We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Key Largo experience at a great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Kamp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Kamp
Save
You added Kings Kamp to your Saves list
103620 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“True Key Largo experience at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This campground / resort is a great place. Family owned and operated, RV sites are a great bargain. You basically can't stay anywhere like this in the keys without spending big bucks. I had a friend come down to meet us and spend the night in the hotel rooms. Clean, quiet, and the view says it all!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The park was. Jolt when smaller RVs were the norm. We have a 24 footer and it was a little tight getting in. 95% of the sites have permanent residents. Good news is that we got a spot right on the water. Bad. Was is that we were so tight to our neighbors that we couldn't extend our awning. A little more space would make it worth the $. We will look elsewhere next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We had our family stay in the cottage which was right on the water. It was wonderful to wake up and walk out on the screened in porch and have a cup of coffee and enjoy the sounds of nature. The nighttime sunset was gorgeous and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. What a bonus it was to just walk out onto our boat right in the marina and take it for a spin!!! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

It is not a first class resort, maybe a 2nd class. But it fits our needs nicely. The property is right next to Adams Cut for access to the reefs for diving and fishing. The ramp needs work, but is servicable. We RV, so don't use the bathrooms except to rinse off just before driving home after loading up the RV and boat. The waterfront location is wonderful. This is the Florida Keys. Campgrounds are tight. Sometimes the "Miami" folks stay up late on the weekends. That's why I wear earplugs (wherever I go). For Key Largo, the price is great and the dockage fee is a steal. We come here even when we don't bring the boat! We will be back many times.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at an apartment in King's Kamp at the beginning of May 2012. We made arrangements for a late check-in. We were told that the room would be open but no-one would be at the check-in desk. When we got there after mid-night, the room was locked based off the directions we were given. So, we had to get a different room for the night. We came back in the morning and were told that room was given to someone else and that a different apartment door was left open. However, they didn't call or leave us a note(anywhere) on the need to go to a different apartment. The apartment didn't include any kleenex or papertowels so if you plan on staying, make sure bring your own. The showers and laundry room the campground uses were right next to the apartment we rented. They are open 24 hours a day and so we were woken one night when there was a family using the laundry room around mid-night. Also, they don't tell you when you make reservations that there is a 4% surcharge for using credit cards.
I'm giving this an average rating because it fit our needs for having kitchen facilities in the area we needed. If we would have checked in earlier in the day, during normal business hours we could have avoided the situation and with the apartment and would have had time to get cash prior to our commitments, along with papertowels, etc. The loudness after hours however could not be avoided but there are apartments located away from the showers and laundry.

Room Tip: Request an apartment away from the laundry room and showers used by the rest of the campground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

There are many permanent residents, including a rental house on property. The RVs crammed together in every possible spot.

Only one bathroom per gender for entire campground. Only tent campers are supposed to use it, but everyone does. It makes for a long wait when an RVer is taking a shower and you cannot use the bathroom.

Absentee owners make for a noisy rabble after 10 for 2 out of 3 nights we were there.

Tent sites adequate, but located next to garbage bins.

Compared to the old American Outdoors campground, this place is a dump. I would not recommend this for anyone, especially not a tent camper.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Kings Kamp, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
It is unfortunate that this guest did not have a pleasant camping experience as thousands of others have had over the past 60 years that Kings Kamp has been in business. As the owner of Kings Kamp, it is disheartening to read such a review. Our family tries on a daily basis to offer camping and RV sites at a reasonable price, in a region of the country that is extremely expensive to operate. We do this by keeping our prices low and competitive, in an effort to offer the best Key Largo experience for the least amount of money. We recently spent over $50,000 installing two new ADA compliant bathrooms and over $300,000 constructing and installing a new sewage collection system.
All of our tent sites have a view of the wide open Bay front, which is not duplicated anywhere in Key Largo. Our garbage bins are enclosed by a 6’ tall privacy wood fence separating it from direct view.
We operate a few small hotel rooms, a rental cottage, one rental RV, RV Sites, both permanent and overnight, Tent sites and a marina, thus offering an amenity for most guests. We do not seek one type of guest, but a variety of visitors. It is upsetting to be referred to as a “dump”.
Please come to visit us and see for yourself what a beautiful piece of paradise Kings Kamp really is.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Kamp

Address: 103620 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RV Park, Tent Camping, 5 Hotel Rooms, 1 Rental RV, Bayfront Cottage ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Kamp Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.