We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Loved kayaking here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park

John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park
1025601 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
305-451-6300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 20 Attractions in Key Largo
Type: Beaches, National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, State Parks, Tours, Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Snorkeling, Scuba diving, Sunbathing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A beautiful state park that features land and undersea adventures.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing! Loved kayaking here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 NEW

What an amazing park! Our first visit to the park we walked along the beach. The beach is well kept, clean, with a lot of space to enjoy the sun and water. The glass bottom boat tour was incredible! We saw a lot of jellyfish, dozens of different types of colorful fish, and sea turtles. The coral reefs are also amazing! The public bathroom/shower rooms are well kept and clean. The gift shop offered everything you could need: towels, tshirts, sunscreen, snorkeling gear, etc. We also enjoyed kayaking through the mangroves, which was my favorite part of the park. Friendly, helpful staff. I will definitely visit here again!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    613
    228
    65
    33
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, IA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Glass bottom catamaran if it's too cool to snorkel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 NEW

I love snorkeling, but the cool temps this week made it less alluring, so I tried the glass bottom catamaran tour. Do it! I was able to keep my jacket on, but still see corals, sponges, LOTS of fish, and even a hawksbill turtle. The guide on board did a great job of telling us about whatever we happened to see at the moment. This isn't a canned presentation because she has to talk about whatever swims by, and she did a great job...another advantage over snorkeling. OH..and I followed the recommendation to purchase Dramamine on board before sailing. ($1) Cheapest insurance I ever bought!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
407 reviews 407 reviews
205 attraction reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
“A NATIONAL TREASURE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 NEW

I've snorkeled here, and I've scuba dived here. It's always an adventure. Lots of reef fish at times. The fish seem to have gotten used to human presence and don't just bolt when I swim close to them. The shallow water allows me lots of bottom time. I usually do a two-tank dive here. There are several local dive operators on the key. Night diving is exciting.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice! Pretty busy in December. It must be crazy crowded here when schools out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 NEW

Trails,swimming,kayaks,boat ramps, docks, showers, gifts and an aquarium. This place has it all! Transient boat slips for boats up to about 12 foot beam. $30.45 per day with electricity and water. This is a great place to stop and spend some time. $4.50 per person per day.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
“Great Camping ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We stayed for a week and I could have stayed longer. We enjoyed staying here as our first longer camping trip with our 23 ft trailer. We bring our motorcycle in the truck and there was room for everything without being crowded.

It was warm still, high 80's, so there were lots of mosquitoes but we didn't care and used bug spray. It is quiet and so much to do. It's close to everything with pizza, grocery and Kmart 2 miles away.

The sites are a bit smaller than some state parks but it is the keys! The sites are full service which is really nice too. There are s couple of little beaches where you have to wear water shoes. Kayaks and snorkeling equipment are all available for rent.

You have to book ahead because this is a very busy place as a rule.

We are headed back again for a few days before the Christmas holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.