We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last time we plan to stay here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villas of Amelia Island Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villas of Amelia Island Plantation to your Saves list
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Beach Lagoon Road, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Amelia Island
Atlanta suburbs
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Last time we plan to stay here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We (me, husband, and teen child) planned a trip to Amelia Island over the long 4th of July weekend. We booked through Hotels.com and paid a premium price to book a villa with a kitchen, sitting & dining areas, washer/dryer, and an ocean view in the Sandcastle Villas. I am recovering from knee surgery. The plan was that my child & husband would spend time with his family since my husband grew up here, and I would relax in the villa looking at the ocean and enjoying the amenities we had paid for (such as a refrigerator with a freezer where I could store the ice packs I need to use on my knee)
When we checked in & got to our villa, it was just a room with 2 queen beds. The ocean view was there, but nothing else. The Sandcastle Villas have a very motel-like atmosphere, though the room seemed reasonably adequate. But still, it was just one room.
My husband returned to reception and was told by a female manager that they would not honor what we paid for at Hotels.com and that Hotels.com (which is owned by Expedia) had inaccurate information about their accommodations. The only thing this female manager offered to do was call Expedia for us. (Hmm, how does that really help us at that moment? Answer: It doesn’t.) A male manager then finally offered us an alternate accommodation in the Fairway Oaks Villas. He called it a “house” but it was actually just a large connected villa in a row of them. These villas look like a retirement community and are far, far from the beach. They sit on the golf course, SO NO OCEAN VIEW. The unit we were given was two bedrooms, two bathrooms with kitchen, sitting area and dining area, and washer/dryer. The unit didn’t appear to have been stayed in for a while. (in other words, not freshly cleaned).
These Fairway Oaks Villas seem to have many permanent residents. At 2am-ish, the first night, our next door neighbors began blasting music that made the walls vibrate and the smell of cigarette smoke wafted strongly into our villa. Lovely!!
The moral of this story is that the Omni Amelia Island Resort will not honor reservations made through sites like Hotels.com, Expedia, etc. They won’t compensate you even if you have a written reservation saying what you paid for (which we did).
The most disappointing part of the trip was not being at the beach. My child & husband would have liked to walk out the doors of the beachfront Sandcastle Villas (where our villa was supposed to be) and walk onto the beach. I could have sat right on the balcony & seen them & enjoyed the view myself. The Fairway Oaks Villa (where we actually stayed) had no outdoor sitting area or a view that was worth looking at.
This is our second time staying at this resort. The last time was prior to the Omni takeover, and we stayed in the hotel as opposed to a villa that time. My impression of this property hasn’t changed. It wants to be upscale. You can see it in the safari-coated staff that greets you when you check in. But you don’t see it in the customer service. It just isn’t here.
Also, beware of the $40 per night Resort Fee. Ouch!!
I have been coming to Amelia Island for over 25 years. This is most definitely the last time I would book any accommodation at the Omni Amelia Island Plantation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    81
    50
    30
    19
See reviews for
155
59
5
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Amelia Island Plantation attenting a conference there. We were assigned a Villa in Sandcastles. The villa was very roomy, spacious, and comfortable. With a living area, dining room, kitchen and bedroom with bath, we were very comfortable and had enough room for a few grandchildren. The Amelia Plantation has ample walking trails, bike rentals, beach, pools, spa, shops and restaurants to keep everyone entertained. Been here, done that and will do again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We checked into our room which was very nice but were greeted by a thick layer of leaves and green algae on our balcony patio (see picture). We had wanted to sit out and have a drink after driving 4 hours. Called down to desk to report it, and they offered a new room rather than to clean it. Ok. Pack up and go to new villa. However, this room was far inferior to the first. Very nice bellman helped us call front desk, where they admitted the new room was a downgrade. Really? Downgrade the guest after a problem of the hotel's making? Ok, so back to the first room where they eventually cleaned the patio (not in time for us to use it). They did do the right thing by comping our dinner. Thank you. Just very far away from the beach and amenities. The main hotel is where you want to be unless you have a large group or are on extended stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second visit to this resort. The new Pool,Lobby and Pool side Restaurant are beautiful. The pool is actually multi leveled with an adult only section. Very large famly section on lower half of pool area. Great pool side restaurant with wonderful pool side service. Our Favorite restaurant at the Resort is the Sunrise Cafe. The have the best breakfast with beautiful views of the ocean. You can sit outside on the veranda or inside. Dont let the word cafe scare you off. This is a full service restaurant with a great buffet. The service here is phenomenal. Pam is the best hostess on the east coast. She will make you feel like a celebrity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed in the Shipwatch Villas several times. A three bedroom ocean view once and twice we've stayed in their 2 bedroom ocean view (a few years ago we stayed in Turtle Dunes, but the last few trips have all been Shipwatch).

The three bedroom was "wow". Great furnishings, very updated. Last year we stayed in a two bedroom ocean view. It had very updated furnishings and a huge balcony which spanned the entire distance of the villa. The balcony was accessible for each bedroom and the living room, which means every room in the villa had an ocean view.

I assumed all "two bedroom ocean views" were very similar, but I was wrong to assume such. After checking into our two bedroom ocean view villa (same building as last year) we were so disappointed. The ocean was only visible via a small balcony off the living area with cheap patio furniture. The bedrooms had a parking lot view- - noone explained there was such a huge difference in "two bedroom ocean view". There was carpeting throughout and the interior furnishings were dated. The villa smelled "damp and musty".

We called the resort and asked if there was anyway we could switch, preferrably next door to the villa we stayed in last year. They were so accomodating and helpful. Within 20 minutes, they dropped off 2 new keys for the villa next door and we simply slid our belongings over one door. However, if we did not know better and had not stayed at this resort several times, then the "damp and musty" with dated furniture would be our impression of the entire building and we would not have known there are much nicer villas in that building.

Once we were settled next door, we felt much more comfortable. This villa had tile throughout most of the space. The furnishings were much nicer and newer. The balcony had heavy wicker furniture, rocking chair and a couple of side tables. It even had a small chair for a child to sit and enjoy the awesome view.

One thing to keep in mind is the walk to the beach is a real walk. You do have to cross the golf course to get to the beach, so while the view is amazing- - getting there will take a little while (particularly if you have chairs, umbrellas or other beach stuff to carry).

We also tried the pool. It was clean and we had it totally to ourselves on the afternoon we were there. The beach is very similar. Very private and not at all crowded.

Room Tip: If you are seeking a 2 bedroom villa, ask for a middle unit and understand that some of the 2 bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Sea Dune complex was old & the unit decor was dated. Brass everywhere! Dirty throw rug in the entrance to welcome you. The bathroom was tiny & it had a shower no tub. The shower had nowhere to rest your foot to shave your legs. The kitchen appliances were all cream colored/dated. Seems to me if you travel to a knowingly fine resort you should expect fine accommodations when you get there. There should be no surprises!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for one night in a three bedroom ocean view villa with family (2 adults, 4 kids) en route to Orlando from Northeast. Villa located in Beach Walker section. We arrived around 11am on check-in day. Villa was supposed to be ready at 4, was not ready until 4:15, but we spent day at pool and on beach. Pool at main hotel was heated and felt like a salt water pool- no chemicals in eyes or smell.

Poolside service was slow, but drinks and food quality very good. Walk over to the bar for immediate service. Pools (upper and lower) were packed with kids on spring break, but this is fine for us since we added to that number. They were running a poolside bbq and kids activities. I would imagine that the pool area would be a lot more tranquil when kids were in school.

Renovations to hotel are 90% complete- some walkways not open, painting underway. The parts that are complete are quite beautiful. Check-in staff was courteous. After villa was ready we drove from main hotel to villas and unpacked. Villa furnishings were a little dated, but clean and functional. 3 bedrooms, two baths were just right for our family size. Nice views of beach and ocean over dunes from MB window and main floor balcony. Washer and dryer very useful- bring your own detergent.

Buffet breakfast at Sunrise Cafe was excellent- high quality and varied food in the buffet. Sat outside with great views of ocean.

Unlike some of the other reviews here, found the beach to be beautiful. There is a band of more shell-laden sand, but plenty of soft sand for relaxing, and packed sand near the water for running, ball games, etc. We did not use beach services, but there seemed to be ample chairs, attendants, and cabanas.

We would return here with family for a longer stay in order to take in more of resort and island. Goal would be to stay durng off-peak time to avoid pool congestion, get good rates on villas. The villas alone would rate as average, as they are simply functional space with nice views and average furnishings. The hotel food, beach, service and amenities pull the overall rating up to very good. To get hotel access, I believe you have to rent through Omni. You might find better appointed units through VRBO or similar, but I think access to the heated pools and hotel amenities at the main hotel are critical for a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Amelia_Island, Manager at Villas of Amelia Island Plantation, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Villas of Amelia Island Plantation! It sounds like you had a great visit and we appreciate you staying with us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the pool, beach, food and hope to return to us again! We were very busy during spring break and try to accommodate the increase in guests with items such as the additional poolside BBQ. I'm happy to report that much more of the work has been completed since you were here. The villas are all individually owned and decorated but Omni does manage the program. We are consistently working with our owners to update their units and hope we can continue to offer that service. You are correct that to enjoy the Omni resort amenities you must rent through the official Villas of Amelia Island Plantation. Again, thank you for your review and we hope your family will come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas of Amelia Island Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas of Amelia Island Plantation

Address: 39 Beach Lagoon Road, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Amelia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas of Amelia Island Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas of Amelia Island Plantation sprawl across 1,350 beautiful and isolated acres, along Florida's north eastern coastline, just across the St. Marys River in Georgia and adjacent to the historic city of Fernandina. The Villas overlook the azure blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean on the east and the Intracoastal Waterway on the west. Though private, secluded and protected by a gated entry, the location is a convenient 45 minute drive away from downtown Jacksonville and 29 miles from Jacksonville International Airport. Private and corporate aircraft charters can fly directly to Fernandina Beach Municipal Airport, which is only four miles north of the plantation. Each villa is unique and different. Units come in varying sizes and locations, including ocean view, resort view and tennis view single guest rooms, as well as one, two and three bedroom units, ideal for larger parties, and feature fully equipped kitchens, dining areas, spacious living rooms, multiple baths and private bedrooms. Most complexes have at least one pool. Be sure to confirm the villa type, location and amenities available when booking. The villa accommodations are independently owned, but are located within proximity to the Omni Amelia Island Plantation resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Villas of Amelia Island Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Of Amelia Island Plantation Hotel Amelia Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas of Amelia Island Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.