We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shallow dive site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Molasses Reef

Molasses Reef
Key Largo, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Attractions in Key Largo
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two ships deliberately sunk in 1987 to provide artificial reefs for experienced divers.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great shallow dive site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The fish schools on Molasses Reef are varied and thick. The dive is easy and a great place for new divers and fantastic photo ops. 60 minute plus dives are not a problem since it is only 15-30' depth.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    74
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife visited sundivers and had the greatest time snorkling. The best moment on this trip was when we ran into a 5ft bullshark who was minding his buisness which made our trip special! We'll be back soon

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good location for beginning SCUBA divers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was my first non-class diving experience - and I loved it! I saw tons of fish and a green moray eel! The visibility wasn't amazing, but the waves were a little crazier than usual and I was told this isn't typical. I would go again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weert, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SUPER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A lot of fish - many species - Reefsharks - big tuna's - a sea-turtle - nice warm water 30C - only 10 m deep - so good visibility - all colours still clear

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lots of life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Molasses Reef. A very colorful and living dive site for scuba or skin diving, since it’s not too deep. From the moment you enter the water you start to see a lot of quite big fishes, like nurse and sand shark, barracudas, big groupers, angel fish and so on. I especially like the area near the light tower, but the place is very big and you can explore for a long time without repeating . There a lot of buoys to tie up, since you can’t anchor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molasses Reef also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Molasses Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molasses Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.