.99$ for wifi...frankly saying it was strange for me..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Maziuks,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and your feedback. Your feedback is very important to us as we continuously train and retrain with our staff to try and provide the best possible stay for each and every guest. I am sorry that it seems our service let you down from the Gift Shop, to the Front Desk, and the bars as that is simply unacceptable. We will take your feedback and share with those departments managers so that we can take action to make sure that our next guests do not feel that same way.

As for your comment regarding the incidental fees like Parking, Internet, etc. We have recently as of today November 19th implemented a Resort Charge of $18 per day which will include those two items which used to cost you $27 per day and we have also added a few additional amenities in that cost. Resort Charges are an industry standard and we felt it was a better value for our guests than charging for each item individually like you expressed.

We hope that in the future you will give us another try should your travels bring you back to the Keys.

Best,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is that it's on the beach. The rooms are quite dated as is the lobby. They charge for parking which i thought was bad considering its the hotels own car park. Its situated on a main road so you can't walk anywhere you have to drive. We found the guy on reception who checked us in quite rude. The bar staff were friendly. They charged for breakfast which we did'nt try so can't comment on that. The lifts i hated as they are quite small and oId so i did'nt use them much, we were on the top floor but i preferred to take the stairs. They also turn the lifts off at certain times so you can't use them which we found odd. I get the impression this is more of a stopover hotel if your going to and from Key West. We stayed for 3 nights which was more than enough. Would look to stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Hertfordshire-London,

Thank you very much for your candid feedback regarding your last stay. I am disappointed in your feedback regarding our service from our staff as that is one component that we very much can control and that we should aim to provide over the top service that our Hilton guests have come to expect. Your feedback has been heard and action will be taken and for that we are thankful to you.

We hope that in the future if you are traveling in the Keys you will give us another try even if it is for 1 night like you had said.

Best Travels,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were at the hotel for a wedding...and there was at least 2 other weddings that weekend so the hotel was booked pretty solid. Our room had a small problem with bugs (millipedes in our room) which was echoed by several others in our party. Also, the rooms are a bit dated and I found the bed to be uncomfortable. I couldn't seem to get a good night sleep. The hotel does allow pets which was great for several in our party.

The general manager who hosted the Saturday reception was great, and she remembered us the next day when she greeted us. Also the front desk staff was good. The manager of the pool area wasn't as helpful as he didn't know how to turn on the lights near the hot tub when it got dark and managed to shut down the hot tub for 20min by hitting the emergency stop switch.

Breakfast was tasty (we did the buffet which included an omlette or eggs whichever way you want, including poached) though the servers don't come around to refill drinks as often as I'd like. The gym is pretty good also.

I received discounted parking rates because of my HHonors status but was still a little disappointed as I usually get free parking when I'm traveling on my motorcycle.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 124, which has a partial water view. But you have a better view of the walking path...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear RamblingmanTN,

I want to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay. I am very happy that you were able to enjoy several things about the resort and at the same time am disappointed that we were not able to meet all of your expectations. Your comments about the rooms with the native milipedes and dated feel have been shared with our ownership and upper management and will be used as we look to continuously improve our product and service.

Thank you again so much for your feedback and we hope that if your travels bring you back to the Keys in the future that we can be a part of that trip.

Best,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just got back from our stay this afternoon. We were at the Hilton for 5 days. We were a little apprehensive about the stay based upon some reviews we had read....all I can say is that whoever wrote the reviews must not find anything good about some place special. We absolutely loved the stay. Hotel employees were very friendly and the resort was very nice. (you can tell it isn't brand new, but it is well maintained.) We stayed on the fourth floor in a suite (420) and "WOW" what a view from the room. The entire wall opens up (sliding glass doors) to a stunning view of the water. The room has a HUGE bathroom with three sinks, nice shower, BIG Jacuzzi tub and two flat screen TV's. I can't say enough about this place.....Well worth the money. It was quiet, peaceful and must of all gorgeous.
We spent one entire afternoon just sitting at the beach with our toes in the sand....nice experience.

They even took care of our parking because it was our anniversary!

Again, overall it was a VERY nice vacation.

Room Tip: Defiantly get a room with an ocean view. Teh parking lot was nice, but not to look at while staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Scott S,

Thank you so much your recent review and most of staying with us on such a special occasion. We are so happy that you decided to put your faith in us and are glad that we were able to deliver a wonderful experience. It was nice to see that you noticed how are we try to provide that wonderful Hilton experience, so thank you for that.

We hope that the next time you are in the Keys you will stop by and see us again!

Best Regards,
Russ Cronberg
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Key Largo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.