We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Key Largo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Key Largo Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Key Largo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Rates from $129
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
North West England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quiet Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in the middle of March it is a very quiet secluded place just off the road on the main highway down to Key West. IF YOU DONT HAVE A CAR THINK before going. The hotel was great, quiet and has its own beach one of the very few who have a beach. The sands are pure white and there is wave runners and para gliding. All very proffesionally run in an American way.
The first 2 floors are below the tree line and you are looking into a tropical forrest. The 3rd floor is above the tree line and the views are fantastic. The hotel is being refurbished at the end of the year. If you dont have a car you are going to be stuck. From the beach early in the morning the manatees are easy to see off the pontoons, walk to the end and sit down and be quiet. My wife and I went in spring brake and families from all over the US were there. The hotel is great the staff always do there best the hotel will be updated but it was great for us. Once up dated they will charge what they want because of the views. All the staff were the normal Hilton and cant do enough for you. I couldnt get my emails to work and they where so sorry I thought they would committ suicide and then I found it to be my fault. There is a bar on the beach food was great beer was good, people from New York to Texas. We went to eat at Mrs Macs it is living on old publicity but went to RIB DADDY'S if you want a steak or ribs this is the place to go. Louis form NY knows how to serve you. the food is FANTASTIC the ribs are the best. The kids if you have any can go on secure trails to find things. The breakfast are good with anything you want. This is a lovely little place where the staff work hard to make you love the place. It is a quiet place we really enjoyed it. Its a great old Hilton.

Room Tip: If you can go for the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    708
    413
    225
    119
See reviews for
663
972
37
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Key Largo is the largest of the Key islands and the one closest to the mainland. It is mostly rather urbanized, but as one goes south out of town one encounters a stretch of the highway with trees on both sides and on the median. Going southbound just past the mile 97 marker is the entrance to the Hilton Key Largo resort. The rooms all face towards the Gulf of Florida (the body of water between the Keys and the mainland), but the view is mostly blocked by the trees in most cases. This is truly a resort, with a nice private beach that has lounge chairs and a bar. there is a pier and multiple boating options. the waves are basically nonexistent. One feels that one is away at an uncrowded private oasis. There are swimming pools. We had a good breakfast in the restaurant.

Room Tip: You will probably pay extra for an unobstructed sea view. Otherwise, I think most of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Key Largo doesn't have a whole lot of options for hotels. That said, I enjoyed being in this hotel and preferred it to a lot of what I saw in Key West. I would recommend it. Yes, there was a small leak in the bathroom but it wasn't a huge deal. The food was decent. I would stay here again if I visited the Keys. Loved the beach. Small but not crowded. I had free internet access because of my Gold status with Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

THis was a good trip for the whole family. The water being so close allowed the 12 year old to go out and us sit on the balchoney and not worry. the little seek and find kept him busy and he made a few new friends. Fishing off of the Dock was nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Beautiful grounds with nature trail in back and a very nice pool area. The seperate "adults only" area of the pool was a nice treat. Felt we were treated very nicely because of status in Hilton Honors program with nice wine and cheese tasting.

Cons- rooms looking old, in serious need of updating. Drink cost of $12.00 each at the pool seemed to be excessive compared to other hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The room we stayed in had obviously not been updated in a while - the furniture in the room had seen better days and there were spots on the ceiling. Not what I expected from a Hilton property. But the overall resort was very nice. A few more lounge chairs on the beach would have been nice - arriving in mid-afternoon, they were all taken (or claimed by personal belongings, although the owners were nowhere to be seen). There are two beaches - one larger and one more secluded and smaller. The swimming area the larger beach was very nice - very sandy and you could go out quite a ways before hitting deeper water. A bar next to the beach made it easy to relax with a drink. While I didn't visit the secluded beach until sundown, it was a beautiful place to watch the sun set in early March - better than any sunset view I saw in Key West. For families or larger parties, there were also two pools - one adults only - and a hot tub. The restaurant has a gorgeous view of the water. We arrived early for dinner and ended up taking advantage of their half-price drinks and appetizers, as we weren't too hungry. My husband complained that the location of the restaurant wasn't well marked but the resort really isn't THAT big, so you definitely can find it if you want.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Went there again after a ten years hiatus -- still loved it. Hotel has this classic architecture of the fifties or sixties, a wonderful swimmable beach, a great view from the restaurant for sunsets, beautiful grounds, and a nice pool. Attentive staff is always a pleasant feature. Integration with the natural environment is very cleverly done and is a key aspectof the property.
The hotel was nearly full, yet the front desk manager took pains to make us visit and even waived the parking fee, when in fact she could easily have booked the rooms later on in the day.
Pricing is carefully pitched so as to deter springbreakers and the overall atmosphere is laid back yet classy. If you want your Key Largo experience natural, smooth and easygoing, this is the place.

Room Tip: Only smoking rooms were available, we checked how bad this could be, fortunately there was no smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Key Largo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.