We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Divers

Ocean Divers
522 Caribbean Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037
800-451-1113
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Scuba diving, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour company that offers daily dive and snorkel trips to the reefs and wrecks of Key Largo.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great overall experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just returned from Key Largo and can't say enough good things about Ocean Divers and their staff. They handled our booking online easily and conveniently, and Connie checked us in efficiently on our first day. Sean, Steve, Matt, and Tom were great divemasters and boat captains on our five days of diving and made it a safe and very enjoyable experience. We stayed just across the canal at the Key West Inn, so the dive shop was very conveniently located. The Ocean Divers boats were both large, well equipped and well maintained vessels. The price for diving and nitrox tanks were both very good. We came to Key Largo to dive the wrecks and had a great time! For inexperienced divers or those just wanting some nice, long and relaxing dives, the reefs dives are fantastic. This was our first time in Key Largo, but it won't be our last.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    29
    13
    12
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great deep and shallow diving trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently booked a package through Ocean Divers for diving and hotel accommodations (at Marina del Mar). The package was a great deal and made for a very convenient set up. The hotel is a short walk from the shop and boats on a canal. The dive shop was great to work with on the arrangements. The boats were some of the cleanest we've seen. The dive masters and captain were very knowledgable and professional. We were well prepped for each dive site. The dives are not time-based (just air remaining in tank) so there was no sense of rushing to get off the boat and into the water.

There was a great variety of dive sites. In three days, we were able to dive several reefs, the USCG Duane and the Speigle Grove. We also did a fantastic night dive on the French Ridge. We saw a large loggerhead turtle. It was great!

Bang for the buck -- the dive & hotel package was incredible. Nothing fancy; just a clean, convenient hotel a short walk from the shop and boats. We hope to do this again soon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weert, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

very friendly staff - the will help with anything (dive related :-) )
We were lucky because we were with only a few divers on a big boat.
Only disadvantage: too less time between the 2 dives

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“shallow reef diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went out for 2 days with Ocean Divers for shallow reef dives. Day one we hired a guide because it had been a while since we had gone out last. Actually this was my first time diving in this country...in other countries you are always taken with a guide. Most other countries don't allow unguided diving in their reefs because they are nationally preserved areas. Our guide, Lex, was great and guided us through everything from setting up our equipment to giving lunch suggestions afterwards! :) Our second day out we were on our own and did just fine.

The reef diving here is VERY colorful and was well worth it. We saw a nurse shark, goliath grouper, gigantic lobster, and spotted moray eels, along with tons of tropical fish and coral reef life.

The diving prices were very reasonable. We paid $550 for 2 days, 2 people, bc/regulator rental, and 1 guided tour. Very good deal.

They had cold water available in a cooler, pretzels between tanks, and orange slices for the trip back to shore.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I want to come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Weather was a bit rough but who can complain about the weather? Nice big boat, well run and well stocked. Regardless of your experience level you will feel comfortable diving with this outfit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Divers also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Ocean Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Divers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.