We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeling with Deep Blue Dive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coffins Patch

Coffins Patch
Key Colony Beach, FL
Improve this listing
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At a depth range of 15 - 30 feet, this dive site consists of a series of small patch reefs, and is where the Spanish Galleon Ignacio sunk in the 18th century.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Snorkeling with Deep Blue Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Really great snorkeling trip. But had trouble with mask leaking. crew busy with scuba divers. Saw really interesting fish and coral. Boat was very clean.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice reef, easy to get to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We rented our own boat and made the quick trip out to this reef. Nice mooring balls to tie up to so no need to anchor. It was rough, about 5 to 6 foot seas. Snorkling with the chop wasnt an issue, but the visibility was only about 10 feet or so. We are still glad we did it. Some of the coral looked really nice and there were millions of fish, especially once my friends started throwing chum into the water. Real smart of them. They didnt know that it wasnt the smartest thing to do. They threw chum balls at us and the thousands of fish basically swarmed us to get to the chum, almost taking off our fingers. They got a pretty good earful about that.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lots of colorful fish and coral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was a lovely dive spot, full of life. Did not get to see turtles or sharks or even barracuda, but we did see lots of other reef fish.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Colony Beach, Fl
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good place to snorkel or dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Locals place to go, easy to get to from Key Colony Beach, protected area, lots of fish to see. Less busy than Sombrero Light but not as good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Colony Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Display of natural beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We took a trip out on our neighbor's 24 foot Dusky, and this was one place that I had never seen before. The water is crystal clear ,and you can see everything right from the surface. The reason why they don't have many mooring spots is because they don't want people dropping anchors in the reef. If You want to tie off to someplace , you need to use the mooring balls that are provided.This is done to preserve the coral reef and the wildlife within it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffins Patch also viewed

Key Colony Beach, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Coffins Patch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coffins Patch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.