We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place- Re-live the 1950's, as it used to be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key Biscayne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Sands Beach Resort
Save
You added Silver Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
301 Ocean Dr, Key Biscayne, FL 33149   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Greenwich, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place- Re-live the 1950's, as it used to be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent 5 days at the Sony Ericsson Tennis open and stayed at the Silver Sands Motel.
I know, "motel" sounds tacky, but we had a wonderful time. Our room had a private
patio just outside our door, with table, umbrella and 4 chairs.
The room was neat, the beds comfortable, the A/C was new, and the bathroom spotless.
The grounds are kept immaculate, the staff are very friendly, courteous, helpful, just like boy scouts!
The pool is kept pristine with a gentleman who distributes towels, arranges the chairs and in general, is pleasant and helpful.
There is an access to the beach, but it is a small beach and we found it best to just walk
along the beach front for our morning and evening exercise.

We have already made our reservations for 2013 and can't wait to return.
If you are "fussy" and want big hotel ammenities, look elswhere, but if you like the
retro look, then the Silver Sands is the place to go.
Parking is free, beach towels are free, the chairs are free, and the main office
always has a pot of fresh coffee brewing and they have a computer that one can use to
print out boarding passes or do a quick searh for whatever.
Juan was the office manager and very helpful.
I guess you could say we loved our stay.
Steve & Marlis Galkin, CT

Room Tip: Ask for the garden side. Breakfast at your own little patio is a delight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    15
    12
    12
See reviews for
24
26
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I booked a three night garden view room at the Silver Sands during the Sony Ericsson Tennis Event. Check in was supposed to be at 1:00 and I requested the room not be cleaned with any chemicals because I have a lung disease. Arrived 3:30: room not ready, faced seaweed instead of garden, and room smelled from pine cleaner. Called the office and the women I spoke with responded to my concerns by saying you're lucky you are only paying $189 because the rates are now $209 and "Why don't you check out!" (rates online and in their local magazine verify the rate of $189.) Luckily there was a gentleman in the office that did try to help and offered a different room, even though the woman said there were no other rooms. Now for the positives. This is an older establishment in a great location, very clean, price is right. Beach is not much of a beach but you can sit and read or swim. Pool is beautiful. Garden view rooms offer your own table and chairs outside of room for coffee and breakfast or just relaxing and feeding the local squirrels. Beds are hard like rocks but clean.

Room Tip: Garden view room is a must. If you have a bad back take something soft to sleep on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

we have been staying here for years. quiet and relaxing. no, it isn't the Ritz, but the prices can
't be beat. yes, there isn't much beach here, but just up the way a bit is beautiful Crandon Beach, which is huge and mostly deserted in the winter time. the rooms on the courtyard side are the best. we like to stay opposite the bungalows, away from the pool. the staff is very friendly and helpful. shops and restaurants are just a short walk away. and Miami is just a 15 min. drive. we hope this place will be around for a long time to come.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is not a resort. It's not even a fancy motel. The rooms are spartan but functional. My bed was firm and comfortable. The bathroom had seen better days but there was plenty of hot water. The fridge in the kitchen as well as the cabinets should be replaced. Sometimes the noise from other rooms (esp. through the connecting door) was loud. But, that never went on for very long or late. The location and the pool/courtyard/patio made any of the negative aspects of the room disappear. Being able to roll out of bed and have coffee by the pool or to be able to walk to the beach in a minute were enjoyable. It seems to be a quiet and low-key motel with a regular clientele who enjoy the property for those qualities. Courtyard rooms are definitely worth the extra cost. As has been mentioned in other reviews, if anyone is expecting the Ritz, they should stay at the Ritz. (And if anyone is expecting the Ritz at these prices...they should have their dosage checked.)

I had a very relaxing stay...wish I could've stayed longer. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

We read reviews on tripadvisor and went for the room on the courtyard so happy we did. My 4 year old son loved being able to have a picnic everyday. I loved the peaceful atmosphere, hard to believe you are only 30 minutes from Miami Beach. The beach is narrow, but as a parent its easier to keep your eye on your child, and while we were there they raked beach every other morning. The staff was great and very helpful. There is a laundry on site but there were no laundry supplies available at hotel, you must buy them at the local market. While here in Key Biscayne you must go to bill baggs state park and see the lighthouse and watch the sunset and enjoy the most beautiful beach in South Florida. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I'm just leaving after 10 nights and want to record my views. The island of Key Biscayne is very quiet and beautiful and pretty exclusive--no spring break activities here that I could detect, and lots of ridiculously fancy homes along the bay. Easy access from downtown Miami over tolled causeway ($1.50). And for hotels, the choice seems to be between the pricey Ritz Carlton and this pretty simple motel. The rooms are fine and kept clean, staff all helpful, there is a mini-kitchen and a large pool that is great for swimming laps. The rooms enclose a lovely garden area, and there are cabins and a playground for families. An easy walk from the main drag, on which there are a great variety of good restaurants. The main drawback is that the beach the hotel is on is very narrow and this week was pretty well covered by seaweed. But a few minutes walk in either direction is all it takes to get to much wider and cleaner beaches. Going north along the beach is my recommendation, it takes you to a great beach that is part of a county park.

Room Tip: ask for one that faces the garden.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a very personal review: we are traveling with young kids and were looking for a place that would offer a direct beach access, a (heated) pool, a little kitchen and calm/quiet surroundings with easy access to all Miami activities. Silver Sands offered all of this and more, so we were very happy to have made this choice and had a very good stay with our children loving the pool, the lovely garden and the iguanas walking around. However, I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for a luxury experience: the place does not offer catering, rooms look a little worn out and are pretty simply furnished.
So, just make sure what you are looking for during your stay and make an informed choice.

Room Tip: Definitely ask to have a room facing the inside courtyard/pool. All rooms are at ground level. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Resort

Address: 301 Ocean Dr, Key Biscayne, FL 33149
Location: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Key Biscayne
Silver Sands Key Biscayne
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.