We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it is a 1960’s style motel that is desired, it’s exactly what you will get.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key Biscayne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Sands Beach Resort
Save
You added Silver Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
301 Ocean Dr, Key Biscayne, FL 33149   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“If it is a 1960’s style motel that is desired, it’s exactly what you will get.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If it is a 1960’s style motel that is desired, it’s exactly what you will get.

This is definitely not a "resort". It's a basic motel, very well located on a nice beach, almost adjacent to the much more upscale and very expensive Ritz Carlton and a half hour walk to the entrance of Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park. Starbucks and bike rentals are within easy walking distance. Winn Dixie , CVS, and some restaurants are nearby. Water pressure was good. Rooms have a kitchenette.

Reception and cleaning staff were very pleasant.

Negatives are a small, uninteresting pool, no shade or chairs on the beach, small TV sets, many rooms facing the parking lot, very slow and intermittent Internet, construction in progress next door (which starts daily at 7am), and high price (compared to deals that can be had elsewhere.)

Our family cut short our stay at this hotel in three rooms after four days and moved to the Hyatt in Doral for our last three nights for less money than we were paying per night at the Silver Sands. There, we had a two level suite, with three bedrooms upstairs, each with an en-suite, and balconies overlooking the golf course, and downstairs a living room, dining room/kitchen with dishwasher, and a fourth bathroom. We had large screen TVs and there was a very nice swimming pool. We took advantage of what may have been a last minute deal posted on the Internet, but the difference was night and day from the Silver Sands.

Room Tip: Be sure to face the interior area and not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    47
    17
    13
    15
See reviews for
28
34
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are looking for a simple one story hotel directly on the beach look no more. Key Biscayne is such a nice place to live and visit.....and very expensive as well. Silver Sands is an old style hotel...friendly staff , clean grounds and rooms with a very good value priced room. Rooms are equipped with coffee maker, microwave and frig...all you need because there are great little eateries and a wonderful Winn Dixie with decent prepared food very close. You can easily walk to Crandon Park or Bill Baggs Park as they are directly on the beach from the hotel. Families with kids should get pool side room with the additional outside seating. Great location , good value...good to go to Silver Sands,KeyBiscayne!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for a night before heading south through the Keys. It was perfect for what it was -- inexpensive motel room. Clean, friendly management staff. Very accommodating. Good location. Nice pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in December right before the Holiday rush. A friend at work had recommended it to me. I originally had wanted to stay in South Beach but the rooms were ridiculously expensive. I found out after I arrived that Art Basel had started in South Beach the very day I arrived. This resort was modest but very satisfying. The beach is quite nice and so is the pool. There were very few guests while I was there so it was exceptionally quiet. The front desk personnel were very helpful and friendly. Key Biscayne has several nice restaurants that are close to this resort. The rooms had plenty of room and even had a small kitchen in them. Though the decor is outdated, the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. A very nice mellow experience.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool. The other rooms face the parking lot which would detract significantly s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The only choices for hotel lodging in Key Biscayne are the Ritz-Carlton (completely unaffordable for the average joe) and the Silver Sands Resort (great off-season prices and moderate seasonal prices). I stayed there for a weekend orientation at my job and found it to be delightful. We stayed in the Cabins which are a little more expensive but more than worth the extra money.

The gardens are lush and beautiful, the beach is small but you can walk all the way to Crandon Park Beach if you want a bigger beach.

Crandon Beach has cabanas you can rent, a small botanical garden, an outdoor skating rink and lots of picnic areas. It is also within a few blocks of Bill Baggs State Park which has one of the nicest beaches in Miami and a tour-able lighthouse and light-keepers cabin. The pool is clean and large.

I was able to see some of the rooms that were by the pool and they are large and include a small refrigerator and microwave though they are definitely stuck in the 1950's with their terrazzo floors:)

If you are lucky, you might get to see hundreds of large iguana's sunning themselves out back!

The Island has several restaurants nearby and one of the nicest Winn Dixie's I've ever seen. If you do go to Bill Baggs, there is a restaurant at the No Name Harbor (yes, that actually IS it's name:) that has beautiful view of the sunset while the boats are coming into the harbor. There is also a small self service restaurant facing the water on the actual beach. They also rent some multi person bicycles to tour the parking area and you can also rent chairs and umbrellas right by the water.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the Cabins or facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I attended a meeting at the only other hotel in Key Biscayne, but since I was travelling on a tight budget I stayed at the Silver Sands Beach Hotel. The walk to the other hotel was a very pleasant one by the beach.
But honestly if it wasn't for the lack of other hotels on the island and the sky high prices of the Ritz, I wouldn't have chosen to stay here. It was (is it still that way?) very strange having to phone them to make a reservation because there is no way you can book online. After providing my credit card details over the phone they wouldn't send me an email cofirming the reservation -which made me jumpy since I normally need that detail when entering the States.
The taxi driver from the airport hadn't heard of the hotel, so I was really anxious that I got skimmed. Luckily, the hotel exists and the people servicing are quite nice. It's quite OK, sort of a motel but right by the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murfreesboro tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here with my 94 year old mom. The front desk personnel, especially Omar and Juan, were very helpful and friendly. The pool is a large size, the landscaping makes one feel as if you were on a tropical island..atmosphere is very laid back. It is like a mom and pop place...if you are looking for luxury this is not the place but if you are looking for a quiet place in which to relax...this is a great place for a family vacation. I will definitely return

Room Tip: We stayed courtside and right by the swimming pool. There are also cabins with a complete kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Silver Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Resort

Address: 301 Ocean Dr, Key Biscayne, FL 33149
Location: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Key Biscayne
Silver Sands Key Biscayne
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.