We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key Biscayne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Sands Beach Resort
Save
You added Silver Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
301 Ocean Dr, Key Biscayne, FL 33149   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Bartlett
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Little Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've been staying at the Silver Sands for years (since 1988). The one thing you can say about the Silver Sands is that it's consistent. It's not fancy, but it's such a gem because it's comfortable and quiet (except for the construction next door right now), right on the beach and just a great place for a get-awayI There is a refrigerator and microwave, and the courtyard rooms have a table and chairs outside, so you can sit out and have your own picnic. The pool is a good size with tables/chairs with umbrellas. It's walking distance to the Ritz Carlson, grocery, shopping and restaurants. Again, it's not fancy, very basic but I feel lucky that I've had this place to go for so many years where I can be right on the beach and about 15 minutes from Miami. I'm so glad that they didn't "sell-out" when the Sonesta group wanted to purchase the property.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are $20 more a night but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    15
    12
    12
See reviews for
24
26
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here for 3 nights for several years during the Sony Open. We book the room a year in advance. When we showed up to check into our 'courtyard room', we were informed that we had a parking lot room and that was the only one available. The room faces the construction project which begins at 7am. It was the only parking lot room on that side of the building (156), it is isolated and backs up to the laundry room. It was the worst room in the motel!
When we tried to get an explanation on why we didn't get our 'reserved' room, the manager said all the rooms were full and if we wanted he would cancel our reservation with no fee.when we asked 'what were we suppose to do then?' He told us to 'go to the Ritz Carlton'. We think someone else had the parking lot room and was switched into our room.
What makes matter worse is that we had 'confirmed' our courtyard room twice during the past year.
We felt the management was extremely rude dealing with the whole situation.
The room itself had trouble with the door closing and then we had trouble opening the lock with a key and had to replace the key! It felt much dirtier than the room we used in the past. All in all...very disappointed. The only positive was the location to the tennis tournament.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed there two nights. Good price, good area and really nice people. The room was clean and furnished (microwave, coffee maker, a fridge and a TV). The swimming pool was great and the beach 10 meters from the room: GREAT!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If it is a 1960’s style motel that is desired, it’s exactly what you will get.

This is definitely not a "resort". It's a basic motel, very well located on a nice beach, almost adjacent to the much more upscale and very expensive Ritz Carlton and a half hour walk to the entrance of Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park. Starbucks and bike rentals are within easy walking distance. Winn Dixie , CVS, and some restaurants are nearby. Water pressure was good. Rooms have a kitchenette.

Reception and cleaning staff were very pleasant.

Negatives are a small, uninteresting pool, no shade or chairs on the beach, small TV sets, many rooms facing the parking lot, very slow and intermittent Internet, construction in progress next door (which starts daily at 7am), and high price (compared to deals that can be had elsewhere.)

Our family cut short our stay at this hotel in three rooms after four days and moved to the Hyatt in Doral for our last three nights for less money than we were paying per night at the Silver Sands. There, we had a two level suite, with three bedrooms upstairs, each with an en-suite, and balconies overlooking the golf course, and downstairs a living room, dining room/kitchen with dishwasher, and a fourth bathroom. We had large screen TVs and there was a very nice swimming pool. We took advantage of what may have been a last minute deal posted on the Internet, but the difference was night and day from the Silver Sands.

Room Tip: Be sure to face the interior area and not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are looking for a simple one story hotel directly on the beach look no more. Key Biscayne is such a nice place to live and visit.....and very expensive as well. Silver Sands is an old style hotel...friendly staff , clean grounds and rooms with a very good value priced room. Rooms are equipped with coffee maker, microwave and frig...all you need because there are great little eateries and a wonderful Winn Dixie with decent prepared food very close. You can easily walk to Crandon Park or Bill Baggs Park as they are directly on the beach from the hotel. Families with kids should get pool side room with the additional outside seating. Great location , good value...good to go to Silver Sands,KeyBiscayne!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for a night before heading south through the Keys. It was perfect for what it was -- inexpensive motel room. Clean, friendly management staff. Very accommodating. Good location. Nice pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in December right before the Holiday rush. A friend at work had recommended it to me. I originally had wanted to stay in South Beach but the rooms were ridiculously expensive. I found out after I arrived that Art Basel had started in South Beach the very day I arrived. This resort was modest but very satisfying. The beach is quite nice and so is the pool. There were very few guests while I was there so it was exceptionally quiet. The front desk personnel were very helpful and friendly. Key Biscayne has several nice restaurants that are close to this resort. The rooms had plenty of room and even had a small kitchen in them. Though the decor is outdated, the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. A very nice mellow experience.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool. The other rooms face the parking lot which would detract significantly s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Resort

Address: 301 Ocean Dr, Key Biscayne, FL 33149
Location: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Key Biscayne
Silver Sands Key Biscayne
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.