We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhhh...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Grand Bay Drive, Key Biscayne, FL 33149   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$500 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Key Biscayne
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ahhhhh...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went to this hotel during the Labor Day holiday and I absolutely loved it. Check in was smooth...complimentary champagne was a really nice touch. The staff were all super friendly and very attentive. You definitely get what you pay for when it comes to service, from setting up your umbrellas and chairs at the pool and beach to bringing you cold drinks and cold grapes for snacks. I felt like a pampered princess. :-) We ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel (only to try the food). The menus are somewhat limited and very pricey. We did however venture to South Beach and Coconut Grove for a little more "variety"...both were an easy commute from the hotel. If you want a tropical vacation without leaving the States, this is the place for you. I will definitely be back! Oh yeah...if iguanas give you the heebie-jeebies as they do me, be advised that they are everywhere!

Room Tip: Some low-floor, resort view rooms overlook the parking deck. Choose an ocean view room if a "vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    280
    125
    74
    38
See reviews for
357
341
22
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I just had one night here between business trips. I've been several times before over the years and checking in at 5pm felt like returning to an old friend. Polished, welcoming and comfortable. Outstanding staff everywhere and beautiful and well-kept outside spaces. Can I come up with anything wrong ? Not really - but come on you Ritz Carlton guys ; do you really have to charge $ 11 for wi-fi access ? That's really miserable...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I don't blame the hotel. I blame the local tourist authority.

When you check out Key Biscayne on t'interweb, you're led to believe that this is effectively a Caribbean Island next to Miami, a Bahamian idyll where lazy beach life is just a stroll across the causeway from the hustle and bustle of South Beach...

Fact is, Key Biscayne is a suburb on an island (a very affluent suburb, but a 'burb nonetheless!) based around a single, long, central tarmac road. And situated pretty much at the bottom end of the island, the Ritz Carlton hotel is a 40 minute/$50 taxi drive from the nearest bit of Miami proper, and closer to an hour/$70 from anywhere in Miami you might actually want to get out of the taxi... It's also pretty much a Tennis Resort with a bit of beach amenity and very limited dining and drinking options tacked on. And drinking and dining at the Ritz Carlton ain't cheap!

However...

It's undeniably a lovely hotel, the rooms are very well appointed and the service is amazing (kudos to reception manageress Aubree and ex-patriate Scouser concierge Alexander who are both just superb!) So how to get around the location and sustenance issues? Okay, what they won't rush to tell you at the hotel is that there's actually a bus stop right outside - every 15 mins during rush hour, every hour during the rest of the day, $2 into town to the Brickell Terminus where you pick up the FREE Metro Mover Monorail that gets you all around downtown with fantastic aerial views. Much more fun than taxiing, and with the added advantage of not having to pay the best part of sixty, seventy quid for a round trip every time you want to get out and about!

You'll want to avoid the hotel's vastly overpriced (and to be honest, not terribly good) food offerings. In particular, steer clear of the dreadful Cioppino, the hotel's 'signature' Tuscan restaurant... decidedly third rate food and service offered up in a dining area with all the charm of a fading Eastbourne B&B. Good news is that there's a choice of great local restaurants and shops.

From the bus stop, turn left and walk 50 yards and there's a well-stocked supermarket, a fab Argentinian restaurant (900/Novocento) and a Peruvian restaurant (El Inka). Or turn right and walk 100 yards for Aysha (a truly superb little Indian place!), Forno&Fornelli (classic Italian and very good), a kicking wine seller (Stefano's, seriously well-stocked and great value!) and La Nouvelle Boulangerie, which I guarantee will become your breakfast stop of choice for your entire stay - fresh bread & pastries, great omelettes, fresh-brewed coffee!!

If, like us, you hate to feel trapped in a resort or hotel, or forced to accept that 'this-is-what-we've-got-take-it-or-leave-it', then even so, we'd still recommend the Ritz Carlton. Just be prepared to work around it and enjoy doing your own thing. There's no central location in Miami and everywhere is a long way from everywhere else. And despite the drawbacks, the Ritz Carlton is a much, much better accommodation option than anywhere you're likely to find downtown or on South Beach...

Room Tip: High room overlooking the Island, not the sea. If you pay the premium for the sea view, your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie S, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Horrified-of-London,
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review of your recent visit to Key Biscayne, Miami. Please know we truly value your feedback. I am pleased to learn that your overall Ritz Carlton experience was relaxing and enjoyable and look forward to sharing your kind words with our ladies and gentlemen.

At the same time we regret that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and would be most appreciative for the opportunity to discuss them with you directly. Please contact the Executive Office at 305-365-4500, at your convenience, should you wish to discuss your stay further.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to visit our beautiful island oasis again one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. The staff is super friendly. Extremely good food and everything very clean.
This is a place to relax.
Loved the room service. Very fast and so good! Everything was fresh.
Will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie S, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review about your stay at The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami. I am thrilled to read about your great experience at the Resort. We certainly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was at The Ritz to work , but it couldn't have been more relaxing in spite of that.The concierge and the staff at the front desk, those in the bar and at the restaurants were absolutely "on it"; attentive and professional.
I loved the grounds too with the sculptures and the impeccably groomed shrubbery.. and the preserved naturalness of the beach was very welcome after the glam and glitz of Miami.Lunch was expensive...for a small meal, but well prepared and I was thankful that the staff were so friendly and efficient- which ism't always the case at a large hotel...even if it is 5 star.
Well recommended...even if pricey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed there this past weekend. Our daughter loved the pool, the beach, the breakfast, and the chicken fingers at lunch. Everyone was friendly. We also enjoyed the new Sculpture program. There are 8 sculptures located around the property from renowned artists, and there is a self-guided tour where you can walk up to any sculpture and listen to a description of the art or scan a bar code into your phone and see information about the artist, similar to an art museum. Walking around to visit the sculptures gave us something else to do at the hotel. Looking forward to next vacation there.

Room Tip: Booked with American Express Platinum card and got early check-in, late check-out, free breakfast an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie S, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Trip-Adviser-3000,
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are thrilled you enjoyed our new sculpture program and look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom suite for $709 per night. The suite was large enough- a large living area, a kitchenette, closets, nice size bedroom, separate bath and shower, two sinks. We had a balcony overlooking the ocean. The room was clean. The decor was nothing special. My wife found the couch and chairs to be uncomfortable. The hotel has two pools- one for families and one for adults. It is on the ocean so it has a nice sandy beach. The staff was friendly. The food at the Mexican restaurant at the pool was poor. We live in Chicago and the hotel food does not compare to any local Mexican joint. The breakfast was also poor. The hotel is set up to serve massive numbers of people with a buffet with lukewarm, soggy food. It is convention center fare. The hotel is large and impersonal but for its size pretty. The grounds are clean with a center grass area for volleyball etc. There was a wedding and the music was blasting until midnight. The only real downside is the nickel and diming that seems to be endemic at mega hotels- charging for internet, $20 for an umbrella at the beach, etc. For $709 per night this stuff should have been included. However, it was nice being on the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie S, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear cbreezedad,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami, and sharing your feedback. It is unfortunate to learn of your overall impression of the resort and apologize we did not meet your expectations. Please know that your satisfaction is very important to us and would be most grateful for the opportunity to personally speak to you about your experience. Please contact the Executive Office at 305 365-4500, at your convenience, should you wish further discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami

Address: 455 Grand Bay Drive, Key Biscayne, FL 33149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Marriott, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami Hotel Key Biscayne
Key Biscayne Ritz Carlton
Ritz Key Biscayne
Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.