We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty dinner, strong tasty drink, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cantina Beach

Cantina Beach
455 Grand Bay Drive, The Ritz-Carlton Key, Key Biscayne, FL 33149
305-365-4500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 60 Restaurants in Key Biscayne
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Baja style, Mexican inspired, beachfront Cantina
Connecticut
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Tasty dinner, strong tasty drink, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I don't think you would eat here unless you are staying at the Ritz-Carlton, but I was and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner.

Complementary chips/salsa are served. I had a basic or classic margarita which was watery, but then two (!) of the jalapeno-infused ones and they were tasty and strong.

The scallops dish was very, very tasty, although I would've like a 5th or 6th scallop for $28.

Service was very good, friendly. And you can't beat an outdoor restaurant next to the beach and ocean.

There's a variety of seating options...bar, formal tables, casual tall tables, a relaxed seating area with deep couches....I could definitely hang here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Convenient for Ritz-Carlton guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The food is good and well presented. The service is attentive and the location nice. We had a late lunch at 4pm and all was fine. It may be an above average Tex-Mex and a good informal place to have an unpretentious meal. Of course, the prices are Ritz-Carlton's not your neighborhood's Tex-Mex prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and margaritas. How can it get any better?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I arrive for a late dinner with a colleague on a business trip, and we sat for dinner around 8pm. First of all, the margaritas are amazing... really nice, and that made everything else just fine. Dinner was fresh and well cooked. The service was what I expected - perfect. Atmosphere was delightful - a beautiful evening on the beach with breezes and laughter. No better dinner to be had!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Friendly service, although it is a little bit slow. The food is great and very flavorful, you can tell that it's really high quality.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with awful drinks & average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Fans of craft cocktails and authentic Mexican fare will be bitterly disappointed!! Over 100 tequilas and the descriptions on the hotel's site raise your expectations but when you see they're watered down 10 oz margaritas and realize they still use "sour mix" in their cocktails you realize you're just at an overpriced Marriott pool bar/grill. This was nowhere near Ritz quality with Americanized "Mexican" food, weak poorly-made drinks, stained pillows and frayed furniture. Nice atmosphere sitting outside on the sand and it could be so great if they could just get some training in bar craft and maintenance. Service was attentive and prompt, very friendly and I give them points for trying to appease (I requested fresh lemon/lime juice instead of sour mix..... a failure but they made an earnest attempt to satisfy). Food wasn't bad, just average hotel mexican fare.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Beach also viewed

 

Been to Cantina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.