We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value at the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key Biscayne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Sands Beach Resort
301 Ocean Dr, Key Biscayne, FL 33149   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Key Biscayne
Laredo, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Value at the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

I love the beaches at Crandon park on Key Biscayne so I looked for a hotel on the beach. Silver sands was perfect and affordable. (ritz was very expensive and next door)
Motel style , very "70's or 60's" very basic and clean. Lush grounds and a great pool.
Unfortunately the beach closed on our 3rd day for repairs but we had the pool to ourselves ; must have been off season.
No frills or amenities - each room has a kitchenette so we had a fridge micro and coffee maker - was perfect
The island has a Winn Dixie and Cvs
And my favorite "la carretta" Cuban restaurant
Beds were comfy , a/c was a window unit
It was quite cold in the room
I recommend this hotel - would be great for families not fancy


  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    39
    14
    12
    12
See reviews for
24
24
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I've been too! The beds had little bug body parts and the floors were nasty! The woman could have at least learned a little English. The salt had bugs in it and the lamps never worked. The location was pretty but the cons overpowered it. Don't go!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key Biscayne hotels

Greenwich, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent 5 days at the Sony Ericsson Tennis open and stayed at the Silver Sands Motel.
I know, "motel" sounds tacky, but we had a wonderful time. Our room had a private
patio just outside our door, with table, umbrella and 4 chairs.
The room was neat, the beds comfortable, the A/C was new, and the bathroom spotless.
The grounds are kept immaculate, the staff are very friendly, courteous, helpful, just like boy scouts!
The pool is kept pristine with a gentleman who distributes towels, arranges the chairs and in general, is pleasant and helpful.
There is an access to the beach, but it is a small beach and we found it best to just walk
along the beach front for our morning and evening exercise.

We have already made our reservations for 2013 and can't wait to return.
If you are "fussy" and want big hotel ammenities, look elswhere, but if you like the
retro look, then the Silver Sands is the place to go.
Parking is free, beach towels are free, the chairs are free, and the main office
always has a pot of fresh coffee brewing and they have a computer that one can use to
print out boarding passes or do a quick searh for whatever.
Juan was the office manager and very helpful.
I guess you could say we loved our stay.
Steve & Marlis Galkin, CT

Room Tip: Ask for the garden side. Breakfast at your own little patio is a delight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I booked a three night garden view room at the Silver Sands during the Sony Ericsson Tennis Event. Check in was supposed to be at 1:00 and I requested the room not be cleaned with any chemicals because I have a lung disease. Arrived 3:30: room not ready, faced seaweed instead of garden, and room smelled from pine cleaner. Called the office and the women I spoke with responded to my concerns by saying you're lucky you are only paying $189 because the rates are now $209 and "Why don't you check out!" (rates online and in their local magazine verify the rate of $189.) Luckily there was a gentleman in the office that did try to help and offered a different room, even though the woman said there were no other rooms. Now for the positives. This is an older establishment in a great location, very clean, price is right. Beach is not much of a beach but you can sit and read or swim. Pool is beautiful. Garden view rooms offer your own table and chairs outside of room for coffee and breakfast or just relaxing and feeding the local squirrels. Beds are hard like rocks but clean.

Room Tip: Garden view room is a must. If you have a bad back take something soft to sleep on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

we have been staying here for years. quiet and relaxing. no, it isn't the Ritz, but the prices can
't be beat. yes, there isn't much beach here, but just up the way a bit is beautiful Crandon Beach, which is huge and mostly deserted in the winter time. the rooms on the courtyard side are the best. we like to stay opposite the bungalows, away from the pool. the staff is very friendly and helpful. shops and restaurants are just a short walk away. and Miami is just a 15 min. drive. we hope this place will be around for a long time to come.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is not a resort. It's not even a fancy motel. The rooms are spartan but functional. My bed was firm and comfortable. The bathroom had seen better days but there was plenty of hot water. The fridge in the kitchen as well as the cabinets should be replaced. Sometimes the noise from other rooms (esp. through the connecting door) was loud. But, that never went on for very long or late. The location and the pool/courtyard/patio made any of the negative aspects of the room disappear. Being able to roll out of bed and have coffee by the pool or to be able to walk to the beach in a minute were enjoyable. It seems to be a quiet and low-key motel with a regular clientele who enjoy the property for those qualities. Courtyard rooms are definitely worth the extra cost. As has been mentioned in other reviews, if anyone is expecting the Ritz, they should stay at the Ritz. (And if anyone is expecting the Ritz at these prices...they should have their dosage checked.)

I had a very relaxing stay...wish I could've stayed longer. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

We read reviews on tripadvisor and went for the room on the courtyard so happy we did. My 4 year old son loved being able to have a picnic everyday. I loved the peaceful atmosphere, hard to believe you are only 30 minutes from Miami Beach. The beach is narrow, but as a parent its easier to keep your eye on your child, and while we were there they raked beach every other morning. The staff was great and very helpful. There is a laundry on site but there were no laundry supplies available at hotel, you must buy them at the local market. While here in Key Biscayne you must go to bill baggs state park and see the lighthouse and watch the sunset and enjoy the most beautiful beach in South Florida. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Key Biscayne
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Key Biscayne
Hotel Silver Sands Beach
Address: 301 Ocean Dr, Key Biscayne, FL 33149
Location: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Silver Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list