We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hampton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Key Largo

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Key Largo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Key Largo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   102400 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037 (Formerly Key Largo Resort at Manatee Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book Today
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Hudson, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hampton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Key Largo as a Halfway point when travelling from Key West to Miami. We were really excited about the Tiki Bar and the beach.

The employees were the typical friendly/helpful Hampton fare, and the room was the nicest of any Hampton we've stayed in yet (and we've stayed in a lot).

When we got down to the beach, the Tiki Bar was closed, which was pretty disappointing. However, as other reviewers have indicated, the sunset was AMAZING!

Since we were only staying the night as a stop off point, we didn't really get to take advantage of any fishing or other activities in the proximity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thnak You for spending your well valued time to leave us such a great review. We also would like to thank your for choosing the Hampton Inn Key Largo for you travel needs. Our Tiki Bar is conveniently located right in front of the beach for easy beach access. We are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and we would love to have you back!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manger
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    865
    496
    115
    43
    34
See reviews for
421
761
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We loved our stay at this hotel and only wished we could stay longer! As others have said our room was large and comfortable and very clean with a frig, micro, and wet bar and plenty of towels, etc. and I loved the sliding doors for air and access to outside. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and really worked to be sure we had a room just where we would be happiest and directed us to a good nearby "old Florida homey" restaurant (Mrs. Mac's I think)and even gave us a coupon to use there for a delicious Key Lime "Freeze" shake.. They have a well equipped fitness area and a guest laundry area in a separate building, but near the beach and pool and a nice little beach area on the bay that is well kept with lots of places to sit in either sun or shade and manatees come there regularly! We were glad to interact with one and then enjoy a lovely sunset there. We really hope to come back to Key Largo and this hotel again and stay longer as it appears there is lots nearby that we did not have time to take in this time, like the glass bottom boats to see the coral reef at very nearby John Pennecamp State Park.

Room Tip: Would recommend requesting to be on the first floor poolside as it was very easy to unload there fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank You for taking the time out to leave us such a nice review! We are happy that you chose the Hampton Inn for your travel needs! Our staff make sure to keep pleasant smiles on their faces and are very accomodating The large sliding glass doors are ideal for fresh air and easy outside access. We also really wish that you return to the Florida Keys so you can return to our hotel! Again Thank You for choosing the Hampton & Thanks for this great feedback!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have stayed here twice and each time it gets even better. They have a beach, tiki bar, great snorkling and manatees just hanging out in the little bay. Son even caught some snapper right off the beach. On the bay side so great sunsets also.

They have one of the biggest breakfasts areas I have seen at a Hampton and the spread is typical but very good. They do cookies throughout the day at the front desk. Very helpful there as well for places to eat and things to do.

Room Tip: Bottom floor has sliding glass doors that are helpful for us to dry our dive equipment. Don't t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank You for choosing the Hampton Inn, We really do appreciate the time taken out to leave us such a great review. Im pleased to hear that found joy in visiting our property. Fishing directly off our dock is a nice touch to our hotel. We do have fresh baked cookies every day!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our place! We would love to have you back!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is my second time staying at this hotel. I have to say, in two years it was actually even better than my first stay. The rooms are big and decorated so nice and tropical. They feel very exotic. All rooms have a balcony, ours overlooked the pool and the gulf. The grounds are lush and tropical and very pretty.

The pool is great, warm and heated to perfection. The small beach is nice and comfortable. Really relaxing. It was so nice to sit there and watch the sunset. On the weekends they have a little tiki hut and bar you can buy a drink and watch the sun go down. We really had no desire to leave this property and even ordered Pizza in one night.

They have a great workout facility. It is top notch, great machines and wights. It is in its own building overlooking the water. It was a better workout facility than I have seen in some 4 star properties.

Breakfast was alway good in the morning. Standard Hampton Inn.

The best part was the service. Everyone was so nice and helpful from the front desk to the breakfast attendents to housekeeping and even the grounds keepers were so friendly. It was really a pleasure to stay there.

The room had a fridge and a microwave as well as a dry sink and pleanty of storage space which we really appreciated. The beds were really comfortable. Everything was functioning, lights, air, toilet, shower etc.

We only stayed two nights as we traveled throughout the Keys and by far this was our favorite hotel and our favorite stay. Really...close to 4 star property disguised as a Hampton.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooing the grounds and not the parking lot side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank You for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us such a great review. We love to hear that you have returned to our property and that you liked our rooms. Our work out facility is conveniently located in the rear of our property. Our tiki bar serves nice drinks and delivery is only a call away, we have many delivery spots near our hotel. Again Thanks for taking the time out to leave this review we really do appreciate your feedback! Hope to see you AGAIN in the near future!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The true charm of this hotel is not visible from the front. We arrived and were warmly welcomed by Shaundra at the front desk. Our room was all ready for us and Shaundra was able to offer us suggestions as to sights to see and restaurants we might like to try. Our room was large, immaculate and offered all the amenities we could ask for. The room had sliding doors out to the grounds which backed onto a canal and the gulf. The property has a small beach with groomed sand and lounge chairs from which to watch for manatee or to enjoy the sunset. There is a heated pool which was warm and clean. I used the laundry facilities which were very efficient and inexpensive. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the security made us feel safe. The breakfast was varied and delicious. This was one of our nicest stays in Florida. I would like to again add how much Shaundra's enthusiasm and friendliness added to our stay by making us feel like valued guests. Thank you!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms on the north side of the hotel have sliding doors and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank You for taking the time out leave us such a nice review! Im glad you enjoyed your stay here with us! Our front desk staff are always very welcoming and helpful. Our laundry is designed to allow our guest to be able to get laundry done easily and cheap. Again we Thank You for your feedback! We hope to see you again!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Since we had just come from a ritzy hotel in Miami, we were not expecting much. What a wonderful surprise! The staff greeted us with smiles, warm chocolate chip cookies (my children were sold) and coffee in the lobby. When we laughingly related a story about the last hotel - my husband had forgotten his comb, so they referred him to the lobby's shop where the comb was $24- the Hampton staff immediately presented him with 2 complimentary combs, and asked if we needed any other sundries, which were also complimentary. What a difference!
The room was yet another nice surprise: more spacious and even more lovely than the 4 or 5-star hotel we had just come from. The beds were queen (finally, thank goodness!) and the room was very well appointed with a free mini-refrigerator and a microwave. Also, there was plenty of storage space and the 4 of us in one room never felt cramped. Everything was clean and well maintained.
The sliding doors led to a small outdoor patio- a really nice touch. A short walk led to the heated pool, but in all honesty, the pool area was nothing special and the pool towels were inconveniently kept in the lobby. But, beyond the pool, there was an adorable, relaxing tiki bar with a parrot named Mango that ate the button off my husband's shirt but absolutely charmed both of my children. Beyond the tiki bar was a small area of (probably man-made) beach with reclining lounge chairs to watch the famous Key Largo sunset.
Breakfast was above-average; on the days we were there, they served eggs, bacon, fresh waffles, bagels/breads, and cereal along with coffee and juice at the buffet. The dining area was spacious with beautiful decor; I'd like their decorator to do my whole house.
Location of this hotel seemed great: there was an extremely short drive to the state park (with glass-bottom boat tours, snorkeling tours, etc,) and very short drives to restaurants. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable regarding surrounding activities.
On the down side, the shower was very tricky to work; my children couldn't figure out how to work the temperature controls, and in all fairness the adults had a hard time of it, too. The door to the room had a 'trick' to close it on the way out that only my husband could figure out. And the tiny in-room coffee machine produced such awful coffee that I could not even drink it. This deprived me of my early morning 'watch-the-sun-rise with the 1st cup of coffee on the patio' scenario I had in my head of the quintessential Key Largo experience. Still, small beans when contemplating the whole experience.
This hotel is a little gem. I had never stayed in a Hampton Inn before, and although I may not return to Key Largo, I will now likely try out another Hampton Inn on my next vacation and hope I get the same experience. Should I ever have the opportunity to vacation in Key Largo again, I don't need to search for a hotel; this one was fabulous.

Room Tip: A view of the water is worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave such LOVELY review. We are always happy to hear that families love our place. As Hampton staff we try to make sure you always have the best value, wether thats with room rates or a comb!!!!! There is one thing I have to correct though, our rooms with two beds are not queen beds, they are full size beds. We do have spacious rooms where you wont have to be cluttered. We do hope you get the chance to venture to the Florida Keys again!!!!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed here on multiple occasions and every time i am happy I chose to stay here. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms clean and comfortable, and the staff very helpful and pleasant. I love relaxing on the beach and watching the wildlifethat live at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysBound0316, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to leave us such a sweet review. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff very pleasant and helpful. Here at Hampton we do strive for 100 percent guest satisfaction. We will belooking forward to seeing you in the future. And again thanks for taking the time to give us such great feedback!

Kindest Regards
Public Relations Manager
Kymone Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Key Largo

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo Hotel
Key Largo Hotel
Key Largo Resort Manatee Bay
Hotel Key Largo
Address: 102400 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037 (Formerly Key Largo Resort at Manatee Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Key Largo 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.