We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent operation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park

John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park
1025601 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
305-451-6300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 20 Attractions in Key Largo
Type: Beaches, National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, State Parks, Tours, Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Snorkeling, Scuba diving, Sunbathing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A beautiful state park that features land and undersea adventures.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just returned from a few days diving at Key Largo. We tried the Pennekamp scuba for the first time and dove with them over two days. We were very impressed with the operation - very safe, knowledgeable and friendly. Will definitely dive with them the next time we are in the Keys.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    613
    228
    65
    33
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port St. Lucie
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wondrous water adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

loved the glass-bottomed boat tour-very informative. Snorkeling off the shore was fun for the grandkids. VERY glad we got wading shoes (Kmart best bargain) Shallows between the mangroves are very grassy and the shoes prevent gross-out.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Glass bottom boat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was one of the better glass bottom boats I've been on. We saw dolphins as well as lots of fish and coral. The guides were very knowledgeable and obviously liked what they were doing. The entire trip took about 2 1/2 hours, so probably would not have been as nice on a day with high seas. Check in advance as to the sea conditions.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Rude park ranger”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I visited the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park and found the park to be beautiful but the ranger staff rude and unhelpful. At closing on a Friday night in September, I requested for assistance in raising the parking gate to drive out of the park and the male park ranger was sarcastic, arrogant and unhelpful. I couldn't believe his attitude toward tourists.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not a good match for these beginners!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I were first-timers at snorkeling, and the snorkeling tour was not a good match for us. We are experienced boaters and skiers and thought we would enjoy the snorkeling adventure. We did enjoy the boat ride out to the site and chatting with the captain and first mate. However, once we got into the water, the waves were rougher than expected, and we had trouble with the equipment. My husband's life vest deflated unexpectedly, and we had adjustment problems with the snorkel equipment. Trying to deal with the big waves and the snorkel equipment proved to be very tiring. We did manage to see some of the reef but were disappointed in the colors. All of the park facilities were convenient.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRPCconcession, General Manager at John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
My name is Capt. Daryl D. Obenour, Vice President, of Coral Reef Park Company, Inc.

We are the licensed Concessionaire to offer the Water Sports, Food Service, and Retail Services within John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park.

I hope that you are able to visit us again, sometime soon, under different Snorkel Site Conditions. Each Snorkel Trip experience is unique and truly relates to the Snorkelers ability, prior experience, as well as the Snorkel Site Conditions.

We appreciate your input and patronage and hope that you are able to visit on a better day, to have a float and hover experience, which is most enjoyable for beginners.

The 2 1/2 hour Snorkel Tour is catered to the beginners and family groups.

So please remember, for the first time Park Patron / Snorkelers: The Snorkel Site Conditions are posted, right behind the Reservation Counter, for each participant to review. Once the Snorkel Boat Passenger has reviewed the Snorkel Site Conditions and are comfortable with them then the boarding pass is completed.

We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.