We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   351 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April and it was a great choice for us. The hotel is undergoing extensive renovations from top to bottom. Our room was small with 2 queen beds but overlooked the ocean and the pool. It was very clean and new from bed linens to fixtures. No morning breakfast but we had coffeepot and microwave and fridge. There is a small beach with plenty of lounge chairs and some hammocks for 2 around the beach and pool areas. There is a nice restaurant next door with open air seating for the bar or eating. The views are beautiful. Marathon is only an hours drive from Key West and is more "laid back" which is what we liked. My only complaints were not enough hooks for towels and the room was small.

Room Tip: The fitness room should be open soon. If you will pay the extra charge it is well worth it to get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location and ambience are truly beyond compare; close to everywhere but no mass of people to deal with and all the comforts of home and then some! Thank you for mentioning the need for additional towel hooks; we listen to our guests and will be providing them soon. If you need more room be sure to try out one of our suites! They have a master bedroom with king size bed, a full kitchen (and fully equipped!), and a state of the art sofa bed (very comfortable!). The same great ocean view and plenty of room to spread out for 4 people. Again, we appreciate you and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    74
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
108
122
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft.Lauderdale, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We go the the keys on a regular basis as we live in Ft.Lauderdale and are always looking for a nice hotel. Like to try out different ones but we will definitely return to this one.

The service we have received was beyond expectations and the rooms are just phenomenal. They re-opened a few weeks ago and therefore everything has been completely remodeled and is very very clean and contemporary. We stayed in one of their 1 bedroom suites with another couple and our kids and it was just perfect. The pullout couch is very very comfortable and it seems there was a memory foam mattress on there. We just walked out of the living room and were right on the beach. A bar and fishing pier is right next door with access from the hotel property. The beach is being cleaned every morning. To walk into the water is a little bit rough because of the rocks. But you will have that issue everywhere in the Keys.

To get back to the service. They definitely go beyond the regular service - especially Michael (assistant general manager). I brought down my small utility trailer with a few kayaks but was not aware of the fact that the regulations at Key Colony do not allow trailers on commercial property. Was allowed to keep it on Michael's private property for the night. He definitely went beyond his regular duties. Who would do that?

Anything negative to report? Nothing.
Only suggestion: The pool could use a few palm trees around it to have a nicer ambient there.

It is definitely worth the stay and the staff makes sure that you will have a good time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are so happy you had a great stay with us! Our guests are our best public relations so we really appreciate your comments. I love the suggestion about more palms by the pool and we will check that out. Michael also appreciates your kind words. Thank you again for providing such wonderful feedback; we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Been coming to the Keys for over 30 years and staying everywhere. We wanted to stay at Hawks Cay but couldn't get a room. Initially we were disappointed but upon checking in were very pleased. No restaurant here but one right next door and many others very nearby. Renovations are spectacular, attention paid to every last detail. Our room has every amenity available, all new and impeccably clean. Super high speed internet for free. Pool and spa inviting and also clean and orderly. Excellent beach, plenty of chairs, chaise lounges and hammocks. The staff very eager to make sure you have an excellent experience. Overall this is the best value in the Florida Keys. Expect rates will go up fast as the word spreads. Our stay here was a fraction of what we normally spend and I'm not sure what could have made our stay any better. Plan to return here on all future trips.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
What a glowing review! We sincerely thank you for your feedback and are so very happy that you chose to stay with us. Our single goal is for all of our guests to have a wonderful vacation experience and that your stay will always exceed your expectations. It sounds like that just happened! It was great to hear from you and we look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Coverdale, New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This property was just gutted and renovated and only opened the week before we arrived. There were still a few units on ground floor under renovations but we were on 3rd floor so any noise they were making didn't bother us except there was quite a bit of drywall dust around our unit and the floors hadn't been washed since the renovations. Couldn't tell by looking at the floor it was dirty but our feet were black with dirt from walking around. We were the first ones in this unit since it was renovated.
We stayed in a one bedroom unit on 3rd Floor (Top Floor). The room we were in was very nice and modern with a sink and makeup counter in one section and then the toilet and large walk-in shower beside it seperated by a sliding pocket door. My only complaint in this area is there is no place near the sink to hang your hand towel. The only hooks or racks were in the seperate section where toilet and shower are which is not accessible when someone is in there.
The kitchen was nice and modern with oven, microwave, sink, dishwasher and all the small appliances you need like coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes and utensils. There was an icemaker in the freezer of the full sized fridge. There is also an icemaker down near the lobby.They supply a small bottle of dishwashing liquid and one packet of automatic dishwasher cleaner. There are 4 swiveling bar style chairs around the kitchen island to eat or drink at.
The couch pulled out into a bed which we used since there were 4 of us. It was comfortable. There is a flat screen tv in the living room area and in the bedroom. There is a safe in bedrom closet to secure your electronics and passports.
We had a seperate patio door that went out on a balcony shared by the 3d floor on the beach side.
Had a hot tub and heated pool which was nice since the weather was not hot when we were there. Beach is small but nice with several loungers and tables.
There is free wifi but it wasn't working right. It would show we were connected but couldn't send or receive any data.. The bar/restaurant right next door had wifi so if you went over by the pool area, you could connect to the restaurants wifi.
They have a workout room that is still being built and wasn't open yet. They have a selection of books in the lobby area if you need reading material. You can access the lobby area from front side or beach side and there are bathrooms in there so you don't have to go all the way back to your room if you are on an upper floor.
They will soon have room service using the restaurant next door. Besides the restaurant/bar next door, there are 2 other restaurants that are within walking distance.
It was a nice place for the price and i would go back again if i was in the area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We so appreciate that you came and stayed while we were still working out a few "kinks"! I especially appreciated your suggestion of a hand towel ring by the sink. That makes sense and we plan to implement it. You'll be very happy to know that our WiFi works perfectly now! (after getting a whole new system!) It is great to make new friends and to get the positive reinforcement that you, our valued guest, have offered. It will be great to see you on the return visit and get your feedback again; we listen! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Lovely newly renovated rooms. Still tweeking things, but don't go during season cause it gets quite pricey for just a "motel" room. We travel for business and chose the wrong week to head to the Keys and couldn't find a place to stay till someone suggested we try the Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort. Nice surprise, quality fixtures and like that it's central a/c not wall units. Also enjoyed the restaurant next door, which is always a nice perk. The beach and pool area seemed very nice but since it was one of the coldest days of the year in the Keys, swimming was not on our schedule. Anyway, will definately stay again when it's off season.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We're so happy that you chose to stay with us! Thank you for the vote of confidence. In addition to the regular rooms with 2 queen beds, microwave & fridge, and Keurig coffee makers, we also have complete suites with a master bedroom and King size bed, a full size kitchen that includes everything you need for your vacation, and a state of the art queen size sleeper sofa in the beautifully appointed and comfortable living room that opens to your spectacular ocean view. Next time, stay a little longer and enjoy the "suite life!" We appreciate you! Now that you've stayed with us, we'll keep you updated on any special deals so that you can be sure to take advantage of them. Thank you, again, for your feedback as it helps us to continue to improve daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: 351 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Key Colony Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful newly renovated beach hotel. This Key Colony Beach hotel is on an island, nestled on a private sand beach and within easy reach of area attractions such as Conch Air, Island Hoppers Aerial Adventures, and Curry Hammock State Park. Area attractions also include Sombrero Beach and Dolphin Research Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Key Colony Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.