We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach, picnic, natural park, light house, marina, walking trails for $8” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park

Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park
1200 South Crandon Blvd, Key Biscayne, FL 33149
305-361-5811
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$84*
and up
Miami Luxury City Tour
Type: Lighthouses, Beaches, Parks, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named after a Miami newspaper editor Bill Baggs, this state park is part of an extensive barrier island system.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“beach, picnic, natural park, light house, marina, walking trails for $8”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

There is an $8 entrance fee per each car. Then you enter to a very beautiful natural park right at the tip of the Key Biscayne just where the city and urban buildings end. An amazing park at the back yard of the expensive houses of Key Biscayne. At the very end of the park there is a tall lighthouse that you can climb and go to the top to see stunning views of the Key Biscayne, the park, Miami, the ocean and the Bay (This is must climb for you, but check the hours of operation of the light house when buying entrance tickets). Swimming areas (beaches) starts right at the light house and it is not crowded. A lot of picnic tables in the area makes it the best place to picnic. Then if you can drive one mile, you will get to a harbor called "No Name Harbor" with the marina backs into the green grass park. You will enjoy walk around the it, to the ocean and then you can eat at the Boater's Grill right at the harbor. There are lots of trails which passes through mangrove trees.

It is a very nice get away from town and to enjoy beach, picnic, natural park, light house, marina, walking trails and much more for $8.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    123
    28
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice park with beaches. I live in an area where they have big natural beaches and reservations, so it wasn't that special to me. I guess if you are more used to living in the city this will be a very relaxing visit for you.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Key Biscayne Beaches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very nice beach with dunes, a light house and picnic area, plenty of parking for $8 and open until sunset. Not too many palm trees as the Crandon Park, Key Biscayne beach but plenty of beach.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great urban park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family and I liked the park very much – beach, water and the lighthouse. I was especially interested to listen to the story that a guide (great guy with a wonderful sense of humour) told us about the history of the place and the lighthouse. The view from the top of the lighthouse is amazing. Also, the effort that the park’s staff put to restore park’s natural habitat after the hurricane Andrew deserved a great appreciation! Very well done guys! We didn’t ride a bike, however I’ve see many people biking so I believe it’s a great place to do that in the park too. More proc – close to Miami downtown, clean, large beach; cons – because of the proximity to Miami the park looks very urbanized. Not so much wild nature and calm.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great water and beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife wanted a day on the beach and Palm Sunday was perfect. I choose Key Biscayne in hopes of going to the tennis tournament but thought it too good a day not to go to the beach. Outside of the wind early, it was great and this has to be one of the best state parks. As a NW Floridian, I am partial to our beach sand and a little more personal space. However, I have to give the beach credit for its incredible water the did provide the opportunity for some snorkeling. Found a great starfish and swam nearly the entire length of the beach with a small remora attached to me. Also the chairs for lease were great for those visiting. Parking easy and lighthouse was an added bonus activity plus other wildlife.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park also viewed

 

Been to Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.