We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated and not worth the price!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key Biscayne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Sands Beach Resort
Save
You added Silver Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
301 Ocean Dr, Key Biscayne, FL 33149   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outdated and not worth the price!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The tub leaks from the handles when you turn on the water not to mention the water fills up to your ankles because it doesn't drain. The beds were quite small and the sheets were very uncomfortable. Looked more like a cheap motel for $40/night then $200/night. There are no food services on ground, only vending machines. They have a total of like 5 beach chairs. The pool is NOT heated. I was fairly disappointed after my boyfriend went through the trouble of planning a special birthday weekend for me. At least we know where not to stay. Miami beach has better places with full kitchens and right on the strip for half as much.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel all together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    15
    12
    12
See reviews for
24
26
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

If you come to Key Biscayne you only have a couple of lodging options. The Ritz Carlton is just down the beach from here and 4x the price. I was there during the day for business and it is everything you'd expect: overpriced, stuffy, dull and full of the worst kind of people. It was so refreshing to return to the simplicity of the Silver Sands each evening. The rooms are basic for sure but there's a microwave, fridge for drinks and my room was spotless. Beds were decent. It was great to be able to park right next to my door. The landscaped courtyard is pretty with grass and palms, and the pool was idyllic. Best of all, you are right on the beach just a few steps from your room. Walk a couple of minutes up the road and there are coffee shops, restaurants and all that. My interactions with staff ran the gamut from very pleasant and accommodating to terse and basic. So stay here if you like throwback simplicity, a nice pool and beach. Just don't expect the Ritz.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The room was very dated and I had many "sugar" ants in my kitchen area. Floor was very sandy. No breakfast. Pool attendant was gone for over an hour at noon and then rude upon return when I inquired about a pool towel and why there were so many wild iguana. If you want an outdated motel with very average service at $160/night this place is for you!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Have stayed in the rooms and the on property cabins. Yes, it's dated but super clean and efficient. Being able to walk a mere 10 steps to the sand and ocean is a miracle. The pool is small but again, so well kept. The courtyard landscaping is a joy when viewing for the cabin's deck. So private. However....there is now construction on the south and west. The noise begins at 7:00 a.m. and the dust is everywhere. It's a monolith of a high rise on the south. What a shame.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Me and my GF stayed here for one night. We read all the reviews of what a gem it is well its not! We paid 153.00 with tax for a courtyard view and there was not view. The all the chairs and umbrellas where put up and it was totally dead. There is no place to even have a drink or get one like there advertisement says and when asked the lobby personal they said that was a long time ago. My friend ended up walking to the Ritz Carlton down the beach to get a 17dollar Bloody Mary. The hotel looked clean but the floor was covered in Sand and there was not even any glasses or anything in the cupboards. There was another couple down from us that was there for the same event and they actually had cockroaches!!! Yes I understand you are in Key Biscayne but the rooms are still way over priced and there advertisements are very misleading.

Room Tip: Buyer Beware was quiet because no one stays there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This property is a step back to how travel lodging used to be. I can't wait to stay here officially. The room to pick is 153 but don't stay there when I will be there. I used to come to the property with my Father and Mother when I was a young child. There was a great restaurant that has since "gone to the sea" with Hurricane Andrew. But other than that, the owners have done a great job restoring this hidden gem. I will write an official review of the place when I actually get to stay a night there. Until then, enjoy Key Biscayne. There is no other place like it in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have stayed in Miami many times over the years for business and was looking for something away from the city, a friend had relatives on Key Biscayne so I decided to take a look out there. First of all Key Biscayne is pretty busy with traffic since there is only 2 lanes in and out and there are very few hotels/motels, but what a pleasant surprise Silver Sands was. It is not a five star resort, but it is a nice clean place with nice well maintained grounds, it reminiscent of the long motor lodges from the 50-60s and it is right on the beach. My room was just a few steps from the sand, what a great place to get away after the work day. And the mini kitchen is nice to have..if you are looking for something a little different, quiet and out of the way, you may want to try here.

Room Tip: Get a room towards the back close to the beach if you don't want to pay a bit extra to be on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Resort

Address: 301 Ocean Dr, Key Biscayne, FL 33149
Location: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Key Biscayne
Silver Sands Key Biscayne
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.