We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the $$$$” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayside Inn Key Largo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bayside Inn Key Largo to your Saves list
Bayside Inn Key Largo
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   99490 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the $$$$”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

For the amount of money we paid for a night, one would think they could afford to show the rooms some attention. Bathrooms need updating and are in the need of repair. The only redeeming quality was the restaurant next door and the clerk at check in was very kind and polite. Would we go back there again....most likely not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    164
    132
    144
    166
See reviews for
198
296
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were extremely dissatisfied with the conditions at Bayside Inn we departed early because the hotel conditions were not acceptable. I feel that I could easily ask for a full refund given the poor quality service and almost nonfunctional room we were given. They charge for the whole stay even if you leave early (probably had to make this policy because people arrive and realize they have made a huge mistake). I am in the process of trying to get a refund but so far no luck.

A brief list of things that were wrong with our stay:
1. Our check in clerk was not friendly (ignored us when we walked in) and mostly pointed out how we would be charged a bunch of extra fees if we broke or lost anything (which is laughable because almost everything in our room was already broken).
2. The bed in our room was broken and sagging in places.
3. The mini fridge in our room was so loud when it turns on that it disrupted our sleep both nights. It must be about to break.
4. When we arrived in our room there was a can of Lysol and a dirty rag sitting on the dresser in our room. Clearly, a careless housekeeper left it there.
5. The next day after the housekeeper visited our room there was a large black hair ball in the middle of the floor in our room. Your staff member at the front desk took a picture of it when we checked out. We were so grossed out by this thing! There was also general dustiness.
6. The shower in our room had no water pressure whatsoever. It was literally a trickle that would barely rinse soap off.
7. The TV was broken (colors not displaying properly, washed out picture) and had very few channels.
8. The fan in the bathroom roars like a lion but you have to have it on to have the light on. So annoying!!
9. No insulation or weather stripping on the door so you could hear EVERY noise outside.
10. The "view" they claim to have is a downright lie and the pictures of the rooms are very misleading.

After having all these bad things pile up on top of each other I made the decision to leave early. I tried to contact a manager in person to get a refund for the unused part of the stay before leaving but apparently they do not staff managers on Sundays. Either that or the front desk clerk was lying. I was told to call the next day. I called 4 times and was hung up on twice and told to call back later 2 other times. The front desk staff told me the managers leave at 3:00 PM and to call before then the next day. I called back 8 times the next day once at 8:30 am, another time at 9:30 and so on. I was never able to get through until the managers left for the day. Again.

THIS PLACE IS HORRIBLE AND HAS NO REDEEMING QUALITIES... not even the price. Not remotely worth it!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

The websites do not accurately reflect the state of the property. The rooms are furnished with left over crap from garage sales, the AC is loud, the property is not maintained, and I was afraid we'd get stuck in the elevator. The rooms look out over dumpsters. The "beach" is a boat ramp and a paved jetty. The free wifi signal quality is so low that it can't be connected to. We stayed long enough to find another place to stay after we realized we were duped. Then they wouldn't refund our money.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

On arrival at the hotel - which is not a hotel - just a block of rooms - the reception being across the carpark - we were shown a room. It was so filthy we asked to see another. "They are all the same" came the response. We did NOT stay. We could not have spelt there.
Having returned to the U.K I found that not only had the hotel taken advance payment from my credit card but had also taken payment on my cashcard on arrival. It has taken three months to get both payments refunded. Beware everyone. Check your statements.
There is no view - the "tropical gardens" hides a rubbish dump

Room Tip: always see the room before you accept it. The only rooms with seaview are the three rooms that over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the way down to marathon. The location is very good. The back off the hotel backs onto the water with a nice little pier. Next door is a fabulous restaurant called snooks which you get 10% discount. They had a live band at lunch time and also in the evening. The rooms are adequate but the shower is rubbish and so is the wifi in the rooms, you have to stand outside to get a signal.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Bayside inn is a normal motel which is costly(maybe because it was December). Bathroom was old but ok for quick shower. Room was clean. People stay in key largo so that a day visit to Key West is possible. But I will still try to be in key West B&B and walk around the city and head back to Miami. Key Largo is good in one way as it is midway to everglades. So if you have early airboat tour in Everglades, starting from Key Largo is good.

Anyways the breakfast at this hotel is terrible. No hot milk for cereals. Basically you have bagels and cream. Would like to stay in a better hotel, holiday inn is close by for fulfilling breakfast for a good day ahead.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a standard motel with the usual facilities. Additionally it has a small pool and picnic area and backs on to The Gulf with a couple of restaurant with outside seating and tiki bars. Basic breakfast is included but if this is not enough there is a Burger King right beside it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayside Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn Key Largo

Address: 99490 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayside Inn Key Largo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayside Inn Key largo is located on a beautiful stretch of the Florida Bay in the heart of Key Largo. We offer some of the Keys most stunning sunsets from our private beach overlooking the beautiful Florida Bay. Bayside Inn Key Largo Florida is near the dolphin swim, fishing charters, boating, kayaking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayside Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayside Inn Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.