We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Stress Relieved if you stay here!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Key Largo House Boatel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Largo House Boatel
Save
You added Key Largo House Boatel to your Saves list
MM 103.5, next to Hideout Restaurant, Key Largo, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No Stress Relieved if you stay here!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed 2 nights last week. As soon as we got out of the car and walked around I wanted to leave! The boat was old, smelled,floors slanted, no dish towels, no hand towels in the bathroom. The water did not work at the bathroom sink, had to turn on the shower to wash hands. I woke up in the morning with some kind of bites all over my arms and legs! Cheap but find someplace else to stay!! We stayed on the Green Turtle in Key West for 3 days before and were spoiled!! Loved the place, Stock Island Marina was beautiful, the boat was stocked with everyting you could want and more, it was new and VERY clean! They even had a complimentary bottle of champagne with chilled glasses in the fridge when we arrived! If you can, drive the extra 2 hrs and stay there!!!

Room Tip: My best tip, Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theboatel, Manager at Key Largo House Boatel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
The bathroom sink works fine. The faucet is the type that you have to lift and then turn. I dont understand why she didnt brin it to our atention, we would have gladly showed her how it worked, and why she was using the shower curtain for a towel since there was a stack of towels set up on the living room table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    82
    15
    25
    32
See reviews for
84
72
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Booked a 3 night stay over phone. Room was nothing as described. Room smelled, room slanted since house boat was listing, mgr. Never present, only available over phone. After complaining mgr. Said he would only charge for one night since room originally booked was not available and the room we ended up in was nothing as described. When I went to office to get copy of bill the following morning, he was no where to be found. He did not answer his phone and the voice mail was full, so could not leave message. Waited 60 minutes for him to return... but he never did. After returning home, credit card was charged for 3 night s.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My Family and I stood this past Weekend at Key Largo Boatel we had a very pleasant stay there; We would really recommended for people to stay there it was an unforgetable experienced if you looking somewhere to stay in key largo please stay there very safe, clean, calm and nice location. Have a spetacular view and barbecue area with sand. My daughters left their DVD player there. He shipped it to us which he did not have to they are very honest thank you so much I cant wait to go back to them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My 13 year old grandson and I stayed on boat #1 for 3 nights in early Feb. 14. We loved it. The boat was seriously funky. Although there is evidence of recent professional level work on the dock and shore side utilities, the boat itself was a hodge podge of cartoonish repairs and barely functioning features that we found charming, but I can see where it would put others off. Still, it was clean, it had what we needed, and everything in it more or less worked. Also, it was about half the cost of other places we had seen on line. The major reason we picked it was that we wanted to stay somewhere that was not an overpriced, hermetically sealed room full of plastic, overlooking a parking lot with 24 hour lighting. On this, it delivered. You are right on the edge of the bay, the views are great, the kid could fish off the shore, and one of the local iguanas wandered across our deck. You can see the stars at night, and have your morning coffee outside while watching the sunrise over the water. There is a small restaurant right across the parking lot that serves breakfast and lunch, to what appears to be a mostly local crowd. The food is adequate, but the waitresses are so friendly you really don’t care what they serve you. You are next to a residential neighborhood, so there is no traffic noise, and the area is good for morning walks. The boats are very close together, if you end up next to some loud, inconsiderate jerks, that could ruin your visit, but while we were there our neighbors were quiet, friendly, and respectful of our space. We did not use the kayaks but there are some mangrove islands across the bay within easy paddling distance.
Yes, the lack of professional maintenance is very apparent, and if things like not having hand towels, walking on spongy floors and having to brush your teeth in the kitchen sink bother you, you will not like it here, at least on boat #1. None of that mattered to us. We wanted something unusual, with a connection to the landscape that not been run though the mind of a marketing consultant. This was the best we found, and we would gladly do it again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Good bang for your buck. Great location overall. Across the street from hideout restaurant, good eats. They have an all-u-can-eat fish fry on Friday nights with free beer which is very well worth it.
We stayed in unit 3. We had our own patio which included a grill and were steps away from a small sandy beach. The water is clear and the more adventurous would enjoy swimming. Room 3 was nice with a full sized bed along with a kitchenette-full sink, fridge & microwave. Cable tv, a/c & ceiling fan. Ok bathroom, shower pressure wasn't the best,but wasn't awful.... If ur seeking 5 star accommodations, this may not be it, but if u seek quiet, serenity in a convenient location, give this a try. George is a great guy who works very hard & knows a great deal about the area. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

cheap, yes...however, these are VERY old non-moving houseboats. For the price was OK, however, everything these people offer for rent (boats, kayaks, etc.) are JUNK. I would not use any of the equipment. We booked two nights in boat 4...wasn't too bad for the price, however, the floors were rotten, felt like you would fall through if you stepped too hard...and no water pressure in the shower, which, I suppose would be the case for a houseboat, but I didn't know. Stinky bathroom cuz it's carpet...ewwww. Worst part was the folks that stayed in the boat next to us were loud all night....the boats are SO close together...an arms length, really...but they would walk across our boat deck to get to the dock, which of course made our boat "rock" everytime they did this. So....if you party late into the night and don't mind that...it's really not bad. We booked two nights, but left after the first. Again...cheap stay, but very old facility with old untrustworthy equipment and rentals.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We checked in and within an hour we were ready to leave. Our mistake was to inspect the unit on arrival but it was too late for that because George had already left for the day and process the full payment BEFORE we arrived. We contacted him and requested a refund but he said the terms were clear no refunds however he did refund a small portion of the money. We left the next morning but we should have left right away because I barely slept all night. We first realized that the fridge didn't work and were told they would replace it in the morning. We then discovered that the door didn't lock from the inside. We were told that it had a padlock on the outside! The window going out to the back deck did not lock either. There were no facecloths or hand towels, and no dish towel however there was 2 bath towel and a bar of soap. There was no sink in the bathroom so the only place to brush you teeth was in the kitchen sink! There is no sofa or table in unit number 4 because they have stuck two single beds in the living room. The toaster only worked when you held the handle down. No kettle and the gas stove work without lighting it with a lighter and we weren't going to do that. We didn't shower there because we could see someone else's footprints in the shower floor. It wasn't the only thing the maid forgot to clean. The blinds in the kitchen were covered in food splatters. The door frames, walls and light switches looked like they had not been cleaned in a long time. We lit a candle to try to mask the smell of the place but the worse part was the smell coming from the hole behind the fridge. I bent down to put something on the table and I was along knocked out by the smell. The three steps going from the bedroom to main level are very dangerous. I missed the first tiny little step and fell. I was lucky to only have a mild sprain and was better after a few days. I am sure that George's insurance company would have something to say about the steps and also the walkway to the back deck which has no railing and electrical wiring. All in all the place is in very poor condition. I would not recommend this to anyone. We moved to the Key West Inn down the street which was clean.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key Largo House Boatel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Largo House Boatel

Address: MM 103.5, next to Hideout Restaurant, Key Largo, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Key Largo House Boatel Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Largo House Boatel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.