We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best vacation ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   351 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best vacation ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

All I can say is this is the place to stay when vacationing in the marathon area..The hotel staff is excellent...It's paradise...Key Colony is an excellent community. There are several places to eat so you don't ever have to leave if you just want to relax and not drive all over marathon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
We're happy to oblige! :) See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    47
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
80
85
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Loved this hotel. My husband and I went for a vacation for my 30th birthday and stayed in one of the double rooms (not a suite). It overlooked the parking lot so the view was nothing to write home about, but the room was clean and comfortable, and the bathrooms were nicely done. For those wondering, basic toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, soap) and hair dryer are provided. The only issue was that the water pressure was not so good, but it was enough to get the job done. The whole room had tile floor, which kept everything fresh and smelling clean. One suggestion - Wall hooks to hang personal towels or swim suits that need to dry would be nice to add. Maybe over by the main door would be a good spot.

The common areas of the hotel really made this place special. It had its own beautiful sandy beach complete with palm trees, cushy lounge chairs, tables, and umbrellas. There was a great view of the ocean. We saw many types of birds and even lizards out on the beach. Beach towels are available to use at the front desk - just return on your way back to your room. There was also a pool and hot tub area. The hot tub didn't appear to have a way to turn on the jets (that might still be a renovation in progress), but it was still nice to sit in and look at the stars in the evening. Pool toys such as noodles and various floaties are provided. There is a bar/restaurant called "Cabana Breezes" adjacent to the pool area, which had a nice selection of reasonably priced food and drinks. There was live music on Friday and Saturday when we were there. Apparently during certain hours, wait staff are available to bring refreshments to the pool/beach area if you put up a flag on your chair, but we didn't use that feature.

We didn't interact too much with the hotel staff, but they were nice and helpful. We went the first weekend in May - at that time the guest demographic seemed to be other couples and young families staying at the hotel. This was nice since we were able to sleep without late night noise, and fellow guests were respectful to the property (which meant it was clean).

Overall, a fantastic atmosphere. We will definitely stay here again if we come back to the keys.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
We really appreciate your detailed review as I am sure the readers do! It is truly our pleasure to serve and we are happy you had a good time. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This place is heaven on earth. The Hotel staff was very welcoming and professional. My husband and I went there May 12 thru May 15, 2014, to celebrate our anniversary and there was a bottle of delicious Sangria made by the Gluntz family in California, Chocolates from Key Largo, wine glasses, a beautiful card , and complimentary spa robes in our room upon our arrival. The staff went above and beyond in making our stay the best experience ever. God willing, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
It is our pleasure to have you and we also hope you are able to return. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

After lots of online research, with lots of overpriced places, I found Glunz. Funny name - amazing place - fantastic story! Terrific location mid-Keys, private beach, low-key town (as opposed to Key West or Largo), safe and special. The hotel is fabulous, newly renovated and "going green" with it's cooling/lighting/water, as well as practically everything is Made In America! Dig the bathrobe! My room was on the third floor and what a beautiful view - I liked that the walkway was communal in that there are no individual balconies which leads to nice interactions with other guests, all of whom were calm, quiet and relaxed. Restaurant right next door convenient and really good! Have the grouper! Big shout out to the staff who are attentive, pleasant and helpful. Whenever I'm back in The Keys, this is where I'll stay.

Room Tip: Guests with children might appreciate the ground floor rooms which walk right out onto the beach or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
We're thrilled that you had such a great visit and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

There are no words to describe how are stay was, when we checked in the receptionist wished us a Happy Anniversary (as we were celebrating our 5 years). They also gave us a card and chocolates in our room. Everyone was very helpful and very willing to help with everything from where to eat to what to watch out for. They also clean the beach off with a tractor every morning. We will definatly be back and tell everyone we know to stay at Glunz Beach Hotel. I gave breakfast an average score on accident, they do not serve breakfast but i believe the resturant next door does.

Room Tip: stay in room 204 it has a great view to sit out in the morning and drink your coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and we are glad you chose to spend your anniversary here. Hope we'll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Glunz Ocean hotel in Key Colony Beach. The impression of the town is one of the best on the keys. The small town is neat and tidy. The City Marathon is close with supermarkets etc.

The hotel rooms are equipped with all necessary equipment, like fridge, coffee machine etc.
There is a mysterious smell in the room, but it is ok, most probably this is because of their cleaner.

We had trouble with our safe (battery was empty and our valuables were inside) but this was fixed quickly by the hotel staff. Nice service.

The beach is amazing. Very close and almost not overcrowded. In general is the size of the hotel perfect.

Airport for air activities is in Marathon.

We recommend this hotel, but be careful with the restaurant (Cabana Breezes, please see my own review for that)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We truly appreciate your business and all comments, good or not so good. It helps us to keep improving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billings,mt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We just returned from a three night stay in an ocean front suite. We loved the view and the laid back atmosphere. Having the pool right by the ocean is a special treat. This place is very clean and you can tell they take pride in their building and cater to their guests. Having a full kitchen was handy and we felt there was plenty of room for us to spread out. We will definately return.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Montana is a long way from here; we're happy you found us! Thank you for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: 351 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Key Colony Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful newly renovated beach hotel. This Key Colony Beach hotel is on an island, nestled on a private sand beach and within easy reach of area attractions such as Conch Air, Island Hoppers Aerial Adventures, and Curry Hammock State Park. Area attractions also include Sombrero Beach and Dolphin Research Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Key Colony Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.