We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food a bit run down in the Bar area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sharkey's Pub & Galley Restaurant

Sharkey's Pub & Galley Restaurant
522 Caribbean Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037
305- 453-1905
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 103 Restaurants in Key Largo
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located on Port Largo Canal. The Galley upstairs offers Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner inside or outside on the patio. Over looks Sharkey's Pub downstairs. Both share the same menu's and Happy Hour. Sharkey's offers sports bar atmosphere and live music most nights. Menu features wide selection of seafood, steaks,wings, salads, and sandwiches. A friendly place for locals and tourists.
Key Largo, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome food a bit run down in the Bar area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Sharkey's is a practically an institution in Key Largo. The food is awesome (especially the key lime butter sauce). The balcony has a great view of the canal. The bar is a bit crusty, but a regular hang out for may locals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    194
    70
    36
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and a great place to meet the Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

On two levels the primary restaurant is upstairs, serving some very nice fish / seafood. Sitting right on the dock, it's very pleasant to watch the boat traffic / dive boats make their way in and out. Downstairs is a traditional Bar, still serves food from the restaurant but is more of a Bar than a restaurant. We found it very friendly and welcoming and extremely handy for a number of hotels in the area ( walking distance) laid back and unpretentious just like the majority of the keys. I would recommend it for those who don't want to be dressed up / formal, it's a come as you are place. Spot on.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great view, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Some of the best seafood you will ever eat. Fresh and super tasty. The conch fritters are some of the best I have ever eaten and the fish tacos satisfy and are a lot of food for the money. You can go from the dive boat to the restaurant and they don't care. Some nights they have a band. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A local spot with great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a primarily local spot with a bar on the lower level and a smaller bar and the restaurant on the second level.

The menu was extensive with primarily seafood items but some non-seafood dishes. Our food was good and the service was very friendly.

Prices are pretty reasonable and commensurate with other local places nearby.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, IL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good food, live music, laid-back place to hang out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were looking for something within walking distance of the Holiday Inn and found Sharkey's on Tripadvisor. Located right along the waterway, it provides a laid-back place to eat outside in a roofed area and listen to live music. I had the roast pork sandwich on brioche and I'd have to say it was the juiciest, most-tender roast pork sandwich I had ever had. My wife had the fish tacos and they were huge and delicious. Had onion rings with mine and those were great as well. The live music consisted of a very talented guitarist and singer with a good mix of older and newer songs. All-in-all, it was a good place to eat, BUT, we decided not to come back. Why? Nothing against the restaurant but when we got there someone seated around the corner was smoking a cheap cigar that just hung on the hot, humid air and got a little nauseating after a while. It was bad enough that we didn't want to take the chance of having to put up with it two nights in a row.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharkey's Pub & Galley Restaurant also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sharkey's Pub & Galley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharkey's Pub & Galley Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.