We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path, and worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwreck's Bar and Grill

Shipwreck's Bar and Grill
45 Garden Cove Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037
+1 305-453-3153
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 110 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Key Largo's Hidden Treasure! And the locals would like to keep it that way. Shipwrecks is located off the beaten path, on a deep water canal, on the ocean side. Come enjoy great food, good prices, and friendly staff in a relaxed atmosphere. Happy hour is everyday 4-6 pm when beer starts at $1. Seating is available inside, outside, or under the tiki. Locals, tourists, bikers, families, divers, and all other friendly people welcome!
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, and worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I recently visited Miami Beach area for a few days, and someone suggested we go snorkeling with Sail Fish Scuba in Key Largo. The tour was the most amazing snorkeling experience of my entire life and on the cover of the free disc of tour photos they give you, was a suggestion to visit Shipwrecks Bar & Grill for their $1 happy hour beer and to get some of the best tasting food anywhere in Key Largo. Chris & Jen Kerr the owners of Sail Fish Scuba were right! This was an awesome post-snorkeling dinner & drinks! We both had 3 beers each and split 3 items off the bar menu and our bill was under $30 including the tip we left for great service. Highly suggest if you are in the area, spend the afternoon as we did snorkeling with the best, and eating with the best!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    142
    25
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our kind of place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Way off the beaten path, but we'll worth it ! Very friendly service, great food and it may seem small to some people but very clean restrooms . This is my new favorite place to eat in key largo!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“So glad I noticed the sign!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We just left the Pilot House where we had a fantastic meal and we were heading back home but we were going to stop for a drink at Alabama Jacks. And I saw this old sign that said Bikers Welcome and when I told my husband he made a u turn. We followed some twist and turns in the road until we found Shipwrecks. A cute, Old Florida style place on the water. You can sit in or out. We didn't order food since we just ate but even the waitresses told us they loved the food there. So I hope we get to go back and have a meal. We sat at the bar and spoke with 2 of the waitresses there and they were both very nice. I really like the ambience and feel of the place and even on the bathrooms it says Pirates and Wenches.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, generous portions, cool atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Shipwreck's looks like the stereotypical south Florida seafood joint at a boat dock, but it really excels in many ways. The atmosphere is awesome; you can dine outside over the docks, in a screened-in patio, or inside. They have a great menu with more than just seafood, and several of the specials we saw looked great. The prices were reasonable, the service was good, and the food was well above average. It is a casual, fun, relaxed place with sports on many TVs. We would have eaten here more than once if our first visit wasn't on the night before we were headed home. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“We loved Shipwreck's!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were staying in Key Largo for a week last month and went to Shipwreck's for dinner three nights out of six!

The food, atmosphere and service were all fantastic. Our waitress (Cerrina) was brilliant - really friendly and the service was great. We totally pigged out on our first visit, not anticipating how big the portions would be!

The fish stuffed with crabcake with a butter sauce is a highlight, plus the pasta dishes on the nightly special menu - full of scallops, king prawns and other seafood. Key lime pie is obligatory - not as sweet as some other places, but still delicious.

The kids coloured in dollar bills and these were stapled to the rafters - they loved that.

The shabby/laid back décor is totally in keeping with the location. You must go to Shipwreck's if you are in Key Largo!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck's Bar and Grill also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Shipwreck's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwreck's Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.