We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key Colony Inn

Key Colony Inn
700 W Ocean Drive, OS, 700 W. Ocean Dr., Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
(305) 743-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Florida Keys
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a good meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Inn is always good. Get the pecan rubbed salmon when they have it on special. The good is always great at a great price. The only down fall is the wine by the glass, the wines could be higher quality and temperature controled (the reds)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    108
    35
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mayville
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“christmas dinner buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

service was excellent--never a dirty plate or an empty water glass. price was $24.95, but worth it things were fresh, hot and clean house front end manager did a great job and live piano player nice background music. good variety, but was hoping for more fish as we are on vacation from Wisconsin.
Turkey was excellent and juicy, tuna awesome...all good and traditional

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC suburbs
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First Visit to Key Colony Inn Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We've been coming to the Keys for 35 years and this is the first time we've eaten here.
Service was very warm, from the person taking the reservations to the server to the bus person.

I had snapper smothered in fresh mushrooms and scallions in a light brown sauce. Very tasty and fish was cooked just right. My wife had grouper in a bernaise sauce which was also very nice with the fish cooked correctly. Dinner also included a fresh hot mini loaf of bread and salad (for me) and soup (for my wife). Sides we got with our dinners were new potatoes and angel hair pasta (choose that over spaghetti).

Two things to note: 1- between 5-6 there is an early bird at $13.95 (Dec. 2012) which includes wine or soft drink and key lime pie, a wonderful deal. Downside is depending upon the time of the year, you may miss a Keys sunset over the water. 2-place is hard to find at night for first timers, our GPS was off a bit. Go down the Causeway and make a right at the City Hall.

We will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“lots of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

a very comfortable restaurant with a large bar and a guitar singer. the largest grouper filet i have ever had, giant portions all around.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant for a wedding reception!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We held our daughter's wedding reception at the Inn with 155 guests. We wanted to keep all of the wedding activities local as the "bride and groom are locals". It was a destination wedding for over 100 of our guests. Mike, Event Coordinator, couldn't have been nicer or more efficient. He was reassuring during the whole planning process and offered some great suggestions! We received many compliments from our guests for our selection of the Inn for this great event. The tables were set up exactly as we had discussed and the room was so elegant with the "light bulb" lighting. The food was delicious, hot, and the presentation of the buffet was amazing. Mike did an amazing job supervising the staff during the event -- we really didn't even notice them -- it went that smoothly.

Thank you Key Colony Inn!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key Colony Inn also viewed

Key Colony Beach, Florida Keys
 
Key Colony Beach, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.