We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXING WONDERFUL FAMILY VACATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas of Amelia Island Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villas of Amelia Island Plantation to your Saves list
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Beach Lagoon Road, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“RELAXING WONDERFUL FAMILY VACATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

LOTS TO DO or can do nothing at all and relax at pool and beach. wonderful courteous staff. fast to respond to requests. Friendly family atmosphere. Staff eager to please with smiles!! Kids can take part in a camp or activites by the pool every hour. nighttime movies in the pool. bonfires on the beach. Fernandina Beach a short 15 min car ride away. Nice little town with good restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    104
    62
    33
    20
See reviews for
192
71
6
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great service and very clean. We went with friends but definitely going back with my family. There are tons of kids friendly activities and they provide mini water guns as well! Great place for hanging out with friends at the 18 and over pool area. Tons of umbrellas and coverage so technically do not need to rent cabana or umbrella on the beach (which we did).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
1,713 reviews 1,713 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
566 helpful votes 566 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We recently stayed for six nights at the Lagoon Villas inside OMNI Plantation at Amelia Island, and we were extremely satisfied with every aspect of our stay. The accommodations of our villa alone were outstanding, and had everything we could ever want in a "place to stay." Our two-bedroom villa had wonderful rooms both for us as well as our 12 year-old daughter, each with a private bathroom. The place also provided us with a full kitchen, living room, dining room, "Florida room," and a couple of outside patio decks. A washer/dryer was also part of our room package, which left us wanting for nothing more. All these rooms were tastefully decorated as well.

The resort is completely loaded with a collection of great (and varied) restaurants, shopping, and beachfront activities. Unfortunately, you have to rent anything you take onto the beach (chairs, sun umbrellas, surf riders, etc.), but it's all pretty nice. They also have camps for the kids (if so desired), along with community events such as bonfires on the beach. We enjoyed swimming in the pools right up until midnight...and beyond, if you care to. The pools are huge, so there is never a feeling of being cramped.

I also took advantage of their golf instruction while I was there, and enjoyed it immensely. (I'm still a terrible golfer, but at least I know what I'm doing wrong now!)

This place is a bit on the costly side, but well worth the price tag.

The only negative point about this hotel (our villa) is that the room service was very inconsistent. Sometimes they would show up by 2:00 PM, whereas sometimes they weren't there until 5:00 PM, and once they didn't show up at all until we called to complain. Room service should be done before 5:00 PM, as most people have already returned to their rooms to get dressed for dinner by that time.

Tip: If you do decide to go, bring along a flashlight, especially if you want to walk along the pathways at night, as they are not lit.

Room Tip: Know what you want before you select a room at this hotel, as the properties vary extensively from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
destin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our room was next to tennis courts. It was dark and dreary. The pool next to our room was filthy and green,with garbage around the pool. No amenities, like ice, or towels. Asked for ice, told to come get it, where you have to drive. Deck attached to room was absolutely disgusting, chairs were rotten and deck covered in green mold. Fridge in room broken. When asked to be moved from second story ( my wife had knee surgery and had trouble with the stiars), was told they had nothing.

When we booked our room, we looked at the web site which had villas all along the beach and thought we were getting one of those. Wrong, we were in the swamp.



With respect to families, this is isolated, way off the beaten path, stores, bars, restaurants very expensive, fee for everything you do. Would not recommend. If you are not staying at the beach hotel, you have to drive and cart your stuff through the hotel, not allowed to park at villas along the beach. When you pull your car up to drop off your stuff, the valets come running out to move you along which was kind of stressful.

Attended a conference which had evening reception, serving food and drinks. No tables to sit or stand at, nowhere to put down your plates

Room Tip: Do not book a villa if you want to be on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We spent 5 nights in an apartment at the Omni Amelia Island Plant. Resort. The apartment was equipped ok but the feel and style was very 80ies. The beach wasn't far and you could see it, too. The beach is ok, has a lot of shells and small stones. But it goes on forever which is great. What's not so nice is the ocean. The water is somewhat murky and kind of greenish. If you're in it to your hips it's impossible to see your feet - not ideal.
What I really thought was sub-standard was the fact that a late check out wasn't possible whatsoever. Because of a late flight we wanted to stay until 2 or 3 pm but had to leave at 11 am. At 11:03 the doorbell rang and the cleaners moved in....no mercy, I guess. Good thing that we were ready to leave...and will not go back, either.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 5-day trip to Amelia Island. We had been there about 7 years ago. The physical improvements to the facility are beautiful, but what was most memorable was the friendliness of the staff. From the front desk to the housekeeping to the tram drivers, they were all exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Extremely disappointed with the booking policy here. We attended a conference, and chose to stay in one of the villas on the property since they were advertised on the website as having a kitchen and living area. I called a day in advance to be sure we had a room there (instead of the hotel) as they were reluctant to assign us an actual room before we arrived. I was assured I did, and I was in an ocean front room with king sized bed, as originally requested. The day we arrived my husband called and asked if we needed to come there first before visiting family in the area to ensure we had the room we requested, and he was told they would hold our room for us, no need to go out of our way. When we arrived around 9 pm, we no longer had the room we were promised, and were moved into the hotel! After much wrangling, they gave us the suite (credit to them) and said we could have the room we were promised the next day. Since my husband was at a conference, we wanted to be unpacked before he had to go to work. Of course our room was not ready or even assigned to us the next morning! We had to leave our bags and wait for them to find us a room, and left our number to call when it was ready. At 2:00 we never had received a call, so my husband went to work and I went to the front desk-again. They told me I had a room ready- but I found out it was NOT a room with a kitchen/living area! Ugh! She reassigned me to another room, and finally sent my bags up. It was 4:00 before I was able to get the room I was promised the day before!! At one point my husband asked if there was a difference between an "ocean front" vs. "ocean view" room and we were told there was not- which is entirely not true! I had to crane my neck to see the beach from my patio. While the property was beautiful and the beach gorgeous, my experience left me very disappointed with the hotel overall.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas of Amelia Island Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas of Amelia Island Plantation

Address: 39 Beach Lagoon Road, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Amelia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas of Amelia Island Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas of Amelia Island Plantation sprawl across 1,350 beautiful and isolated acres, along Florida's north eastern coastline, just across the St. Marys River in Georgia and adjacent to the historic city of Fernandina. The Villas overlook the azure blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean on the east and the Intracoastal Waterway on the west. Though private, secluded and protected by a gated entry, the location is a convenient 45 minute drive away from downtown Jacksonville and 29 miles from Jacksonville International Airport. Private and corporate aircraft charters can fly directly to Fernandina Beach Municipal Airport, which is only four miles north of the plantation. Each villa is unique and different. Units come in varying sizes and locations, including ocean view, resort view and tennis view single guest rooms, as well as one, two and three bedroom units, ideal for larger parties, and feature fully equipped kitchens, dining areas, spacious living rooms, multiple baths and private bedrooms. Most complexes have at least one pool. Be sure to confirm the villa type, location and amenities available when booking. The villa accommodations are independently owned, but are located within proximity to the Omni Amelia Island Plantation resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Villas of Amelia Island Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Of Amelia Island Plantation Hotel Amelia Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas of Amelia Island Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.